Shaker 500 New Stereo? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-22-2012, 03:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
bobbytheapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: Georgia
Posts: 82
Shaker 500 New Stereo?

I have the Shaker 500 system which i'm totally content with, other than having no iPod/mp3 jack. I decided i want to replace the stereo with a touch screen one. I'm VERY uneducated as far as audio goes. I have NO idea how to shop for this kind of stuff either. What i'm looking for is a nonfilpdown, touch screen head unit. I'd like to be able to still use my stock speakers and wiring and also have it fit exactly where the old one went. DVD capabilities would also be nice. Any suggestions or tips?

What's your opinion on something like this:
Absolute DD-1000 7" Double DIN Touchscreen LCD w/ DVD, MP3, CD Player
bobbytheapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2012, 03:36 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
MikesChargedGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: California
Posts: 167
I'd look into Kenwood touch screens and u have an aux Jack for your iPod in the center console mine did and it's the base
__________________

"Too much horsepower is not enough"
MikesChargedGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 03:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
WillysYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 269
If you have an iPhone it new android, look at the AppRadio, it's sooooo sweet! I love mine!
WillysYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2012, 07:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Gmullinix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 117
You should have an aux input in your center console if you have the shaker 500.
Gmullinix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:49 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
wheelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 1,187
Re: Shaker 500 New Stereo?

He's got an '05. No aux jack until '07. The AppRadio2 is sweet and I believe it will fit an '05 without a dash kit. Touch screen, aux jack, streaming audio, not sure about DVD.
wheelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
WillysYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheelman
He's got an '05. No aux jack until '07. The AppRadio2 is sweet and I believe it will fit an '05 without a dash kit. Touch screen, aux jack, streaming audio, not sure about DVD.
Yeah, no DVD on the AppRadio, but you can stream netflix, iTunes movies and a few other players. Not sure about the 05, but I had to get a dash kit for my 06. Not a bad install at all.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1344606971.jpg
Views:	963
Size:	382.8 KB
ID:	47928



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1741548242.jpg
Views:	1367
Size:	381.7 KB
ID:	47929
WillysYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
wheelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 1,187
Re: Shaker 500 New Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillysYJ View Post
Yeah, no DVD on the AppRadio, but you can stream netflix, iTunes movies and a few other players. Not sure about the 05, but I had to get a dash kit for my 06. Not a bad install at all.
Looks good, man. What kit did you use?
wheelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:00 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
WillysYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheelman
Looks good, man. What kit did you use?
The Ford/Lincoln/Mercury 04&up kit from Metra. DO NOT LET THEM SELL YOU THE SCOSCHE KIT! It does not fit!
WillysYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:01 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
wheelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 1,187
Re: Shaker 500 New Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillysYJ View Post
The Ford/Lincoln/Mercury 04&up kit from Metra. DO NOT LET THEM SELL YOU THE SCOSCHE KIT! It does not fit!
Ha ha...Im guessing from experience. Thanks for the info!
wheelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:25 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
WillysYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheelman
Ha ha...Im guessing from experience. Thanks for the info!
Yea, long story short, the guys at Best Buy are crap. Order it all from crutchfield.
WillysYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:34 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Solomo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charleston
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillysYJ
If you have an iPhone it new android, look at the AppRadio, it's sooooo sweet! I love mine!
Are you saying the app radio will or will not work with Android?
Solomo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:11 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
WillysYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomo2

Are you saying the app radio will or will not work with Android?
Sorry, I blame fat fingers or auto correct. It doesn't match up with all android, only certain ones. But it works with my iPhone and my iPad.
WillysYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:10 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
bobbytheapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: Georgia
Posts: 82
Re: Shaker 500 New Stereo?

Thanks for all the replies guys. Sorry it took me a while to reply.
So i should try to go kenwood if i can?

@WillysYJ: So what size should the Screen be to fit in like that?
bobbytheapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:14 PM   #14
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmullinix
You should have an aux input in your center console if you have the shaker 500.
Not before 2007 or 2008 its a $149 add on. I wish it did cause it really sucks w/o one,

I'm thinking app radio myself.
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:36 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
wheelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 1,187
Re: Shaker 500 New Stereo?

2007 was first year w/ aux
wheelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:03 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
12collinspj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: California
Posts: 38
so if I have a shaker 1000 on a 2006 SCS, there is no aux input? I really want it and these CDs aren't cutting it haha
12collinspj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:22 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
WillysYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12collinspj
so if I have a shaker 1000 on a 2006 SCS, there is no aux input? I really want it and these CDs aren't cutting it haha
I had a Shaker 500 and put a PAC unit in so I could have a aux input. I just upgraded headunits so I have it just sitting around. $50 plus shipping and it's yours. Very easy to install. All you need to get is the new Aux cord because I'm still using that. PM me.
WillysYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:36 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.