STOP - Replace those door speakers - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-19-2012, 05:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
rm2092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 299
STOP - Replace those door speakers

Order a replacement set of front door speakers for your Shaker 500 system. Sorry for starting another speaker thread but me and a friend just got done swapping out the front speakers and could not stop laughing HOW CRAPPY the stock speakers are. My iPhone weighs more then one speaker, I swear they felt like a plastic model kit. Oh yah I was bust today, oil change at my local dealer, resonator delete from my local exhaust guy and to finish the day off some window tint.
__________________
2016 5.0 Deep Impact Blue 300A pkg, New Orleans.
MODS: Roush axle-back exhaust, AEM DryFlow filter, Gloss Black PP wheels, Ford Racing Strut Brace, Track Pack spoiler.

New Orleans FaceBook Mustang Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/NewOrleansS550/
rm2092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2012, 06:20 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
gtstyles2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lodi
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by rm2092
Order a replacement set of front door speakers for your Shaker 500 system. Sorry for starting another speaker thread but me and a friend just got done swapping out the front speakers and could not stop laughing HOW CRAPPY the stock speakers are. My iPhone weighs more then one speaker, I swear they felt like a plastic model kit. Oh yah I was bust today, oil change at my local dealer, resonator delete from my local exhaust guy and to finish the day off some window tint.
Lol when I got my 11 new I swapped the speakers on the 3rd day... What a joke the stock speakers are... Never got around to doing the rear yet :-/ I think h gotta take apart the whole rear
gtstyles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
The rear is not nearly as hard as it sounds. I just did my rear speakers and it took about an hour. It made a big difference, well worth the effort.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2012, 06:55 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
I have used my shaker less than 10 times since i got the car. I only use it for the sync handsfree.
Did you guys change it because it broke or because you didnt like the sound??
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:14 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
You don't use your stereo?


It sounds much better with new speakers.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:28 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
IanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pickerington, Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 223
What kind of speakers did everyone use? Any particular kind, type, brand, etc?
IanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
I used Infiniti Kappas. They are great speakers.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:17 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
Infiniti makes good stuff. I would also recommend JL and Alpine. If replacing the front shakers (I think there 8") I would go with JL all day. But keep in mind that the stock amp is probably way underpowered for aftermarket sub's. And believe it or not, it is just as bad to under power a speaker as it is to over power a speaker.
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
IanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pickerington, Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 223
Yeah, that's kinda why I was asking, my last car had stereo issues. I had a Trans Am with a Monsoon system which had an amplified system and was wired crazy. I never got that car setup correctly, so i'm not sure I want to mess around with this one until I know exactly what the deal is, what specs i need, and who has a proven setup that works well. After my last headaches, the last thing I want is to get into more of them...
IanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:03 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
I have pretty much given up on replacing the door woofers. Since they have a really odd impedance (1.8 ohm) any replacements I have found would be higher and result in reduced output.

I believe these are the only 1.8 ohm, 8" woofers on the planet.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:00 PM   #11
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Dang! If only I had the extra $ to replace them. Deluxe cones from china.
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:41 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Solomo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charleston
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 450
Shelby sells direct replacements for the door subs for $150. They are made by kicker.
Solomo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:23 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomo2 View Post
Shelby sells direct replacements for the door subs for $150. They are made by kicker.
They are only direct replacements in the sense that they physically fit. They are still a higher impedance than the stock speakers and therefore have less output than the stock speakers.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:30 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Solomo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charleston
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejohncarlson

They are only direct replacements in the sense that they physically fit. They are still a higher impedance than the stock speakers and therefore have less output than the stock speakers.
What do you mean by less output? The few people I know who have them say they are louder and give off more bass without upgrading anything but the speaker. Curious, because they are what I am thinking of replacing my door subs with.
Solomo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:52 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
1.8 ohms is close enough to 2 ohms that I think you would not have much of a problem dropping in some 8in 2 ohm speakers. But if your going that far why would you want to keep the factory amp?
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:55 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
I am by no means an expert at audio but, I know a thing or two about electronics so, YMMV.

Higher impedance means more resistance. For example, a 500w amp at 2 ohms is only 250w at 4 ohms. This won't be as dramatic since the Kickers are not double the impedance but, they are higher so, all others things equal, there will be less output.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:18 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Correct but my understanding is that the sub amp in the shaker 500 is a 40x2.

My previous question stands. If your planing on putting new 8in subs in the doors why wouldn't you replace the factory amp.

Or disconnect them all together and run a 10 or 12 in the trunk?
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:20 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tec_
Correct but my understanding is that the sub amp in the shaker 500 is a 40x2.

My previous question stands. If your planing on putting new 8in subs in the doors why wouldn't you replace the factory amp.

Or disconnect them all together and run a 10 or 12 in the trunk?
I'm lazy.

Actually, I am planning on running a sub in the trunk now. I was just looking for the easy way out.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:05 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Solomo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charleston
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejohncarlson

I'm lazy.

Actually, I am planning on running a sub in the trunk now. I was just looking for the easy way out.
Or Both!! I am working on getting a single twelve in the trunk and buying those Shelby door subs.
Solomo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:34 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejohncarlson

I'm lazy.

Actually, I am planning on running a sub in the trunk now. I was just looking for the easy way out.

Hahaha not to mention less expensive





Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomo2

Or Both!! I am working on getting a single twelve in the trunk and buying those Shelby door subs.
I'm glad I'm not the only one who's thought about that.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:24 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
IanM... Pre installed car audio can be a headache. In my time working with cars I always made sure to label every wire that was reliant before starting to pull anything apart, any big install place will do the same. If you would like, send me a PM or post your sub model and ill spec a proper amp for you. Install will be easy if you label, just use the existing wires, if you label properly it should be as simple as unplugging the factory amp and plugging in the aftermarket in it's place... Biggest problem here could be Makeing a new amp fit.

I think the best and safest way to go (but defnatly not the easiest) is going with the ol' sub in trunk.
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:12 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Villero1834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 222
Idk if the 2013 has a different setup but mine sounds pretty good and i got the one that comes with the base gt, not even the shaker 500.. I listen to pantera all the way up and theres no distortion whats so ever , i just need to add some lil tweeter and thats it im happy with the set , the base shakes my recaros
Villero1834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power window stop working Xavier9370 1996-2004 Mustang GT 5 10-25-2012 10:38 AM
gonna stop fixing my crimson!! :( Vile87 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 8 01-24-2012 08:49 PM
When should I replace Freeze Plugs??? FORDGT14 1996-2004 Mustang GT 5 11-30-2011 11:24 PM
this needs to stop stampde General Mustang Discussion 14 11-28-2011 01:56 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:01 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.