base model stereo upgrade - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-21-2013, 09:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Region: Florida
Posts: 35
base model stereo upgrade

Thought I would share with you guys my stereo upgrade. It sounds great and works well with the car. I'm still using the factory speakers with a highpass. I still have to create a carpeted faceplate for the amp rack and there is also a cap mounted to the other side. That's a pioneer 10 inch in a truck box and as you can see the whole setup fits right up under the rear beam so I can still get to my spare and full trunck space. Keep in mind if you have the shaker system which I don't you have a bunch of amps that will have to wired around if you place the head unit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0247.jpg
Views:	778
Size:	1.05 MB
ID:	109630   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130427_175039.jpg
Views:	3364
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	109631  

GWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2013, 09:15 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
SoberGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sierra Vista
Region: Arizona
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWraith View Post
Thought I would share with you guys my stereo upgrade. It sounds great and works well with the car. I'm still using the factory speakers with a highpass. I still have to create a carpeted faceplate for the amp rack and there is also a cap mounted to the other side. That's a pioneer 10 inch in a truck box and as you can see the whole setup fits right up under the rear beam so I can still get to my spare and full trunck space. Keep in mind if you have the shaker system which I don't you have a bunch of amps that will have to wired around if you place the head unit.
That's a good looking setup. Like how it fits perfectly in the trunk space without taking up too much room
SoberGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:17 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
SystemCritical's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 210
Where are all your AC controls?
SystemCritical is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2013, 09:18 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Is the base head unit not the shaker 500 ?
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:19 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
SoberGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sierra Vista
Region: Arizona
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by SystemCritical View Post
Where are all your AC controls?
You can see its all touch screen on the top one but I was wondering the same thing lol
SoberGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:21 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
SystemCritical's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoberGT View Post

You can see its all touch screen on the top one but I was wondering the same thing lol
Oh there it is.
SystemCritical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
SoberGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sierra Vista
Region: Arizona
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by SystemCritical View Post

Oh there it is.
I was confused too at first lol but that's some fancy fancy stuff right there
SoberGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
gtstyles2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lodi
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,889
What brand installation kit is that??
gtstyles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:17 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
cheelyb09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWraith View Post
Thought I would share with you guys my stereo upgrade. It sounds great and works well with the car. I'm still using the factory speakers with a highpass. I still have to create a carpeted faceplate for the amp rack and there is also a cap mounted to the other side. That's a pioneer 10 inch in a truck box and as you can see the whole setup fits right up under the rear beam so I can still get to my spare and full trunck space. Keep in mind if you have the shaker system which I don't you have a bunch of amps that will have to wired around if you place the head unit.
I like it.
cheelyb09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:23 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Looks like metro kit

---------- Post added at 06:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:23 AM ----------

YouTube maestro 2011 mustang now that thing is amazing its another dash set up /) looks good op
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:59 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jukens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
More details please. Looks good
Jukens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 10:21 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Region: Florida
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post
Is the base head unit not the shaker 500 ?
Yes the base head unit is the same as the shaker head unit but the shaker system has external amps for the speakers. Since mine was a base there are no external amps.

As for more details the head unit is an Pioneer AVIC-850BT, with a METRA 99-5826CH 2010-Up Ford Mustang Touchscreen A/C Control Double Din Dash Kit.

Bluetooth mic is attached to the top of the steering wheel next to my Aeroforce scan gauge. (These cars run pretty rich from the factory. I won't modify the tune or engine until 10k miles to make sure no defects are in the car.)

All the speakers in the car are still stock. The sub is Pioneer TS-SW2501S4 10-Inch Step Up Shallow S4 Subwoofer in compatible pioneer prebuilt truck box.

The amp rack I built myself out of wood. Mounted to the back side of the amp rack is a 1.5 farad cap. The amp is a Kenwood mono block 300RMS 1K W max amp.

I use the head units high pass filter on the speakers in the car and I allow the sub to play mid and low range.

As for sound quality its way better than stock but it's not bass head shake the earth loud. It's only a 10 inch sub.
GWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 10:58 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWraith View Post

Yes the base head unit is the same as the shaker head unit but the shaker system has external amps for the speakers. Since mine was a base there are no external amps.

As for more details the head unit is an Pioneer AVIC-850BT, with a METRA 99-5826CH 2010-Up Ford Mustang Touchscreen A/C Control Double Din Dash Kit.

Bluetooth mic is attached to the top of the steering wheel next to my Aeroforce scan gauge. (These cars run pretty rich from the factory. I won't modify the tune or engine until 10k miles to make sure no defects are in the car.)

All the speakers in the car are still stock. The sub is Pioneer TS-SW2501S4 10-Inch Step Up Shallow S4 Subwoofer in compatible pioneer prebuilt truck box.

The amp rack I built myself out of wood. Mounted to the back side of the amp rack is a 1.5 farad cap. The amp is a Kenwood mono block 300RMS 1K W max amp.

I use the head units high pass filter on the speakers in the car and I allow the sub to play mid and low range.

As for sound quality its way better than stock but it's not bass head shake the earth loud. It's only a 10 inch sub.
Thank you, would you happen to know the diameter of the speakers and there wattage on the base model.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 11:33 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Region: Florida
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post
Thank you, would you happen to know the diameter of the speakers and there wattage on the base model.
5X7 or 6x8 will fit. I believe the stock speakers are about 25 watts. There are also 4 dollar panels you can buy to put components In the same place.
GWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 11:45 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWraith View Post

5X7 or 6x8 will fit. I believe the stock speakers are about 25 watts. There are also 4 dollar panels you can buy to put components In the same place.
Hey thanks a lot, I've ask these questions on 3 threads and your the only real answer.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:34 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
InfinibandGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Ramon
Region: Other
Posts: 230
GWraith, how is that 99-5826CH holding up? I'm thinking about buying one but have some doubts because I had the older version and the backlight stopped working.
InfinibandGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:36 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.