WIRING IN AN AMP - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-30-2016, 10:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
stampde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manalapan
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,880
WIRING IN AN AMP

HOW Hard would it be to wire in an aftermarket amp to the factory sync head unit ?
i'm assuming there's no RCA's ?? I have an Infiniti Bass link powered
sub
any help would be appreciated !! ( 2011 GT )
__________________
2011 GT Auto
stampde is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2016, 08:20 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alabama5OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 66
Not sure about your year model, but I have an 11 and have installed subs twice into it lol. No RCA. Tap into rear speaker for your audio, ground it, power wire, and speaker wire from amp to subs.
__________________
2011 GT Premium
Roush Axelback | UPR O/R X Pipe | Bama 93 Performance and Race tune | MPT Ghost Cam Tune | JLT Cold Air | Brembo Package | Nitto 555
Alabama5OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 08:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Need to run remote wire from your head unit to the amp. Power wire from battery to amp


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2016, 08:42 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Wire usually blue from your headunit


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 08:06 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
stampde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manalapan
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alabama5OH View Post
Not sure about your year model, but I have an 11 and have installed subs twice into it lol. No RCA. Tap into rear speaker for your audio, ground it, power wire, and speaker wire from amp to subs.
thanks ,that's what I figured
no longer have the 05 ,just picked up an 11
__________________
2011 GT Auto
stampde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 10:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosariors3 View Post
Need to run remote wire from your head unit to the amp. Power wire from battery to amp


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
thats not necessary, get the remote power for the amp from the antenna +12v in the trunk
__________________
2016 DIB GT Premium A6, Borla S-type axle backs, Rovos Pretoria wheels 20x8.5/20x10, Nitto N555G2 tires 255/35/20 and 275/35/20, Koni yellows, BMR springs
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 05:45 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_0 View Post
thats not necessary, get the remote power for the amp from the antenna +12v in the trunk

Is that easier ?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 05:48 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Isn't the remote wire that controls the balance, bass etc?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 07:03 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosariors3 View Post
Is that easier ?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
much much easier! the run of wire from the radio to the amp compared to from the antenna power to the amp is a huge difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosariors3 View Post
Isn't the remote wire that controls the balance, bass etc?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
no, the remote wire provides a 12v signal to turn the amp on



Sent from my Galaxy S7 using Tapatalk
__________________
2016 DIB GT Premium A6, Borla S-type axle backs, Rovos Pretoria wheels 20x8.5/20x10, Nitto N555G2 tires 255/35/20 and 275/35/20, Koni yellows, BMR springs
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 07:08 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
What about the the big gauge power wire from the batt ?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 07:13 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Nvm the remote just sends the signal to turn it on and the power from the batt juices it up lack of a better term


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 11:05 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Brandonb2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 295
Yup I have my LOC(line out converter) which are your "rcas" hooked up to my rear speakers, and remote wire ran from my antenna, the power to the antenna cuts when the car or radio is turned off, I actually tried running it to different fuses at first but a lot of them stayed live even when the car was off


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Brandonb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp wiring!?!? Q&A curtin1991 Mustang Audio & Video 4 04-17-2012 02:13 PM
2000 Mustang V6 Wiring Door panel wiring problem wyatt-00' Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 11-30-2009 01:43 AM
Eclipse CD3100 + wiring harness & double din adapter jimmy_beaner Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 2 04-07-2008 07:56 PM
amp wiring help pres_slappy Mustang Audio & Video 6 07-29-2006 02:53 PM
wiring up subs/amp The Arson Mustang Audio & Video 15 11-22-2004 12:23 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



06:26 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.