Idatalink/Maestro MUS1 Dash kit install. - Page 8 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Join Mustang Evolution Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-07-2014, 11:54 PM   #246
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12V Guy View Post
The connection is made directly to the wires off the back of OBDII port so still have access to the port. However, it is not possible to have two OBDII devices acting as scan tools at the same time. In the Settings Menu in the gauges screen we give you some options to control when OBDII is on or off.


Thanks. Follow up question: How does that affect the ability to tune the car? Can I still hook up a tuner like normal? Or do I need to go dig behind the port to unhook the other wires if I want to change the tune?
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-08-2014, 12:08 AM   #247
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakib View Post
Thanks. Follow up question: How does that affect the ability to tune the car? Can I still hook up a tuner like normal? Or do I need to go dig behind the port to unhook the other wires if I want to change the tune?

It won't affect it at all if you tap them from behind. I used a smaller gauge wire and plugged mine in the front. That way I can easily remove them for dealer purposes and then put them back.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-08-2014, 12:48 AM   #248
Registered User
Newbie
 
salty5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Mesquite
Region: Texas
Posts: 7
Hey guys, I installed this in my 2014 5.0 and I had a connector left over on the car side. My stock radio had two connectors plugged into it and the antenna and the t-harness only has one connector. Is this normal or am I missing something? I've also noticed that the car has much less bass and if I try to bring it up the speakers start clipping. I am using a DNX-890HD with the MUS1 and Maestro RR.
salty5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:03 AM   #249
Registered Member
Regular
 
ninerone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Travis AFB
Region: California
Posts: 240
I was just thinking about this today... why are climate and rear defroster fixed buttons? I can count on one hand how many times I've had to use the rear defroster in my car in the last 3 years on one hand... exactly zero times! I would love to ditch the defroster button for something more useful.
__________________
2014 GT / Black / 6-speed manual
Airaid CAI / Roush Exhaust / Bama Tune /
Custom Vinyl / Shelby Spoiler
ninerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:10 AM   #250
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninerone View Post
I was just thinking about this today... why are climate and rear defroster fixed buttons? I can count on one hand how many times I've had to use the rear defroster in my car in the last 3 years on one hand... exactly zero times! I would love to ditch the defroster button for something more useful.


Might have something to do with the fact that you live in California. I can't count how many times I've used the rear defroster on both hands and both feet during last winter alone.
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 05:11 AM   #251
Registered Member
Regular
 
14mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Port Richey
Region: Florida
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninerone View Post
I was just thinking about this today... why are climate and rear defroster fixed buttons? I can count on one hand how many times I've had to use the rear defroster in my car in the last 3 years on one hand... exactly zero times! I would love to ditch the defroster button for something more useful.

I can go back 30+ years without ever using a rear defroster. Definitely wish that was different or at least changeable.
14mayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 05:15 AM   #252
Registered Member
Regular
 
14mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Port Richey
Region: Florida
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakib View Post
Thanks. Follow up question: How does that affect the ability to tune the car? Can I still hook up a tuner like normal? Or do I need to go dig behind the port to unhook the other wires if I want to change the tune?


The radio's OEM settings under gauges allow OBDII to be auto-disabled when it senses something else plugged in. I choose the manual disable setting when I wish to mess with a tuner and it temporarily disables radio OBDII communication while you do ECU stuff, then press auto-disable when done. Works perfect. Nothing to unplug or dig around under column/dash for.
14mayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 08:07 AM   #253
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakib View Post
Thanks. Follow up question: How does that affect the ability to tune the car? Can I still hook up a tuner like normal? Or do I need to go dig behind the port to unhook the other wires if I want to change the tune?
I dont believe from what I remember that it affected actually flashing a tune with the OBDII connections, but you cannot datalog with the Maestro connected to the OBDII port, I had to actually install bullet plugs that I disconnect to datalog, there is a setting to disable the OBDII connection in the headunit, but that didnt work me, I have to physically disconnect
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 08:29 AM   #254
Registered Member
Regular
 
14mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Port Richey
Region: Florida
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_0 View Post
I dont believe from what I remember that it affected actually flashing a tune with the OBDII connections, but you cannot datalog with the Maestro connected to the OBDII port, I had to actually install bullet plugs that I disconnect to datalog, there is a setting to disable the OBDII connection in the headunit, but that didnt work me, I have to physically disconnect

No problems here datalogging SCT X4 with Maestro connected to OBDII port and Kenwood settings set to disable OBDII. Works great, with nothing to unplug.
14mayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 08:57 AM   #255
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14mayhem View Post
No problems here datalogging SCT X4 with Maestro connected to OBDII port and Kenwood settings set to disable OBDII. Works great, with nothing to unplug.
thats odd, maybe its the X4 thats the difference, I have an X3.......
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:22 AM   #256
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14mayhem View Post
No problems here datalogging SCT X4 with Maestro connected to OBDII port and Kenwood settings set to disable OBDII. Works great, with nothing to unplug.
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_0 View Post
thats odd, maybe its the X4 thats the difference, I have an X3.......
Exactly what model radio do each of you have? This could make a big difference in my decision. I didn't tune yet, but I plan to. I would buy the X4 at this point, however.
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:22 AM   #257
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninerone View Post
I was just thinking about this today... why are climate and rear defroster fixed buttons? I can count on one hand how many times I've had to use the rear defroster in my car in the last 3 years on one hand... exactly zero times! I would love to ditch the defroster button for something more useful.

I totally agree. Ive havent used a rear defroster since....damn I dont even remember.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:28 AM   #258
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakib View Post
Exactly what model radio do each of you have? This could make a big difference in my decision. I didn't tune yet, but I plan to. I would buy the X4 at this point, however.
I have the Kenwood DNX890HD, at this point its seems Im an isolated case with this issue.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal Stangman View Post
I totally agree. Ive havent used a rear defroster since....damn I dont even remember.
lol used mine this morning
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:11 PM   #259
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninerone View Post
I was just thinking about this today... why are climate and rear defroster fixed buttons? I can count on one hand how many times I've had to use the rear defroster in my car in the last 3 years on one hand... exactly zero times! I would love to ditch the defroster button for something more useful.
The climate and rear defrost buttons are fixed because the shape is different than the middle buttons. It wasn't practical make a bunch of tops in three different shapes, so we picked something for first and last button. These needed to be something ALL cars have.

Let's face it, you NEED the Climate button. The rear defrost, well all cars have it and it's nice if it's cold to get that working before radio boots.

NOW, with that said, you can assign secondary (Press and hold) functions to these buttons on the web as you like.


Cheers,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:20 PM   #260
Registered Member
Regular
 
14mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Port Richey
Region: Florida
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12V Guy View Post
NOW, with that said, you can assign secondary (Press and hold) functions to these buttons on the web as you like.


Or even assign the primary to something different!
While button appearance is unchanged, primary function on rear defrost button now is front defogger. Close enough to be less annoying.
14mayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:24 PM   #261
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14mayhem View Post
Or even assign the primary to something different!
While button appearance is unchanged, primary function on rear defrost button now is front defogger. Close enough to be less annoying.


HAHAHA there you go!!!
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:49 PM   #262
Registered Member
Regular
 
ninerone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Travis AFB
Region: California
Posts: 240
Yeah I reprogrammed mine as well. An alternative "universal" solution could be to have blanks for the end-stops, or at least just a blank option for the right end-stop.
__________________
2014 GT / Black / 6-speed manual
Airaid CAI / Roush Exhaust / Bama Tune /
Custom Vinyl / Shelby Spoiler
ninerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 02:02 PM   #263
Registered Member
Regular
 
14mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Port Richey
Region: Florida
Posts: 87
I would guess that Florida leads the other states with most Mustangs. But, auto parts might be based on what things are like "up north" as normal (to them).

Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada

Just like I can't remember last time in more than 30 years I used rear defrost, I also can't remember a week that has not had A/C turned on, and most months, it is on everyday (even most Christmas and New Years days). But this is the other extreme from up north. Replaceable blanks seems like perfect solution.
14mayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 02:09 PM   #264
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninerone View Post
Yeah I reprogrammed mine as well. An alternative "universal" solution could be to have blanks for the end-stops, or at least just a blank option for the right end-stop.
I will look into it.
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:44 PM   #265
VGT
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
I could use a little help!

Got everything, but I'm a bit confused. I started mocking up what needs to be connected to the Maestro, and the installation diagram shows a blue connector, that is part of the T harness, going into the Maestro (Step 9):



However, my T harness does not have a blue connector, and a separate connector came inside the Maestro box with a blue connector, on the other end is a 3.5mm jack and a green wire (on the right, not connected):



What am I supposed to do here?
VGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 07:40 PM   #266
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Re: Idatalink/Maestro MUS1 Dash kit install.

if I remember correctly, the blue connector with the 3.5mm audio jack goes into the maestro module then plugs in the back of the head unit
__________________
2016 DIB GT Premium A6, Borla S-type axle backs, Rovos Pretoria wheels 20x8.5/20x10, Nitto N555G2 tires 255/35/20 and 275/35/20, Koni yellows, BMR springs
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:07 PM   #267
VGT
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Okay - do you know what (if anything) that green wire needs to be spliced into? The diagram for the unit shows the blue connector as being part of the T-Harness, and there is a separate 3.5mm cable that goes from the Maestro to the Head Unit (according to the directions).
VGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:32 PM   #268
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by VGT View Post
Okay - do you know what (if anything) that green wire needs to be spliced into? The diagram for the unit shows the blue connector as being part of the T-Harness, and there is a separate 3.5mm cable that goes from the Maestro to the Head Unit (according to the directions).
you know what? I dont think that blue plugged harness is used afterall, believe thats for setups that dont use the dash panel, I could be wrong, Im going to bow out at this point, hopefully someone will chime in, Im coming up on a year since I did my install man.......
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:40 PM   #269
VGT
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_0 View Post
you know what? I dont think that blue plugged harness is used afterall, believe thats for setups that dont use the dash panel, I could be wrong, Im going to bow out at this point, hopefully someone will chime in, Im coming up on a year since I did my install man.......
Thanks anyway man! Hopefully someone chimes in, was hoping to start putting this together first thing tomorrow morning.
VGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 08:33 AM   #270
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sims
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 6
I have the Kenwood DNN991HD installed and I'm guessing the only way to use bluetooth is via sync which is no problem. Just curious why I can't get my subs to work when I'm using bluetooth? It works with the radio and usb just not bluetooth. Is the only way to play video via the hdmi cable that's additional or can it be played by usb? I have an iphone 5.
Slickster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 08:47 AM   #271
VGT
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickster View Post
I have the Kenwood DNN991HD installed and I'm guessing the only way to use bluetooth is via sync which is no problem. Just curious why I can't get my subs to work when I'm using bluetooth? It works with the radio and usb just not bluetooth. Is the only way to play video via the hdmi cable that's additional or can it be played by usb? I have an iphone 5.
Finally got my 890HD set up, you can pair an iPhone 5 to Sync and Kenwood BT at the same time, you just need to go into the bluetooth audio part of the HU, and add your phone. My voice goes through sync, my audio through the headunit.
VGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 09:30 AM   #272
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickster View Post
I have the Kenwood DNN991HD installed and I'm guessing the only way to use bluetooth is via sync which is no problem. Just curious why I can't get my subs to work when I'm using bluetooth? It works with the radio and usb just not bluetooth. Is the only way to play video via the hdmi cable that's additional or can it be played by usb? I have an iphone 5.
you have to into the bluetooth settings of the headunit and select all I believe it is for the speakers, then your sub(s) will work, I had the same issue, had to google it lol
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 10:20 AM   #273
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sims
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 6
I did that. It was set to front left. Even when I select all just the car speakers play still and not the subs.


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
Slickster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 11:02 AM   #274
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vic14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Donna
Region: Texas
Posts: 651
Question:
May have been answered already.

Will the buttons on the steering wheel still be functional; volume etc?

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die... The in between is mine."
__________________
"I know I was born and I know that I'll die... The in between is mine." -Pearl Jam
Vic14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 11:07 AM   #275
Registered Member
Regular
 
ninerone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Travis AFB
Region: California
Posts: 240
Vic14: Yep, that's one of the reasons for using these dash kits. Not only are the steering wheel buttons usable, but they are completely programmable.
__________________
2014 GT / Black / 6-speed manual
Airaid CAI / Roush Exhaust / Bama Tune /
Custom Vinyl / Shelby Spoiler
ninerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 11:42 AM   #276
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vic14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Donna
Region: Texas
Posts: 651
Ninerone: that's pretty cool, thanks.

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die... The in between is mine."
__________________
"I know I was born and I know that I'll die... The in between is mine." -Pearl Jam
Vic14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 01:33 PM   #277
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by VGT View Post
I could use a little help!

Got everything, but I'm a bit confused. I started mocking up what needs to be connected to the Maestro, and the installation diagram shows a blue connector, that is part of the T harness, going into the Maestro (Step 9):



However, my T harness does not have a blue connector, and a separate connector came inside the Maestro box with a blue connector, on the other end is a 3.5mm jack and a green wire (on the right, not connected):



What am I supposed to do here?
You have new instructions, but older MUS1. The new (now shipping) dash kit has a blue plug that has a positive foot brake output for Alpine radios. If you have a Kenwood, this is not needed anyway.


Cheers,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 02:08 PM   #278
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickster View Post
I have the Kenwood DNN991HD installed and I'm guessing the only way to use bluetooth is via sync which is no problem. Just curious why I can't get my subs to work when I'm using bluetooth? It works with the radio and usb just not bluetooth. Is the only way to play video via the hdmi cable that's additional or can it be played by usb? I have an iphone 5.


This is known issue to Kenwood and there is update on their website for both the radio firmware and the BT radio. You need DNN V1.3 and V1.0 BT update. After the update, it doesn't work give myerger@kenwoodusa.com a message.


Cheers,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 09:00 PM   #279
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sims
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 6
Thanks. That worked!


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
Slickster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 09:09 PM   #280
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 34
Anyone know what the cheapest Bluetooth kenwood that works with this kit. I do not have sync.


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
Sabs14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:16 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.