Mach 460 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-19-2004, 12:37 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
Mach 460

My stang came with a mach 460 audio system i was wondering if i got new cd player what kind of wiring harness would i need ,and after i got
the new cd player would my mach 460 speakers still work? Here is a
list of them but i dont know wich one i need.....i have a 2000 mustang

http://www.sounddomain.com/shop/list/t/Car+Stereo+Wiring+Harnesses
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2004, 01:06 PM   #2
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
http://www.sounddomain.com/sku/SCOFDK10

Probally what you need. You can get that locally too. Circuit City, Best Buy, (maybe even) Auto Zone, ect.. It's all the same.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 03:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
Our 2003 Mach1 came with the Mach460 system aswell ( go figure ) and it just doesnt handle bass and treble and sub/amp box hooked up just right, get a little distortion from higher up decimals...anyways we have pondered the idea of replacing the head unit ourselves aswell, can ya tell me were we could get a replacement radio holder being that there is such a huge opening compared to a normal stereo head unit.


Thanks!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2004, 04:34 PM   #4
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
will i have to take out the mach 460 speakers or will they work with an aftermarket cd player
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 04:44 PM   #5
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
I dont reall yknow that much about Mach 460. I would never buy a car with it tho. to much of a hassle.


If I were you I would just get you a new head unit and a set of four speakers for the front and year and wire them up your self.

Or if you want get a amp to wire up to the speakers.

No way would I put a head unit on the old mach 460 speakers. I would just re wire it all. Its not as hard as it sounds.

If you were going to rewire it I would go ahead and get you a 4 channel amp since your going to be rewiring it.

But if I were you I would not put a Head unit on stock 460 speakers...... here is why i think you shouldnt

1) the speakers are hooked up to seperate amps

2) if you get a new headunit the headunit is going to be putting out more power than your stock one and is going to run a risk of frying your amps. My friend has a mach 460 in his v6 mustang and he hooked up a headunit to his amps and his headunit would cut off and distort because it was getting extremely hot.

I went to crutchfield.com and entered your set up and it gave me the full list of cd players for sale. I didnt see them saying anything about by passing the amps so I dunno.

Those are just my thoughts and experiences with the 460
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:23 PM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
is there a way 2 hook up an amp to a stock cd player
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:29 PM   #7
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
yes but I dont recommend doing that.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:54 PM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
so you think i should get a new cd player and re wire my 460 speakers
to a amp
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:58 PM   #9
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
thats what I would do personally yea
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:59 PM   #10
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
you dont have to have a new amp but either way i would rewire. Either from the headunit or a amp.

I was just saying if your going through the trouble of rewiring it I would save up and get a amp and do it that way.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:06 PM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
so i can use the mach 460 speakers
in the trunk there are 2 amps i think
would i need 2 take them out
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:15 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
A Scosche wiring harness is an absolute must when installing an aftermarket car stereo. It provides easy connection of the car stereo to the factory wiring harness. Each harness includes both power and speaker wires, and each is labeled with its specific function. Any cutting of the factory wires is avoided so all connections are exactly right. All wires are color coded (EIA standard) for easy identification.
The FDK10 is used when replacing the factory head unit and retaining the factory amplifier in Premium Sound or MACH Audio systems. Utilizes the low-power (10W x 4 MAX) speaker outputs of the stereo only. For high-power head units (over 10W per channel), use the Scosche FAI-3 in conjunction with the FDK10.
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:15 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
http://www.sounddomain.com/sku/SCOFDK10
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:18 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
when i put a cd player in there do i take out the stock cd player and stock radio
what do i put where do i put in the place or the cd player
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:29 PM   #15
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Ok I learned something today as well about the mach460

You can replace your headunit and keep your stock speakers and factory amps:

here is what you need to do it:

Scosche FDK10

Scosche FAI-3

but:

If you go that route your mach 460 speakers are just not going to cut it and your going to want to replace ally our speakers

I still recommend doing what i said earlier and buy a new headunit and four speakers and wiring them yourself. That way you dont have to worry about the factory amps going bad due to the increased power going through them. And that second thing that they told you to get......

well that thing started melting in my car when I installed a more powerful cd player in the place of the one that was originally in there.......

if you are on a budget and just want a nice headunit in your car buy the adapters.

If you want nice clean sound from your headunit it do it the way I suggest.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:31 PM   #16
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by starboarder2004
when i put a cd player in there do i take out the stock cd player and stock radio
what do i put where do i put in the place or the cd player
You can leave the stock cd player in there or take it out and 1) buy a coin holder thing for down there 2) buy one of zim's switch panels

you can find the coin holder things at ford dealer or junkyard. Junkyard is way cheaper
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:35 PM   #17
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
where can i buy a coin holder o switch panel
do u know the web page
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:40 PM   #18
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
the coin holder you can just buy at Ford Dealership near you or a local junkyard

as for the switch panels pm Zimstang and ask him when he is going to start making them again
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 05:47 PM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to starboarder2004
k thanks
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-XGoXpMzkIWA/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?a=1&s=0&cc=01&g=751&id=detailed_info&i=142C4FDK5
is this what i would need
starboarder2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 10:23 PM   #20
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
I should have found this earlier. Yes you can hook the 460 system up to any aftermarker cd player with a remote out. This is the wire that tells your amp when to turn on and off so it won't run your battery down all the time. When you buy the wiring harness it should all the labeled very clearly and you can simply hook the wires up. If you don't hook this remote bass wire up (little blue wire on most cd players) none of the speakers will work because the amp is not on. I've put several aftermarket cd players in mustangs with both the mach 460 and 1000 systems and it just adds to the sound experience. I would personally change out the factory speakers but I can't stand to leave anything stock. Of course I've still got the stock 6x8's in my stang so who am I to talk. But it is a fairly easy hook up and if you aren't comfortable doing this wiring it would be well worth it to find someone local to do it for a small fee. Then you can simply blame them if anything ends up going wrong . I personally guarantee all my work for the life of the cd player or car, whichever comes first lol. . Just my 2 cents and experience for ya there, hope I helped you some. Anymore questions email me lowflyn@v6stangs.com
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mach 460 Replacement Help a3705872 Mustang Audio & Video 21 05-31-2014 09:26 PM
mach 460 charkelly9 Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 5 06-16-2005 12:55 AM
mach 460 whitev6stang03 Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 4 02-04-2005 03:24 PM
Mach 460 megax29 Mustang Audio & Video 6 09-08-2004 03:25 PM
mach 460 Warfire80 Mustang Audio & Video 15 03-03-2004 10:34 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:21 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.