Any Old Guys new to Mustangs out there? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Mustang Evolution | Community Forums > New Member Introductions & Greetings

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-30-2010, 08:26 AM   #1

Any Old Guys new to Mustangs out there?

I have been a mechanical engineer for over thirty five years and have designed equipment that works at the sub-micron level to Space Shuttle and Ares rocket support. I have worked on cars as a teen and young adult under bad circumstances. I usually didn't have the tools or the place to work. I have worked on cars laying on my back on gravel in the cold, (Alabama and Michigan), and on my back in the rain (Florida). I love the engine, but, just being a mechanical engineer doesn't qualify you to be a good automotive engineer or mechanic. I learned what little I know from a Chilton Auto Manual and trial and error. I have twice as much experience in some areas as most folks, because I usually do things wrong the first time, then have to re-do it. That makes twice the experience.

I was injured in a rear end collision that left me with multiple ruptured discs and concussion. My life is a little slower these days and I am beginning to "smell the roses now". I have worked hard since I was age 15, working in a peach packing plant, then grocery store during high school. I have always worked and paid my way through school.
Now that I have a little free time, I am thinking I would like to fix the Mustang up.

It seems that most people posting on the forum are young and have good and fast cars. I was wondering if I am the only inexperienced old guy out here.
richardcrowson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2010, 08:53 AM   #2

Region: Maryland
Re: Any Old Guys new to Mustangs out there?

You're not the only old guy, for sure, but this one leaves the mechanics to the mechanic.

Grazes Across Concrete --

5/13/05