New head unit, no bass - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-02-2013, 11:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996v6stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San diego
Region: California
Posts: 811
New head unit, no bass

So i just put a kenwood unit in my car and since i did my audio is flat as ****kk, i noticed the 460 wiring harness has a separate connection that there is nowhere to plug into the new kenwood unit. How do i fix this? Do i cut those wires and splice them into the single plug in? And of course i already checked the audio settings, turned the bass all the way up. Or is there some kind of adapter? Thanks guys.
1996v6stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2013, 05:49 AM   #2
Road Trip!
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix, Az
Region: Arizona
Posts: 1,037
Did you splice into your harness or did you have a harness. Before I put an aftermarket stereo in my car I'd have no bass either. Also the harness that I got with my stereo came with a plug to plug in that piece you mentioned but didn't have instructions on how to hook it up so I left it alone but I still get bass
Joser714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 07:10 AM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
You need a mach 460 specific harness. I have a how to somewhere on this site that lists part numbers.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2013, 08:06 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
mystang50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
You need a mach 460 specific harness. I have a how to somewhere on this site that lists part numbers.
link? I've tried prolly 2-3 connectors
__________________
1995 5.0 u/d,cai,t/b,shorty headers,x pipe,flows 40's,373 gears, alum. driveshaft, alum. radiator, shift kit, e-cam, ported upper and lower intake, 100 shot of spray, 2100 stall, black 0304 cobras. suspension: upper and lower control arms, sub frame connecters, and springs all SVE
mystang50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:31 AM   #5
Road Trip!
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix, Az
Region: Arizona
Posts: 1,037
Sonicelectronix. Put in what type of car you got and that you have the mach system and it will give you the one you need
Joser714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 12:41 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 67
Have you figured it out yet? I have just installed an aftermarket unit for my mach 460 and had no base at first then i figured out what i did wrong. i feel i can definitely help you.
Thenervemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 12:48 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 67
What harness do you have to begin with there are 2 that work for this car. Also do you have the 12 - 5v reducer?
Thenervemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 12:46 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996v6stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San diego
Region: California
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thenervemann View Post
What harness do you have to begin with there are 2 that work for this car. Also do you have the 12 - 5v reducer?
no idea honestly i just bought the **** that said it would work with my car.
1996v6stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 12:55 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996v6stang View Post
no idea honestly i just bought the **** that said it would work with my car.
Haha dude. Just tell me whats the name and model of the wiring harness you got with it.

its either a schoch or a Metra one i bet
Thenervemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:22 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996v6stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San diego
Region: California
Posts: 811
Nevermind guys i just went to the audio shop here on base and asked them and they had the additional harness that i needed. My music is back to normal! Thanks anyways yall!
1996v6stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:27 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 67
cool stuff
Thenervemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 08:25 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
96_Mustang_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
I still have my stock head unit with the mach 460 in it but I have no bass what so ever. Could it be the amps? I heard they're known for being bad.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
96_Mustang_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 08:41 PM   #13
ME Bloodhound
Staff
 
Soccerluvr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento/Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 14,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96_Mustang_GT View Post
I still have my stock head unit with the mach 460 in it but I have no bass what so ever. Could it be the amps? I heard they're known for being bad.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Mustang Evolution mobile app

Did you get a 12v to 9v converter?
__________________

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread
Soccerluvr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 08:44 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
96_Mustang_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerluvr4 View Post
Did you get a 12v to 9v converter?
I haven't messed with any of the audio so whatever came in it is still there
96_Mustang_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

« Mach 460 | Swap? »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:47 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.