Raxiom gps looses signal - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-27-2014, 05:11 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Raxiom gps looses signal

Any others having problem with Raxiom signal loosing satellites?
I updated SIM card etc!
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2014, 12:47 PM   #2
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by snareyt View Post
Any others having problem with Raxiom signal loosing satellites?

I updated SIM card etc!
This is the first I'm hearing of this. We have a ton of customers out there running this unit without any issues. I have the nav installed in my 2011 GT and haven't had a single issue. The only time I've ever lost Signal is if I'm in a fully enclosed tunnel.

When are you loosing signal?

-Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 05:00 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Really first time hearing this!
I emailed AM today and am waiting for second reply after
Answering usual questions, update card, reset unit etc.
I am sure we will get this resolved!
Thanks for your concern and attention.
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2014, 08:59 AM   #4
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by snareyt View Post
Really first time hearing this!
I emailed AM today and am waiting for second reply after
Answering usual questions, update card, reset unit etc.
I am sure we will get this resolved!
Thanks for your concern and attention.
Yes. We'll definitely get you taken care of. We'll be in contact with you and manufacturer and this should be quick. Let me know if you need any assistance from me directly!

-Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 05:26 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
bellski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 283
I just had my Raxiom installed today and am actually having the same problem. I will have GPS signal and then it will just drop off, and the unit will search and search, not to be rediscovered. It actually happened a little while ago while I was sitting at a stop sign- not even moving. Sure would like to know what can be done about this. FYI this is happening on a beautiful cloudless day, in the wide open with zero overhead obstructions.
Thanks,
Steve
__________________
2011 GT M6 Premium- Mechanical upgrades include: Boss 302 Intake, JLT CAI, JPC LT Headers, Off Road X Pipe, and mufflers, 410 Gears, Granatelli Hot Street Coil Packs, 93 Octane Ghost Cam Tune by Jon Lund,Eibach ProKit Springs,shocks, struts and sway bars, BMR LCA's, Strut Tower Brace, and adjustable Panhard Bar, Maximum Motorsports Camber/Caster Plates, Barton Shortshifter and bracket, Wilwood Superlight Brakes w/6 and 4 piston calipers, Steeda Spyders- 9-1/2X20 with 275/35 and 11X20 with 315/35 Nitto Invos.
bellski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 08:25 AM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Steve you may try some of the things I did. There is a SIM card behind the fake button on rt front of unit.
It can be opened by prying on left side and is hinged on rt. There is also a reset Hole there.
The card can be updated on a computer by registering on line at www.naviextras.com
Rosen entertainment systems inc. who is the manufacture of these units. DB Mustang.
My antenna is located on ft window behind mirror. I also checked all wiring.
All of this made no difference on mine! I am not sure if Bluetooth phone is causing a problem or backup camera may influence the gps signal? Maybe the SIM card is faulty? Mine will quit after about 30 min and will not work again until I wait with car off for 20 min! I have left car in garage with key on engine not running and After 30 min or so the signal dropped off and unit tries to acquire satellites! This has happened on every road trip and sometimes the signal did come back for a while only to quit again.
I think it is a unit warmup problem and will need replaced. Rosen and AM are both hoping for a solution.
I really like the unit but I don't tend to get lost on 30 min drives from my house 😊
Keep me posted on your experience.
Terry
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 09:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
bellski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 283
Terry- thanks for your reply- I will try as you suggested and hope for the best.
Frustrating and disappointing to say the least...

I am taking my car on the Hot Rod Power Tour later this month, and was hoping the unit would be working 100% then and I would be able to sing it's praises when asked about it...

Steve
__________________
2011 GT M6 Premium- Mechanical upgrades include: Boss 302 Intake, JLT CAI, JPC LT Headers, Off Road X Pipe, and mufflers, 410 Gears, Granatelli Hot Street Coil Packs, 93 Octane Ghost Cam Tune by Jon Lund,Eibach ProKit Springs,shocks, struts and sway bars, BMR LCA's, Strut Tower Brace, and adjustable Panhard Bar, Maximum Motorsports Camber/Caster Plates, Barton Shortshifter and bracket, Wilwood Superlight Brakes w/6 and 4 piston calipers, Steeda Spyders- 9-1/2X20 with 275/35 and 11X20 with 315/35 Nitto Invos.
bellski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:15 AM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Steve
AM sent me a new unit today!
They do have a 2 year warranty on unit I believe.
If the update doesn't do it then I know they will do
"Right by you"
Keep me posted or feel free for any info you may need.
Terry
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 07:29 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
bellski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 283
Terry-
Thanks for the update- please let me know if this one works better. I emailed AM on Sunday about this- to date there has been no response.
Steve
__________________
2011 GT M6 Premium- Mechanical upgrades include: Boss 302 Intake, JLT CAI, JPC LT Headers, Off Road X Pipe, and mufflers, 410 Gears, Granatelli Hot Street Coil Packs, 93 Octane Ghost Cam Tune by Jon Lund,Eibach ProKit Springs,shocks, struts and sway bars, BMR LCA's, Strut Tower Brace, and adjustable Panhard Bar, Maximum Motorsports Camber/Caster Plates, Barton Shortshifter and bracket, Wilwood Superlight Brakes w/6 and 4 piston calipers, Steeda Spyders- 9-1/2X20 with 275/35 and 11X20 with 315/35 Nitto Invos.
bellski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:14 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
I installed today and in garage works great! Since my GT 500 doesn't have windshield wipers and it is raining, I did not test drive,😄
Left on for 1 hr. In garage and seems fine! I really love the units looks and functionality!
I will keep you posted!
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 02:47 PM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Washington township
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Raxiom gps unit loosing signal

Also loosing signal on my new raxiom unit installed 2 weeks ago. I have updated the SD card from naviextras.com as well under the Rosen entertainment, then choosing mustang DB as my device. completed all updates, still having connection issues. The unit says I'm in Texas, while i live in southern new jersey. Navigation worked for 3 days, then just never saw the light of signal again! What seems to be the solution to all this? i have not contacted AM yet. Other then that, i must say raxiom has done a hell of a job with this unit by creating lots of functions.
Kgoose3789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:17 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Sounds a little different from what I experienced.
Could double ck all connections. When I did install I cut loose
Some wiring original tie downs to give more free play so new connections were not under tension.
My suspicion is a faulty unit but it is best to check everything first.
Hope I am wrong!
Keep me posted.
Terry
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:09 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Hello

I had the same frustrating issue with my Raxion GPS unit. 3 months of signal loss.

I finally solved the problem with a new GPS unit.

Here is a copy of the Email I just sent to my AM POC.


Friday night I replaced the GPS unit andreconnected it to the existing antenna ( antenna #2) and I had the sameissue. No signal. As a last resort I installed the antenna thatcame with the replacement GPS and I move the antenna cable routing up throughthe passenger door molding and up over to the review mirror area. Bingo everything working like a champ. I did take the Mustang for 75 mile road trip on Saturday and used the route option on the GPS and itworked just fine.



So at this point I am not sure what theissue was. GPS unit?, antenna? Or the routing of the antenna cable through thedash in front of the driver/steering wheel.


So if you have your antenna cable wire routed through the dash board in front of the steering wheel it may be possible that the antenna is picking up electrical interference and blocking the signal.

You can read my thread on this page to see everything I went through to get this problem solved. I was in contact with the Rosan Tech Support and I did complete the map update and the used the reset button.

There must be an issue.

K
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:13 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
I also ran the cable in front of drivers side. So far the new gps unit seems to be working fine
But have not had a chance to test on road for over 1 hour. This new unit will keep signal in garage
For over 45 min where my old one quit around 30 min depending on air Temp and on every road trip it quit!
I am surprised your new unit lost signal with old gps antenna!
I was convinced it was a warm up problem with gps unit until now!
We all want to know why because it is a great unit if the bugs get worked out.
I really like this unit and hope Radon is successful with it.
Thanks for responding.
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:17 PM   #15
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Washington township
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 3
yes, i even just tried to place the antenna on the roof of my car hoping it would pick up satellites but still had no response to locating. tried to let this search for 45 mins with no luck. i will be in touch with americanmuscle.com to try and mitigate what is the issue or if i can exchange for a new unit if this is a faulty device. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1402366588.653298.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	656.1 KB
ID:	158955
Kgoose3789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:23 PM   #16
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
I know that picture well! Haven't seen it since new unit! What's that tell you!
Mine would reacquire signal if I left car off for 20 min.
Keep us posted!
Thanks for reply
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 05:48 AM   #17
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Washington township
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 3
when you exchanged your unit, did they send you a new one first then ship old unit back? or do they want u to send yours back first then once they track some movement they then send you a new one? i hope the first option only because i dont want to be without a radio
Kgoose3789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 05:54 AM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
If you are willing to pay for a second unit first then when you send unit back
They will credit account. Otherwise you have to send unit first which means retuning
All cables etc. I bought second unit and just installed gps unit only! I wasn't willing to
Do a complete install. If they just sent new unit some people might keep both!
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 05:56 AM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
If you get second unit they also pay shipping
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 07:17 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Update

They sent me a second unit and today I am shipping the first unit back to AM. I did not install the first unit so I said no way am I taking it out and hiding my car while they send me a new unit.


I did go test drive my car again last night and the system worked just fine so I hope I am over this issue.


K
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:48 PM   #21
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
I also hope so! Enjoy this one.
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:00 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:24 PM   #23
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Won't get lost in North Charleston, SC!
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:17 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Hello

It is kind of strange that the AM online reviews are all positive up to October 2013.

I know I sent a poor review in on the AM site and it never showed up.

After I give my unit some time to perform properly I will submit an updated review.

K
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:31 AM   #25
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Like most things in life the press is controlled!
That's why I said ;really; back to AM about first time hearing this.
Everybody seems to have there own agenda!
At least we we're take care of by AM
I can't fault them for that.
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 12:05 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Not trying to drag AM through the mud but just stating facts.

BTW I did just order a tuner from AM for my car
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 05:15 PM   #27
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Yea I was looking at those myself!
Let me know the results if you would.
My. 2011 shelby has enough hp for me
But everything before but is !!!!!!! LOL
I didn't think you were knocking AM and I
Couldn't agree more with what you said.
Thanks
Enjoy
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:50 PM   #28
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Today we gave the replacement gps unit a good test of 100 miles and it
Worked great! The only thing I changed was the gps unit! Still using
Old gps antenna and wiring! I am convinced the problem is solved!
I will update in future if I have any problems but don't expect to!
Thanks everyone for all the input!
Feel free to ask me any questions about installing etc.
Really love the unit.
Having fun in Beaver Falls , Pa 😊
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 06:47 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Good news

Mine seems to be working fine also.

My issue is that I can not see the screen with my sunglasses on.

K
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 05:34 PM   #30
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Dan Aykroyd and John Belushi had the same problem 😄
I manually hit the bright button for screen since I drive with lights on in daytime.
1 push off 2 bright 3 dim
As soon as lights are turned on it defaults to dim.
We did another trip yesterday and worked great.
Problem solved!
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:25 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Hey

Bright button in the GPS settings?

K
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 12:15 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
He's talking about the Disp hard button on the left. It will cycle between bright, dim, and off for the screen.
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 01:17 PM   #33
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
The button right above the nav button
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:04 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
bellski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 283
Hey all-
Wanted to update you on what has happened since I last posted on this thread. I emailed customer service on AM's website and got very unsatisfactory response to my problem. It seems that they only check there email every 3rd day or so, and once they finally agreed that the Raxiom unit was defective, they told me that I would have to pull it out and send it to them, and that they would, upon receipt of mine, send me a new one. They were completely inflexible about this and stated that it was their policy to do it this way. I got pretty frustrated with this as it meant I would be sitting with a dismantled dash for 10 days or so until I would be able to get the replacement installed. I agonized over this for a while, then I finally picked up the phone and called them (duh). The experience I had dealing with them over the phone was 100 times, no, 1000 times better than email. The guy I talked to on the phone was very understanding and told me that upon approval from his supervisor, he would send me a new unit and emailed me a UPS return label to send the old one back. The new Raxiom arrived today, I pulled the old one out, installed the new one and it works perfectly (so far at least). The old unit will be on it's way to AM tomorrow. As I told the AM customer service rep on the phone, he saved a very good customer for them. Note to self, next time, just pick up the phone.
__________________
2011 GT M6 Premium- Mechanical upgrades include: Boss 302 Intake, JLT CAI, JPC LT Headers, Off Road X Pipe, and mufflers, 410 Gears, Granatelli Hot Street Coil Packs, 93 Octane Ghost Cam Tune by Jon Lund,Eibach ProKit Springs,shocks, struts and sway bars, BMR LCA's, Strut Tower Brace, and adjustable Panhard Bar, Maximum Motorsports Camber/Caster Plates, Barton Shortshifter and bracket, Wilwood Superlight Brakes w/6 and 4 piston calipers, Steeda Spyders- 9-1/2X20 with 275/35 and 11X20 with 315/35 Nitto Invos.
bellski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 08:55 AM   #35
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Hope your results will be as favorable as
Ours were!
snareyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raxiom OE-Style GPS Navigation w/ Bluetooth & Back-up Camera (10-14) DWC_SmOziLLa AmericanMuscle 112 04-17-2016 08:42 PM
Raxiom OE-Style GPS Navigation installation problems! JonathanMustang 2011-2014 Mustang GT 16 07-06-2014 08:20 PM
Raxiom GPS Bluetooth Navigation Installation Help JonathanMustang 2011-2014 Mustang GT 3 11-12-2013 10:54 PM
No gps signal on nav in 13 gt? Mustang32Bill Mustang Audio & Video 1 07-03-2013 03:19 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



01:05 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.