Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-26-2009, 03:22 PM   #36
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

no dont to do that i might be haven this issue because bout a day before i try putten it in sum1 broke in my car and try to steal it
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 03:36 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

what model radio are you trying to install
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:38 PM   #38
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

a sony gt710
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 03:47 PM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

ok the solid blue wire should go to the antenna turn on if you have one and the blue with white tracer should go to the amplifier remote. you did say that you get static noise but when you put a cd in it stops right?
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:48 PM   #40
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

ya thats wut i didnt do ampturn on to amp rem
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:50 PM   #41
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

ok well that definitely sounds like your antenna controls the power to the speakers like in my 4runner what i had to do was connect the amp remote turn on (blue/white) wire to the antenna turn on to keep it from cutting off when i went to a cd
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:52 PM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

ill see if thats the problem thx
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:53 PM   #43
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

Heres the wiring chart for your car provided by the12volt.com in case you do decide to hardwire it in and the wiring for the radio harness should be on a sticker on the top or bottom of the unit

Constant 12V+ Green/Yellow
Switched 12V+ Yellow/Black
Ground Black/Green
Illumination Light Blue/Red
Dimmer n/a
Amplifier Remote Blue
Antenna Right Front
Front Speakers 6" x 8" Doors
Left Front (+) Orange/Light Green
Left Front (-) Light Blue/White
Right Front (+) White/Light Green
Right Front (-) Dark Green/Orange
Rear Speakers 6" x 8" Rear Deck
Left Rear (+) Gray/Light Blue
Left Rear (-) Tan/Yellow
Right Rear (+) Orange/Red
Right Rear (-) Brown/Pink
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:09 PM   #44
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

u are awsome lol i got it working my day jus got better lol
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:25 PM   #45
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

no problem i believe that is my first radio trouble shoot in another state haha
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:47 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

got anothwe ? can i still hook up a amp with out the rem wire and it still take the amp off
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 05:03 PM   #47
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

i just notice this forum is for 05-09 stangs
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 05:19 PM   #48
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

you can run a wire from the amp to an acc. switched fuse in the fuse panel like i think the windshield wipers cut on and off with the key
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 09:44 PM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

is there a another reason besides a fuze y my gauges are not lighting up
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 10:28 PM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

well usually the cluster lights are on the same fuse as something else so if nothing else isnt working its possible that a wire might be crimped somewhere
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 10:38 PM   #51
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

haha i jus read theres a fuze panel inside the car didnt kno that
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 10:50 PM   #52
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

yeah check all your fuses before anything else they can be blown even if they dont look like they are... and the one inside the car is the one i was referring to when i said to run a wire to the fuse block for your amp... your windshield wipers should be on it
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 12:02 PM   #53
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by OsirisGuy View Post
I would check over all your wiring. Nothing from the old audio system should be connected. Does the white static have volume control? It sounds like either the speakers are picking up interference, or the speakers aren't receiving a signal.

Did you connect both the power antenna and the amp turn on wire? Did you try to bypass the amps? Are the amps good? Have you checked the fuses?
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsirisGuy View Post
Are you sure the radio is good?

The radio, in best circumstances, have a blue and a blue/white wire. More importantly you will want to make sure the blue and blue/white wire on the aftermarket harness going into the car is connected, and wired correctly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsirisGuy View Post
So were the two blue wires propery connected? I don't think '89 had any amps and I'm iffy on saying it also had a power antenna (although the power antenna in this case wouldn't cause the problem).
Yes I have the Mach 460.

The power antenna could cause problems; related more so to actual radio (AM/FM) problems. It happens a lot in Audi/VW. Some antennas need a charge and don't pick up reception on their own, or the radio signal needs to be amplified before it gets to the actual radio.

I've also had trouble with some of the aftermarket Mach harnessess where the pins slide out of the harness and don't ever really make contact, or it can be easy to plug in sideways or upside down thus bending the pins.

This thread has been it was originally about a 2008 radio DDIN install.

As for a new (aftermarket) amp you will have to run a new remote line (will have to do this no matter what). You can simply splice it in with the amp turn on (Blue/white wire) or as wkndpaintballer said, to an accessory (wire which has current when they key is turned to an "on", "acc", or "run" position). It's better to use the amp turn on however since it's the radio that tells the amp when to turn on and not the car. I don't know if the wipers are a good acc. since it's possible every time you use your wires it can turn your amp on or off (or anything else attached to this fuse). If you have to run from a fuse than use either a cigarette light or the radio fuse.

Check all the interior fuses, even though the dash fuse may be good, the interior overhead light may have blown (or something even more unrelated) and caused the dash fuse to blow. I've spen some time pulling out each fuse because something didn't work correctly. Pull out each fuse individually and inspect it and replace it before you go onto the next fuse. It's a good time to replace any other blown fuses as well (preventative maintenence!).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 02:16 AM   #54
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

my overhead still works its my gauges shift and a/c knobs but im replacen all of em with new ones
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 10:45 AM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

I was just giving an example how a fuse for another electrical component can cause the problem.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 05:33 PM   #56
Registered User
Newbie
 
smashten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Region: Virginia
Posts: 5
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

paintballer - Do you know where and what color the speed and reverse wires are? I'm putting in an eclipse myself.
smashten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 05:38 PM   #57
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

what year is your car
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 09:12 PM   #58
Registered Member
Regular
 
CrzyBeautiful's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: California
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to CrzyBeautiful Send a message via Yahoo to CrzyBeautiful
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

I know my post is SUPER late - but in case someone stumbles upon it in the future...

Earlier this month I installed the Eclipse AVN4430 (detachable) GPS. Haven't had any problems, system works great. I still have the factory amp installed although I plan on upgrading in the future. Install took a total of 1.5hours. I run my iPod & USB cables through the glovebox. I will take pictures tomorrow morning & add/edit them to this post if possible. If I can't they will be available on my site (link at bottom of my sig) by Sunday afternoon. Good Luck all!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avn44303.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	121.8 KB
ID:	21183   Click image for larger version

Name:	avn44301fixed.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	21184  

Click image for larger version

Name:	avn44302fixed.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	21185   Click image for larger version

Name:	avn44304fixed.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	21186  

__________________
"No Day But Today"



CrzyBeautiful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:35 PM   #59
Registered User
Newbie
 
smashten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Region: Virginia
Posts: 5
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

I have an 02 gt - has the mach 460

Crzy - Thats the same unit I installed. Did you hook up the speed sensitive wiring and back-up camera?
smashten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:41 PM   #60
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

The easiest way to hook up the reverse signal is to run the wire to the tail lights and splice into the reverse lights and I'll look 2moro when I have a spare min and see if I can find the speed wire is. I couldn't get the speed wire to work on my 07 with out some adapter. It was reading that I was going over 400 when I drove 10 down my drive way
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:51 PM   #61
Registered User
Newbie
 
smashten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Region: Virginia
Posts: 5
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

That will get me going. Just getting used to system, but it seemed like I couldn't make a call using BT while moving. Will need to read book but that seems kind of useless.

Can you tell me best way to run camera through trunk / back seat? Car is a vert. Backseat lifted up in crotch but wasn't sure what was keeping front connected also Do you just pry round black connectors for trunk interior or am I getting ready to FU?
smashten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 01:36 AM   #62
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

i got em on
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:52 AM   #63
Registered Member
Regular
 
CrzyBeautiful's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: California
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to CrzyBeautiful Send a message via Yahoo to CrzyBeautiful
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashten View Post
I have an 02 gt - has the mach 460

Crzy - Thats the same unit I installed. Did you hook up the speed sensitive wiring and back-up camera?
Yes & No. The speed sensitive wiring was done - very helpful on these backroads. The wire was white. Here is a wire map similar to the one I used: I did not hook up the back up camera - although that is definitely a future install. At the time of purchase I thought I had found the camera at a discounted price - but it was the wrong model

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashten View Post
That will get me going. Just getting used to system, but it seemed like I couldn't make a call using BT while moving. Will need to read book but that seems kind of useless.
In order to use the BT while driving you have to remove one (or two) safety features. When you have the device on "Safety Lock" it restricts you from using the screen or the BT while driving. Try this -->

From the main screen: Click "Change Preferences" then click "Safety Preferences" If "Hide Most Menu Options While Driving" is checked then un-check it. This should solve your issue.

Good Luck!
__________________
"No Day But Today"



CrzyBeautiful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 03:39 PM   #64
Registered User
Newbie
 
smashten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Region: Virginia
Posts: 5
Re: Replacing stereos with DVD/gps unit

Thanks for the tips. Still haven't hooked up speed sensor, but did get camera installed and working. If you are looking for one CB I got the whole setup from stereoware on ebay for a good price. Not sure I would have bought the camera separate, but I am digging it now that it is working.

BT works with the safety pref setup!
__________________
02 GT vert - black / grey. FRP 3:73, Flowmaster, K&N, Steeda UDP, Steeda Triax. Saving for a forged Livernois SB and a KB 2.1. Screw the bolt-ons!:disgust:
smashten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do when replacing Odometer? fast64 General Car Discussion 5 01-17-2008 09:52 AM
have questions about stereos.....ask this guy Kyle The Bar 8 06-16-2005 02:58 PM
dvd head unit charkelly9 Mustang Audio & Video 7 06-14-2005 12:09 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:28 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.