Where to Mount my New Amp? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-21-2008, 08:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Where to Mount my New Amp?

I have an 02 Vert and I recently ripped out all the Mach 460 speakers and replaced them with Kicker's as they were all blown and am currently running off the New Clarion Double Din Headunit that I purchased and I must say I'm impressed thus far. I blew the dust off my old 12" audiobahn sub and amp and rewired them and the amp is having some overheating issues so I think its time for replacement. I'm getting a New Alpine 12" Type R subwoofer and a New Alpine MRP-M450 Mono channel amp, however before I had both the amp and speaker mounted on the box of the car, but now I want to mount the amp elsewhere as it tends to rattle a lot when next to the sub...go figure. Anyway Looking for input on where to mount the amp? The two locations I'm looking at right now are where the stock 460 Amps used to be which is right next to the convertible motor, or under one of the front seats? Let me know what ya'll think. Thanks.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2008, 09:21 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,292
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

Back of the rear driver side seat. You keep the seat folded down so no one sits there, and the amp stays plenty cool. Thats where mine is mounted and have had no problems yet.
__________________
03 GT Charcoal Silver Metallic - Stolen
1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 09:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

Not sure thats an option in a convertible as that is where the top folds down, but I'll look into it.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2008, 12:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,292
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

My bad didnt even think about that.
__________________
03 GT Charcoal Silver Metallic - Stolen
1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:30 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Kiljosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via AIM to Kiljosh
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

I wouldn't put it under your front seat if your running any kind of real power through it. I see you burning it out very quick...

Just make sure it gets some airflow. I have mine mounted in my trunk and if you keep the back seats up in the summer it overheats in there. As soon as I fold them down it works great.

I am pushing about 1200 watts through a Power Acoustics Mono amp, 4 gauge power/ground wires. The thing gets hot enough to hurt you with the seats folded up.
__________________
Kiljosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:54 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

Ok....I have a Convertible therefore I can't fold my seats down as previously stated, but thanks anyways. I know it needs good airflow thus why my old audiobahn is easily hot enough to fry an egg on as it resides in the trunk and probably gets little to no airflow. the Stock Mach Amps on a Convertible are/were located behind the trunk panel/next to the convertible motor in an area that doesn't look like it gets that much air either, which is why I'm contemplating mounting my new amp there. I think if all esle fails I will mount it there as thats where ford decided to mount the mach amps, but I still don't like the idea of mouting it there...Any other ideas of where to mount? Thanks for you input.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 02:42 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Herbstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 2,932
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

Put it in my car !!!! mount it in the trunk, build a box for it to mount to with fans
__________________

Mods-K&N CAI , True Dual Flowmaster 40, BBK Ceramic Shorties, 3.73 , 25% UDP, 3/8 Phenolic Intake Spacer ,Steeda Tri-ax, SCT Chip/Dyno Tune

Quote:
"Some people are like Slinkies; useless, but fun to push down the stairs."
Herbstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 06:14 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Where to Mount my New Amp?

Sounds like you have three options to me.
1) Place it where the old Mash systems were, invest in some more speaker wire (Rockford Fosgate Amp kits give plenty of it) and run the speaker wire down and away to your sub for a cleaner look.
2) Under the back seat, but I generally don't like this especially if the amp gets real hot.
3) Secure it back to the sub box, or build a little amp rack. You can extend the back of the sub box just slightly to fit the amp using MDF, wrap it yup with some carpet. You can also throw some other pieces to make it look more of a trapezoid shaped box, instead of a piece of wood attached to a box. There's also the option of building a separate amp rack, again to the side or from the top with carpet wrapped MDF, or a piece of stamped aluminum, or acrylic or other clear plastic. You can get show-ey too with a bright shine, engraving or LEDs, if you want to.

Then again the 'vert might not give you all that room to work with especially if you want to keep trunk space.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best place to mount a Tuner oldtexasdog 2005-2010 Mustang GT 9 06-23-2010 01:50 PM
Ipod mount Foxone Mustang Audio & Video 3 03-28-2009 09:46 PM
Engine Mount Question Checkmate Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 09-27-2006 07:56 AM
I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.) Dom Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 30 05-20-2006 03:27 PM
how do i mount tranny cooler charkelly9 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 10-24-2005 04:33 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:14 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.