Double din - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-15-2013, 01:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Double din

Will a 7 in double din fit in my 06 mustang without any custom dash. ?? Thank you all in advance.
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2013, 12:02 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
If its a standard double Din yes. You will still need a double din dash kit.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 12:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tec_ View Post
If its a standard double Din yes. You will still need a double din dash kit.
Oh okay thank you. And what do you mean standard ?
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2013, 01:10 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Din sizes are standard. All single din radios are the same size (180 x 50 mm) just like all double din radios are the same sizes(180 x 100 mm). As long as its a regular double din it will fit. You will just need a dash kit and a wire harness.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tec_ View Post
Din sizes are standard. All single din radios are the same size (180 x 50 mm) just like all double din radios are the same sizes(180 x 100 mm). As long as its a regular double din it will fit. You will just need a dash kit and a wire harness.
Oh okay thank you for that info! Will a 7 in fit though ?
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:31 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
What deck is it?
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:03 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
It's a Sony XAV-72BT


http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...-XAV-72BT.html
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:09 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Skulls98GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Little Falls
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 456
7" = 178mm
Skulls98GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
So will it fit ? Ha I never purchased a double din always single din.
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:20 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skulls98GT
7" = 178mm
That's screen size.



But yes that is just a double din it will fit.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:26 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Thank you all! I really appreciate the help! Ill post pics once installed
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:38 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Pony_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 326
Cool radio, if you order from crutchfield.com the installation kit, wiring harness, and lifetime tech support is FREE. Just an FYI if you didn't already know, can't go wrong with Sony! Post pics pls!
Pony_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:49 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pony_Boy View Post
Cool radio, if you order from crutchfield.com the installation kit, wiring harness, and lifetime tech support is FREE. Just an FYI if you didn't already know, can't go wrong with Sony! Post pics pls!
Thanks for that info . You think so? I wasn't sure which radio to purchase. I hear alpine is also good double din
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Im a alpine fan boy. But you should look at the pioneer AVIC line too
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:02 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Ill check them all out. I want a double din with a quick n fast interface
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:22 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Pony_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 326
I've always bought alpine, three cars. I just prefer the interface and polished look. Watch decibel ratings, quality and quantity of amps. There's only so much you can do with stock speakers. If your having doubts talk with a crutchfield specialist, they are always knowledgable, helpful, and free. Research until your content, nothing like having the RIGHT system and not an OK system.
Pony_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:26 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Skulls98GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Little Falls
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 456
I am crazy about Sony! Just never had any luck with their car audio stuff. But if your going to watch it or play it. SONY FTW!!
Skulls98GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:25 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Pony_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skulls98GT View Post
I am crazy about Sony! Just never had any luck with their car audio stuff. But if your going to watch it or play it. SONY FTW!!
I'm with you on that! PS3 and my Sony TV rock, never bought car audio from them. Then again I've only seen the cheap xplod systems from Wally World lol
Pony_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:21 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Skulls98GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Little Falls
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pony_Boy

I'm with you on that! PS3 and my Sony TV rock, never bought car audio from them. Then again I've only seen the cheap xplod systems from Wally World lol
When I bought my stang there was an explode in it. Biggest pile of rubble I have ever pushed buttons on. I immediately drove to one of the local shops and purchased a new deck. Nothing special... Middle if the road Pioneer. But it was worlds better than the Sony.
Skulls98GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:58 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Xplods are pretty good. There some of the best i had, but its a opinion. I didny buy it from wally world either lol
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:37 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Pony_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 326
I'm sure there's a range to the line, but all the ones I've seen are so-so. All that matters is that you're happy!
Pony_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:06 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Built_GT_Tough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 20
Just like skulls98gt said, I am a huge Sony fan boy and my house is full of Sony products but they are not the best route for car stereo. Every car I own gets a new pioneer when I buy the car. I would look at pioneer, alpine and clairion before Sony. I currently am rocking the x940bt with the shaker 1000 and it is the best unit I have had.. can't go wrong with pioneer for head units. Best looks, price, features, and reliability in my book.. And just about all double din receivers will fit in ure mustang double din.. with a harness and dd dash kit..make sure to do the e-brake hack too..
Built_GT_Tough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:30 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Built_GT_Tough View Post
Just like skulls98gt said, I am a huge Sony fan boy and my house is full of Sony products but they are not the best route for car stereo. Every car I own gets a new pioneer when I buy the car. I would look at pioneer, alpine and clairion before Sony. I currently am rocking the x940bt with the shaker 1000 and it is the best unit I have had.. can't go wrong with pioneer for head units. Best looks, price, features, and reliability in my book.. And just about all double din receivers will fit in ure mustang double din.. with a harness and dd dash kit..make sure to do the e-brake hack too..
How is that done ? The e-brake hack ?
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:39 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Built_GT_Tough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 20
The e-brake is a bit different depending on how old the unit it is.. the older ones you would just wire the e-brake wire to a toggle switch with a constant ground.. that way when u switch the toggle it would engage the ground and trick the unit into thinking the ebrake was on and allowing video.. However when I did this to my new unit it didn't work.. I'm under the impression that the newer units block this..

Not sure for all brands, but for the new pioneers, you have to move the ebrake wire to a different pin on the wire harness connector.. there is a blank bank in the top left that the ebrake wire needs to be moved to.. then u just plug in the wire harness as normal and it should work.. there are some great videos on YouTube and on the avic forums that will help tremendously for whatever specific unit you have..
Built_GT_Tough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:17 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.