Help! Remote wire color - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-27-2004, 01:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
Help! Remote wire color

Im installing some subs this week on my factory stereo, and i need to know what color the remote wire is... does anybody know?? thanks
__________________
out with the old: 93 turbo integra
in with the new: 03 mustang
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2004, 01:58 PM   #2
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
blue
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 02:08 PM   #3
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimStang
blue
On factory?

So your installing subs on your stock headunit?
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2004, 02:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
thats right. with a line output converter.

im also considering just wiring up a switch instead of a remote wire. what would be a good power source for that? thanks
__________________
out with the old: 93 turbo integra
in with the new: 03 mustang
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 02:33 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
You can tap into the head unit power or just look in your fuse box for something that comes on when your car does, like the fuse for the cd player, put the wire in the hole, push the fuse back in and you have a remote wire
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 02:34 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
And don't just wire up a switch, it'd be stupid when you can just do it the way I said and it be done, no more wires to run. Let me know how the install goes with the line converter, I gotta get outside and do mine...after taking my stereo apart to unhook the amp...
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 03:58 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
i know it would be easier to wire the remote wire, but the reason i was thinking about a switch was in case i ever wanted to jam without my subs on. just a thought
__________________
out with the old: 93 turbo integra
in with the new: 03 mustang
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 04:02 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Just reach in the trunk and turn your amp down. I thought about the same thing when I first started in subs...you never want to do that once you get them lol
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 06:22 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
im too lazy to do that, haha. ive had subs in my past two cars, and i installed them myself, some of the music i listen to gets really annoying with heavily accented bass.

someone else told me that the remote wire is black with a pink stripe. anybody know for sure?? i have a non-mach system.
__________________
out with the old: 93 turbo integra
in with the new: 03 mustang
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 06:32 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Hm...I could go outside and look..but...I can tell you exactly where it is...
I'm looking at my aftermarket adapter, look at the connector with the clip side up. The bottom left wire is the constant power wire, the second from the left on the bottom row is the accessory wire. That's the one you need to hook up to. Hope this helps. Get a piggy back connector, one that clips onto the existing wire and simply adds another wire to it.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 06:56 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
just tap into the ignition wire behind the head unit, it would be a good remote
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 07:27 PM   #12
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Just get a aftermarket head unit.... makes life alot easier
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 08:25 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
i wish i could afford it, but im a broke college student. and ive had enough decks stolen to be happy with the stock one.

thanks lowflyn, that will work.
__________________
out with the old: 93 turbo integra
in with the new: 03 mustang
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 08:30 PM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by 232stang
just tap into the ignition wire behind the head unit, it would be a good remote
I think we're talking about the same thing. There's a constant power wire (keeps everything you've saved on memory) and an ignition/switched 12 volt wire that only recieves power when the head unit is on. That's the wire I described for him to use and tap into. I tapped into the same exact wire on mine and it works perfectly fine.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 09:09 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
^^thats the correct wire. otherwise, the amp would be powered whenever the car is on, not just when the head unit is on.
__________________
out with the old: 93 turbo integra
in with the new: 03 mustang
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 09:10 PM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Yup yup so right. I've fixed several ppl's stereos that were like that.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 11:29 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
yep thats what im talking about
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 09:59 PM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
The colour of the remote wire is blue with a white line.
TheMustangKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 08:48 AM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
02BLUE_STANG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Region: Maryland
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to 02BLUE_STANG
blue OR!!!! red its the thinest wire in the kit usually it is blue but there are some kits where it is red
02BLUE_STANG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What color is your stang and why did you choose that color? Brent The Bar 67 07-12-2016 06:49 PM
power wire? tylbrune Mustang Audio & Video 2 02-16-2010 01:10 PM
Wire tapping... DarkShadow The Bar 11 05-13-2006 10:52 PM
Stereo wire? 19ClearCobra96 Mustang Audio & Video 13 03-21-2005 04:18 PM
WHere to wire A/F ratio sensor wire?!? TheSarge Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 09-04-2003 03:00 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



03:49 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.