Need Help with gauges install - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-26-2004, 03:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Need Help with gauges install

I really dont want to mess this up so I was wondering if anyone knows of a shop in Orange county Cali, that can install the gauges for me.
02Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2004, 03:52 PM   #2
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
whered that other post go?? lol i just responded to it.

Can you get pictures of the guages and the wiring stuff... if you show me some pictures i can probably help you out. I just need to see what you're working with here.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 03:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
dont have them yet, they are the custom gauges from speedhut though, they were the only place that I could find that had what I wanted.
02Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2004, 04:01 PM   #4
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
When they come in snap some pictures of the transformer, and all the ways that wires connect. If its anything like my guages were, all you really have to do is have a little patience and know where to tap into the parking lamp wire to give them power. If you can do this on your own you should be fine. I know the big brown wire is the wire that you'll want to tap on the headlight wiring assembly, and then youd just need to find a ground. With making sure that you dont pop the needles off, all you have to do is push down on the needle while you're sliding the guage under it. Please get me pictures when they come in because I'm pretty sure I can save you anywhere from 50-100 bucks.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 07:05 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
what kind of guages are you wanting? Boost? Oil Temp? Exhaust temp?
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 07:08 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
http://www.speedhut.com/el_detail.as...mber=32&bhcp=1

these are the dials I'm getting ^ but not just the plain ones, I'm customizing them. I've read how to's on installation but the one I read says that the needles are the hard part because they dont always go back to the same postion when idle and that you can fry the needle wire when installing and it ruins them...
02Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 07:18 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
OH, nm. i thought you meant boost guages and voltmeter and crap not overlays. cant help you there.
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 07:39 PM   #8
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Like I said, patience is key. If youre gentle with them and take your time you shouldn't have anything to worry about.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 07:45 PM   #9
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
its really easy. one of the easiest things ive ever done to my stang. right behind changing to cig lighter to billet

Just slide it on over the needles, dont remove them if at all possible. My gauges were one piece, so that prob makes them harder to get on than urs.

Like Zim said, the brown wire is the one u want connect to it, ground the other wire, and put ur dash back together.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
want new gauges tigerfan2771 Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 3 04-15-2008 07:17 AM
gauges o3mustangGTafs 1996-2004 Mustang GT 4 08-01-2006 10:08 AM
Gauges... Scottiedont Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 12 07-28-2006 05:45 PM
how to install glow gauges? db2012 Mustang Audio & Video 17 11-10-2005 01:10 PM
Need some help with gauges... Ibanezplayer272 Mustang Audio & Video 12 01-11-2005 12:20 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:47 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.