Stereo swap - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-24-2015, 08:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
nicholasmadill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Stereo swap

Wonder if it would be possible to swap out the main radio unit from one car to another.

My brother is considering purchasing a 2010 GT fully loaded, track pack, nav system etc.

He said he would sell me the nav screen of it is possible to just switch the units. Mine is a 2011 GT with the red leather. Only interior options would be heated seats and the shaker system I guess

Wondering if it is possible, and if it would be easy or hard, cause the one with nav also has dual climate control, but mine doesn't. A few small things like that factor in? Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1435194746.028650.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	115.9 KB
ID:	185726Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1435194779.703016.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	185727


Sent from my iPhone using Mu
nicholasmadill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2015, 08:50 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Anything can be done but in this case the hvac module is different. You would need wire harnesses and antennas ect. I looked into this on my 14 before I just went aftermarket, honestly it's not worth it. You would literally have to remove half the wiring behind the dash to make it right. Ford integrated wire harnesses into other components so it's mega complicated. That's my .02. Now if your bro is willing to let you pull out EVERYTHING you would need and swap full dash wire harnesses and his auto climate hvac module, pull out all the wiring for the sat antenna nav ect. Maybe it would be worth it.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 08:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
nicholasmadill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
Anything can be done but in this case the hvac module is different. You would need wire harnesses and antennas ect. I looked into this on my 14 before I just went aftermarket, honestly it's not worth it. You would literally have to remove half the wiring behind the dash to make it right. Ford integrated wire harnesses into other components so it's mega complicated. That's my .02. Now if your bro is willing to let you pull out EVERYTHING you would need and swap full dash wire harnesses and his auto climate hvac module, pull out all the wiring for the sat antenna nav ect. Maybe it would be worth it.


IG @Oxford5pointoh

so all long as I were to take all the wiring harnesses it would be a good idea? and all mine would just fit into his correct?



Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
nicholasmadill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2015, 09:06 PM   #4
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Yeah, but again it's a pretty intense swap. Like wire harnesses that run through the car to the gps antenna would have to be swapped. Do some research on everything it takes man. If I still had all my research if share it but I got rid of it all. I ended up going aftermarket and I'm glad I did. It's better than what for offers


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 04:13 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
As someone who did this, I can tell you it isn't super easy, but it also depends on how much you want to do.

Pretty much everything you could ever want to know is covered in this thread :: Adding the OEM nav - The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

Because of your different cars, it isn't going to be a 1 to 1 swap (EDIT: Unless you literally pull just about everything from both cars and even then not really), if you want to keep things like dual climate and heated seats.

EDIT EDIT: and since you have pre-2013 cars, if you want your sound to work you'll need to go either aftermarket for the amps or replace the body harness, which requires completely gutting the interior (Dash, consoles, seats, flooring, everything.)
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo ground wire location Crispy Mustang Audio & Video 4 10-20-2004 12:02 AM
mp3 stereo question Monkey The Bar 6 10-08-2004 06:55 PM
pics of the stereo dropdpony Pictures and Videos 15 09-17-2004 03:28 PM
quick stereo question Monkey Mustang Audio & Video 4 07-06-2004 01:00 AM
How to on stereo install lowflyn Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 11-13-2003 07:43 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:21 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.