Shaker 500 sub addition - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-18-2014, 11:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Shaker 500 sub addition

What's up guys, I have a 2011 premium with the shaker 500 system. It's pretty good over many stock systems but I love the thump.

I do have a mojo block amp and a alpine type r from my last mustang. I plan to keep the stock head unit as it's wrapped in carbon fiber and I have the sync system as well.

How do I go about wiring the sub and amp up on the stock head unit? Another problem is that there are 2 amps under the driver side. Or I think they are. Where do I start? Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1400474846.390596.jpg
Views:	254
Size:	420.5 KB
ID:	157242
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2014, 10:08 AM   #2
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Shaker 500 sub addition

those 2 Amps are bolted to the fender.

Sorry I'm not much help, Coty. I can at least bump it up for you.
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 11:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Here are the two amps under the driver side kick panel Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1400515375.178451.jpg
Views:	898
Size:	682.9 KB
ID:	157272
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2014, 01:12 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
XxVenomxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 28
I also have a 2011 premium but I just want to put subs in the back but I don't want to remove my factory speakers.
Any suggestions?
XxVenomxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 04:27 AM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Zacrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Welsh
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 11
To do that you will need to splice in an RCA box. There between 10-20 for them. The factory radio doesn't have RCA jacks. After that it's like any other radio installment. Run the power wire run a remote and ground it just like any other aftermarket setup



Zac
Zacrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 09:41 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Region: Iowa
Posts: 456
I Yeah I believe those boxes are called speaker level converters.

You splice into your back speakers, run wires from your back speakers to the box's input, then you run RCA cables from the box to your amp. Good to go.

I picked up a scosche one from Walmart and it works just fine. Solid voltage, no feedback noise at all, small size and hides away nicely in our trunks.

Because you spliced into the speakers it is going to send your sub amp a full range signal. Make sure. To properly tune the LPF before turning on the system, happened to me lol

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Cbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 09:26 AM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Zacrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Welsh
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 11
They called it a step down. I payched one in recently in mine it works great i finally have my cvr 12" back in my car lol



Zac
Zacrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 09:28 AM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Zacrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Welsh
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 11
Patched * and the only reason i get feedback is cause i haven't ground out the box yet. And you can patch it in at the stereo to if you want.



Zac
Zacrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 09:33 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Region: Iowa
Posts: 456
Is a nickname for it a step down? The packaging of my unit says speaker level converter. Who knows? Lol

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Cbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 09:41 AM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Zacrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Welsh
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 11
Well idk. That was probably the company name on yours but i thing the name of what it does is called a step down.



Zac
Zacrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 10:28 AM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Zacrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Welsh
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 11
The company mine cane from was called pac



Zac
Zacrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 07:18 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
It's called a line level converter

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shaker 500 to shaker 1000 Magua10 2005-2010 Mustang GT 7 05-12-2014 07:20 AM
Shaker 500 door sub not working Zgradt10 2005-2010 Mustang GT 6 12-12-2012 10:12 PM
Shaker 1000 sub question RVAStang05 Mustang Audio & Video 0 02-18-2012 09:43 AM
Instructions for adding a sub to the Shaker 500 Evilcartman Mustang Audio & Video 3 08-04-2011 12:36 AM
mach 1000 sub addition 03GT88 Mustang Audio & Video 3 06-11-2011 11:14 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:28 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.