Advice needed double din or amp - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-26-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
2011 5.0 shaker 500 with sync upgraded all door speakers to kickers and have 12in sub in back

Question is I want my overall system to be louder car is extremely loud and sometimes can't hear some of the songs over car lol so should I do a double din or just buy a 4 channel amp? I'm very happy with sync and no issues with headunit just want way louder lol
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2013, 06:06 AM   #2
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
bigmac3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cleburne
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,036
Wear headphones and save the rest of the outside world from unwanted noise. I feel your pain and so will everyone else.
__________________
Frank
1989 Blue LX Hatchback
2001 Red SVT Cobra Convertible (Phoenix)
2002 Black/Red GT (Ginger)
2011 Red Candy Metallic V6 (Manfred)
2016 Magnetic Metallic GT (Susie II)
bigmac3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
??
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2013, 09:27 AM   #4
Sad Panda
Staff
 
silverskoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,630
a double din isn't going to make it much louder I don't think. do you just have replacement kicker speakers or components?
__________________
@silverskoundrel
05 TL Mustang Base (the silverskoundrel) - sold
05 TL Mustang GT - sold
98 UA Mustang GT - sold
10 CI Mustang GT - slow
silverskoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
6x8 kicker 2 way speaker I think just took out the cardboard looking ford ones lol . And just want little louder as my car sounds great just loud . So would a 4 channel amp boost it
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:59 AM   #6
Sad Panda
Staff
 
silverskoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,630
I would think an amp like that would but im not sure. I think you put amps on components & im pretty sure you can put amps on 2 way speakers but it wouldn't need to be a big amp I think. maybe like a 400.4 (MAYBE) but id rather someone with more experience see this thread and put in their before you take my advice lol I could be wrong
__________________
@silverskoundrel
05 TL Mustang Base (the silverskoundrel) - sold
05 TL Mustang GT - sold
98 UA Mustang GT - sold
10 CI Mustang GT - slow
silverskoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 10:01 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Just want everything a little clearer and I thought about a double din but idk if its worth 600 bucks when sync plays my music through phone and I have no need to watch DVDs in my car lol maybe a better speaker and amp idk just looking for a direction
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 10:06 AM   #8
Sad Panda
Staff
 
silverskoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,630
do you want louder words & music or do you want louder bass
__________________
@silverskoundrel
05 TL Mustang Base (the silverskoundrel) - sold
05 TL Mustang GT - sold
98 UA Mustang GT - sold
10 CI Mustang GT - slow
silverskoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 10:52 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Just think the kickers I bought are kinda crap maybe a different speaker on way to audio shop to work out numbers
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 06:54 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
You need to get a 1000.4 amp. I had a 1300.5 amp goin to all doors and 2 tens, best system ive ever heard. The amp will be expensive but it will be what you need. And you honestly need a better eq, so either a seperate equalizer or a double din with a 9 band eq so you could tune it to what sounds best, trust me. I have a lot of experience with audio and tuning it, good luck man
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 11:16 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013 gt premium
You need to get a 1000.4 amp. I had a 1300.5 amp goin to all doors and 2 tens, best system ive ever heard. The amp will be expensive but it will be what you need. And you honestly need a better eq, so either a seperate equalizer or a double din with a 9 band eq so you could tune it to what sounds best, trust me. I have a lot of experience with audio and tuning it, good luck man
That would be a expensive way to go but done right it would kick ***.

If all your looking for is a little extra volume and clarity you can't go wrong with the alpine power pack.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:32 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tec_ View Post

That would be a expensive way to go but done right it would kick ***.

If all your looking for is a little extra volume and clarity you can't go wrong with the alpine power pack.
It will be expensive, but its better to go ahead and get what you need to make it right before you waste money on some stupid **** that wont be what you want
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:54 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
So I have a kenwopd 1k amp with a 12 hooked up to it so I could buy a 5 channel 1300 and hook them all up to it ?
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:02 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111
So I have a kenwopd 1k amp with a 12 hooked up to it so I could buy a 5 channel 1300 and hook them all up to it ?
I doubt the 5th channel on that would have enough power to push your sub. But in theory yes you could.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:11 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tec_ View Post

I doubt the 5th channel on that would have enough power to push your sub. But in theory yes you could.
It would, I had plenty of bass, I had enough power goin to the subs to trip the "safety breaker". Youll wind up gettin about 250 watts rms to each sub I believe, and about 75-125 rms to the doors. Itll make your ears hurt itll get so loud, and the best part, no distortion at all
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:29 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Maybe il just go that route really don't want a double din I'm happy with sync lol thanks man !
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:43 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
Maybe il just go that route really don't want a double din I'm happy with sync lol thanks man !
Trust me man, you need a head unit with a better or more specific eq band or it wont be half as good, or get an equalizer seperate from your head unit so you can fine tune everything, trust me dude, the extra 200-300 bucks will make the biggest difference in the world, if you get the equalizer, im almost sure you wont need a sub if you have the shaker system dude, I have the galaxy s4 and in the music settings I have a little eq I can play with and that helps a little, so if you can one to go to your actual system in your car itll probably help a lot more. But the sub wouldnt be a bad idea regardless man
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:26 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Well I'm Guna keep my 12 in sub I already have and look into a 5 channel and a equalizer but prob would need a cap to run it
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:27 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
Seriously if you plan on keeping your 12in sub and running it off your new 5 Channel amp double check that the 5 channel amp will power it. You say you have a 1000 watt amp on your sub now, the only 5 channel amp in kenwoods current line (KAC-7005PS) will only output 500 watts rms at 2 ohms.

5 channel amps are nice if you don't want a lot of space taken up but they suck for powering subs.

I'm running an alpine double din a 1000w kicker mono block amp and a 400w 4 channel alpine. It's louder than any 5 channel.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:39 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
I just think that the speakers really need a amp and that would prob make me happy
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:50 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
I just think that the speakers really need a amp and that would prob make me happy
That'll really help man, I know ive said this more times than 9 foot up a bulls ***, but an eq would help the most lol, thats the case with any stock radio, and with the mustang having that dull mid range and almost nonexistent really low range frequencies, you really need something like an external eq band bro
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:52 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 289
I would say the best thing you can do would be to take it to a car audio shop and have consultation. They will take a look at what you have in your car and help you find a solution that's right for you. Ditching the factory shaker amp and powering your speakers with a 4 channel or a 5 channel if it's capable of pushing your sub will most likely be the best solution.
Tec_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:59 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tec_ View Post
I would say the best thing you can do would be to take it to a car audio shop and have consultation. They will take a look at what you have in your car and help you find a solution that's right for you. Ditching the factory shaker amp and powering your speakers with a 4 channel or a 5 channel if it's capable of pushing your sub will most likely be the best solution.
+1
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:01 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Ya so a 4 channel ad equalizer prob 700$ ?
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:02 PM   #25
Registered User
Newbie
 
95Ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Birmingham
Region: Alabama
Posts: 15
I would run 2 amps, like a 500.1 for your choice of subs and 2000.4 for the.6x9 or 6x8. Delete the fact ory amps (unplug). Imo I would go with jl brand over kicker but the brand doesn't matter GL
95Ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:20 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013 gt premium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Leesburg
Region: Georgia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
Ya so a 4 channel ad equalizer prob 700$ ?
Give or take, yeah, 2500 watts is too much, you'll start tearing up speakers and ruining your battery. But I would get a 5 channel, the one in my double cab truck was more than enough, you could feel it in your chest. It wasn't no ghetto system you'd find in the hood, but itll be a job, you may have to wire new wires because the stock wiring may not be able to handle the wattage. But, in the end, you need a bigger amp, stinger wiring kit, and an equalizer to fine tune it. That'll probably be just shy of 1 grand depending on the brands and quality, but having said that, it'll be worth it and make you smile every time you crank it up!

---------- Post added at 07:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:17 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
Ya so a 4 channel ad equalizer prob 700$ ?
I had a Phoenix gold 1300.5 watts class d amp, and 2 Phoenix gold ten inch subs at 4ohms I think, I can't remember, but it was a good system, but at the end of the day, do what makes you the happiest...I was damn sure happy!! Lol
2013 gt premium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 10:52 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
fastJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CLUTE
Region: Texas
Posts: 196
You will need two separate amps one for highs and one for your lows take in example on my set up. I have a tma 500.2 (keep in mind the rated watts don't matter it's all about the rms) that is hooked up to type r components in the front and co axles in the back each speaker is getting 75 rms in each corner a little under powering but that's fine. For my sub I have a hifonics amp rated at 1500 rms pushing a alpine type R 12. The way i have my sub hooked up to my amp will only give the sub 1000rms max. You will also want to know how to hook up your sub to get the most out of it and your amps specs. And let me tell you with this set up the whole car shakes and I used to have two type r's but I took one out cause the amp was draining my battery with both subs running.
fastJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:56 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.