Head unit in a Sync equipped Mustang - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-28-2015, 08:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
king_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Clarksville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 737
Head unit in a Sync equipped Mustang

Anyone have a head unit that work with some of the premium features, like the push-to-talk or use of the volume up/down forward/backward buttons on the steering wheel?

Or am I doomed to losing these features?

I know AM sells a compatible head unit, but I'd prefer being able to pick my own.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
2014 Oxford White 5.0 Premium

2015 Maroon Chevy Cruze LTZ
2011 Performance White V6 Premium SOLD
king_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2015, 04:20 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
You want the Maestro setup. Then either a Kenwood or alpine double DIN. I have this setup and it works great.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 04:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
king_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Clarksville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 737
Ah I see, what unit did you end up going with?


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
2014 Oxford White 5.0 Premium

2015 Maroon Chevy Cruze LTZ
2011 Performance White V6 Premium SOLD
king_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2015, 04:44 PM   #4
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by king_13 View Post
Ah I see, what unit did you end up going with?


Sent from my iPhone
The 957hd.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 07:31 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
king_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Clarksville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 737
Do electronic stores like Best Buy that install the units have them on hand, or do I have to bring it myself?

I can't find it on their website or others.
king_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 07:53 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by king_13 View Post
Do electronic stores like Best Buy that install the units have them on hand, or do I have to bring it myself?

I can't find it on their website or others.
Best Buy doesn't sell anything worth a crap. You would have to check with your Best Buy store to see if they will install stuff you bring in.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:18 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
king_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Clarksville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal Stangman View Post
Best Buy doesn't sell anything worth a crap. You would have to check with your Best Buy store to see if they will install stuff you bring in.
True, well there's a store called Electronic Express down here that said they install anything you buy from them, including HU, are the parts I need to make it compatible with the controls something that they would readily have on hand or need to be special ordered?

Sorry for all the questions by the way, I'm new to mostly everything.
king_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 10:02 PM   #8
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by king_13 View Post
True, well there's a store called Electronic Express down here that said they install anything you buy from them, including HU, are the parts I need to make it compatible with the controls something that they would readily have on hand or need to be special ordered?

Sorry for all the questions by the way, I'm new to mostly everything.
No problem I don't mind the questions. Keep in mind with the install you're going to be around a grand on the low end. I spent around 1600.00 for my HU and the Maestro.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 10:22 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 774
I have the Maestro setup with a Kenwood 890HD and I love it!
__________________
2016 DIB GT Premium A6, Borla S-type axle backs, Rovos Pretoria wheels 20x8.5/20x10, Nitto N555G2 tires 255/35/20 and 275/35/20, Koni yellows, BMR springs
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 10:52 AM   #10
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
The Maestro is the best factory integration I've ever used. It's very easy to setup as well. I've had zero problems with mine.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 02:21 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
king_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Clarksville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 737
Sounds like I'm going with the Maestro! I found a custom car shop that I'm going to instead of Bestbuy/those kind of electronic stores, especially since there's more than just the HU to wire up.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
2014 Oxford White 5.0 Premium

2015 Maroon Chevy Cruze LTZ
2011 Performance White V6 Premium SOLD
king_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 NMRA Bradenton – Steeda-Equipped Racer John Urist Sets Class Record! tj@steeda General Mustang Discussion 0 03-20-2015 11:15 AM
Anyone know if Canadian Mustangs come equipped with TPMS? PF Stangs 2005-2010 V6 Mustang 2 12-29-2014 02:14 AM
Replace factory head unit with nav unit Jennienmike 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 57 08-06-2013 12:09 PM
Speed Sensitive for Mach 460 equipped cars (how to) SpectorV Mustang Audio & Video 4 09-13-2010 01:27 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:43 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.