Radio install help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-26-2013, 09:22 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Mustanglx92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: buda
Region: Texas
Posts: 8
Radio install help

I have a 99 Mustang and I want to replace the Mach 460 system with a aftermarket head unit an amps has anyone done this an if so what would I need to replace the mach 460 system with aftermarket hu and amp?
Mustanglx92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2013, 09:45 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
There are actually 3 amps in the mach460 unit. Most people install an aftermarket headunit with the split harness that connects to the mach 460 amp setup.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:53 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Mustanglx92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: buda
Region: Texas
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
There are actually 3 amps in the mach460 unit. Most people install an aftermarket headunit with the split harness that connects to the mach 460 amp setup.
I was think about doing that but I fingered since I was gonna replace the hu might as well change the amps too
Mustanglx92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2013, 10:02 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustanglx92

I was think about doing that but I fingered since I was gonna replace the hu might as well change the amps too
It's a 3ohm setup. The only way to install new amps is to rewire the car.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:38 AM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Mustanglx92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: buda
Region: Texas
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post

It's a 3ohm setup. The only way to install new amps is to rewire the car.
If I rewire the car do you know how difficult it would be?
Mustanglx92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 04:17 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustanglx92

If I rewire the car do you know how difficult it would be?
If you have patience and a little experience it's not too bad. I did it to my old car.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:58 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.