Amp install - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-11-2015, 07:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Amp install

Hey guys I just traded in our truck and got my wife a new car. So I now have the amp and sub from the truck and I'm planning on installing it on my 2014 GT. My question is where is the best spot to run the power wire through the firewall. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2015, 07:25 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
This should help, I followed this minus removing the back seats and it was a breeze. How To: Add a sub and amp to a 2013 - MustangForums.com
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 07:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
The only thing I did different was I didn't remove the bottom rear seat. I used the semi rigid/ flexible end of an old fishing pole to pull the wire through. I just shoved the fishing pole under the rear seat from the trunk side until it showed on the other side of the seat, taped the wire to it and pulled it through.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2015, 05:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Awesome thanks for the help!!


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 01:33 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
No prob man be sure and post up your results.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 06:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Ya I may document it with some photos so people don't have to go to the other link. Hopefully I'll get to it Monday or Friday next week.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 06:10 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stangholio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 222
I removed the back seat bottom. Pops right out. Pretty neat that are cars have that grommet ready for a power cable.
__________________
GHIGitty
Stangholio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 12:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangholio View Post
I removed the back seat bottom. Pops right out. Pretty neat that are cars have that grommet ready for a power cable.

Yes my f150 had it too. Makes the install a little cleaner and easier.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 08:44 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
Pretty easy instal on these cars if you have done one before. Biggest think is making sure you have a good ground. If you have the light up door sills be very careful pulling these. They have extremely short wires.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 02:47 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
I popped a hole in the sound tube and ran the power wire into it. Nice and clean.


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 01:24 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Got everything wired up but hit a snag with the install. The amp is not powering up but I suspect a bad ground connection. I'll be back at it tomorrow.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 01:26 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Good luck. Shouldn't be that hard. Where did you ground it at?
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 04:41 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
I used the bolt for the child restraint under the passenger side rear seat.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 04:51 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
Pull your remote wire from your antenna. Easy access to it. The ground I would recommend drilling sanding paint and running a bolt through the trunk. I tested the ground at the same location you are using and it wasn't very good.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 06:17 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
OK I'll try the ground in the trunk. No need for a remote wire the amp has an auto on with frequency that worked OK in the truck. Trying the other spot now.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 09:30 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
That's just asking for something to go wrong lol. No wonder why the amp won't power up.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 09:39 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
If the amp has an option to use remote than I would use it. It's only 1 extra wire and will ensure that is not your problem of the amp turning on.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 12:06 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Got it figured out one of the speaker wires did not get proper connection with the tap I used. It's up and running time to clean up all the mess. Thanks for all the advise and help.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 04:49 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
GtrTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26
Has anyone done this with a 2015?
__________________
The war is coming to the streets of America and if you are not keeping and bearing and practicing with your arms then you will be helpless and you will be the victim of evil.
Ted Nugent
GtrTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 05:56 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
I would venture to say it's similar but maybe Google. I'm sure someone has done an install by now.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 02:40 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
GtrTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26
If they have I haven't found it,about the only thing I've found out is don't mess with the radio fuse #33,seem to mess up the sync and other radio functions.
I have found where someone tapped fuse 36 Auxiliary body module,anyone tell what that is?
__________________
The war is coming to the streets of America and if you are not keeping and bearing and practicing with your arms then you will be helpless and you will be the victim of evil.
Ted Nugent
GtrTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 03:54 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
What are you trying to do just install an amp?


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 04:24 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
GtrTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26
yes,just trying to find a source for the remote power.
__________________
The war is coming to the streets of America and if you are not keeping and bearing and practicing with your arms then you will be helpless and you will be the victim of evil.
Ted Nugent
GtrTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 05:09 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
Check and see if the antenna is similar. Also you could call an install shop or crutchfield they may be able to offer a little insight



Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 05:49 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
Your antenna will be a good place to pull 12v from


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 05:50 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
You can easily do the antenna or rear lights. You just need the schematic for the rear lights if you go that route. You could even do your license plate lights if you wanted to. There all easy to get at. Your easiest bet though will be the antenna


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how hard to install o/r x pipe? how much to get x pipe install? MustangForEver 2011-2014 Mustang GT 9 02-05-2013 08:01 PM
94 Mustang runs worse after CAI & coil install, Need suggestions Mustang52 1979-1995 Mustang GT 5 09-22-2012 12:22 AM
amp install Cp3 Mustang Audio & Video 3 04-21-2012 12:08 AM
C&C Plate install Gerry52 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 12-13-2008 12:32 PM
2001 gt mach stereo sub & amp install gwilkrrs Mustang Audio & Video 2 07-08-2008 07:09 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



01:08 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.