Im so confused - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-27-2013, 12:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Classic Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoover
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Im so confused

Okay so I just got me a new radio and harness.. the harness and wiring is confusing me. So I've got what I think is the 460 Mach system in my 02 gt but behind my dash is THREE connections and not two! And there is so many more wires coming from the harness than there is coming out of the radio that I bought! I have no idea what to connect to what! I need to what to connect and wether I need a new harness for it and what to connect to what.. Ill post pics of everything in abit. I would love the help and opinions my fellow stang owners can share!
__________________
2002 Mustang GT Deluxe

1/4 mile: N/A
1/2 mile: N/A
mile: N/A
top (track) speed achieved est.: 145 mph
Classic Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2013, 01:50 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Classic Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoover
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
I feel like something's wrong and I need some answers! Does anybody have or has had the same problem with installing a pioneer mixtrax stereo?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-444959530.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	375.6 KB
ID:	93147   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3230566321.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	413.1 KB
ID:	93148  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1631429056.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	374.8 KB
ID:	93149   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1257144385.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	362.9 KB
ID:	93150  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2561602031.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	363.4 KB
ID:	93151  
__________________
2002 Mustang GT Deluxe

1/4 mile: N/A
1/2 mile: N/A
mile: N/A
top (track) speed achieved est.: 145 mph
Classic Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sbales88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bakersfield
Region: Missouri
Posts: 379
I pretty sure the small plug in your dash controls the amps. Are you going to put new speakers in the car or use the stock speakers?
Sbales88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2013, 04:11 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Classic Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoover
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Bales View Post
I pretty sure the small plug in your dash controls the amps. Are you going to put new speakers in the car or use the stock speakers?
I'm going to keep it stock for abit untill I get the money to put more subs in.. lol one day.
__________________
2002 Mustang GT Deluxe

1/4 mile: N/A
1/2 mile: N/A
mile: N/A
top (track) speed achieved est.: 145 mph
Classic Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:15 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sbales88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bakersfield
Region: Missouri
Posts: 379
Lol i know how that is. I used a harness from crutchfield its item # is 120705701 it was purty easy, good instructions, you should look it up
Sbales88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:49 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Classic Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoover
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Bales View Post
Lol i know how that is. I used a harness from crutchfield its item # is 120705701 it was purty easy, good instructions, you should look it up
That looks perfect lol! And it's cheaper than the one that best buy said would work. Some double awesome.
__________________
2002 Mustang GT Deluxe

1/4 mile: N/A
1/2 mile: N/A
mile: N/A
top (track) speed achieved est.: 145 mph
Classic Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:00 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sbales88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bakersfield
Region: Missouri
Posts: 379
Hope it works for ya. Let me know how it goes!
Sbales88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:38 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Classic Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoover
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Bales View Post
Hope it works for ya. Let me know how it goes!
I think on Saturday ill have my coworker help me install it. (I'm a trainee mechanic) and since his about the biggest expert On professionally installing sound systems. So if he can't do it then lol it's like hopeless! Lmao!
__________________
2002 Mustang GT Deluxe

1/4 mile: N/A
1/2 mile: N/A
mile: N/A
top (track) speed achieved est.: 145 mph
Classic Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:52 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
with the mach 460 many have major issues getting it working when swaping in a new head unit due to the factory head unit has like 4 amps or 5 that is uses (one under the main head unit, two in the back and maybe one on each door. When you wire in a new head unit those amps no longer work right or at all and thus bad sound. Perhaps newer harnesses correct this
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:59 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Classic Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoover
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV View Post
with the mach 460 many have major issues getting it working when swaping in a new head unit due to the factory head unit has like 4 amps or 5 that is uses (one under the main head unit, two in the back and maybe one on each door. When you wire in a new head unit those amps no longer work right or at all and thus bad sound. Perhaps newer harnesses correct this
Well I wasn't talking about the car harness I was talking about the harness that you plug into the car harness to wire in the new radio. Ya know? Becuase it just seems there's just something that looks wrong.
__________________
2002 Mustang GT Deluxe

1/4 mile: N/A
1/2 mile: N/A
mile: N/A
top (track) speed achieved est.: 145 mph
Classic Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:48 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
You simply do not use the 3rd harness. You only need the two that came in your metra kit.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:24 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.