BUMMED with SCT tuner - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-26-2010, 02:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Thumbs down BUMMED with SCT tuner

I bought and received my SCT tuner recently and it has a problem. I have tried for 2 days now to get through to their technical support and have spent up to an hour on hold. They don't call back and they don't answer their phones.

If you are thinking about getting one of these..... my advice is DON'T
Spend your money on another product....there is PI$$ Poor customer service with these guys.
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2010, 02:29 PM   #2
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Ummm, and what is your problem with it? And which tuner do you have?

My XCal 2 runs circles around the diablo predator I had before it....so quantify your statements please.
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:31 PM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

And my Xcal3 has had no problems what so ever.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2010, 02:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

BRAND NEW...SCT-SF3, just recieved it on Friday last.
I am not able to get my computer to recognize that it is there using the latest SCT Device Updater. I keep getting a "invalid device" error when I run the Updater and then their updater locks up my computer.
I am running a lap top with Windows Vista installed. Should be no problem
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:37 PM   #5
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Did you install the drivers for the device? If not, you can go to www.sctflash.com and get them.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:39 PM   #6
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Have you installed the drivers for your device on your computer yet? Or are you just plugging in the device to your computer without the drivers? The drivers should have come on the CD that comes with the device.

Edit: Dammit 19Delta...you beat me to it while I was looking for the direct link to the drivers. lol
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:40 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Mine didn't come with the CD, so I had to go to sctflash.com and download them. That's more than likely what his problem is.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Yes, followed all the directions that came with the tuner, and went to their web page, my next resort was to try their customer service. Thats where the bummer comes in....
Can't get through, left a message yesterday to ask them to call me back, no return call, so today i camped the "hold" line for an hour and a half, had to take a break after my ear almost fell off and left another message.
Their customer service absolutly SUX
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:43 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Hrm, I've never had a problem with them. Did you try the online chat?
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:46 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

NO, but I will try that now
The REAL bummer is i have a CAI i wanna install and then do a new tune. I am glad I waited to install the CAI before messin with the tune
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:46 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

True that.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:59 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

SCT Live Support is currently unavailable. Please leave a message below and one of our support personnel will get back to you shortly.
Full Name:
Email:

Subject:
Message:


LOL, ain't this the *****s.....I rest my case... their customer service SUX
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:01 PM   #13
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

So leave a message for the live support who is probably off on their lunch break or in a meeting or whatever else might be going on.

I still say it's a driver issue with vista...
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:04 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Vista = sucks.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:04 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

I did leave a message.

I would think that if there is a driver issue, than there would be more info available, specially on their web site.....Dunno, I been searchin hi and low for info, I WANNA install my CAI and go for a ride darnit
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 04:11 PM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

I update my tuner via my windows xp machine with no issues and had to install no drivers~ if you have an xp box try that route~ coulde be a vista issue.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 04:19 PM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Well I have Windows 7 and I didn't have an issue. There are steps on the actual SCT site that say you have to have the drivers installed for vista+, that it's not a plug and play like on XP.

How to Check/Manually Install Drivers - SCT Tech Support SupportSuite
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:34 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

kk, followed all the instructions and still no go. I will try again on Monday. Luckily I have vacation this next week and I can spend it gettin this straightened out... I would much rather be cruisin with my new CAI with the proper tune though.
Oh well......I am STILL of the opinion that SCT's customer service is absolutely....positively.....the SUX
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:24 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 81
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

vista is your problem!!!! i could never get vista to work right with my kpro on my civic. now it doesnt like sct so i use my old xp laptop to load tunes. either use someone elses no vista computer or upgrade to windows 7.
__________________
2007 grabber orange gt / jlt cai / tuned by jms / upr o/r x pipe / 4.10s / steeda economy plates / steeda udp's / bmr lca's / bmr adj uca / powerhouse 1pc aluminum ds
12.67@112.12 1.83 60'
jroc07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:37 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
99 SVT Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Region: Texas
Posts: 198
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

I have an SCT and had no problems with a Vista computer. But I know where you are coming from, my buddy had the same problems you are having and it took him forever to get a response.
__________________
Bassani Off-road X-pipe, Magnaflow Catback, BOMZ Racing CAI, Smoked Tail lights, Black Projector Headlights
99 SVT Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:41 PM   #21
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

I always had problems with SCT software when trying to get it running on Windows XP. That was a few years ago though and I'm not idiot when it comes to working with computers.

(I couldn't get it to work on my Desktop or Laptop long enough to do anything. It would either not work or load and then crash at some point.)
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 11:05 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
SaleenFiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Louisiana
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,318
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Probably just the loose nuts behind the steering wheels.

Step 1:

Please use a Windows OS of quality. Vista came with it's problems and fixes---Wait.... NO fixes. You were thrown to the dogs with that. I'm sure some guru somewhere has your solution. Good Luck!

Although if you would like I can point you into the right direction of any operating system you would like to use...free. I find 7 Ultimate to be great but unecessary. I would probably reccomend you settle for a lite Pro or Home Premium version.

SCT should have returned your phone call. Do you have a speech impediment, talk fast, slow, or low? Just curious. What car are you driving? I suppose a S197? If not, slap that CAI and go on until you find a solution.
SaleenFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 11:08 PM   #23
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaleenFiend View Post
Probably just the loose nuts behind the steering wheels.

Step 1:

Please use a Windows OS of quality. Vista came with it's problems and fixes---Wait.... NO fixes. You were thrown to the dogs with that. I'm sure some guru somewhere has your solution. Good Luck!

Although if you would like I can point you into the right direction of any operating system you would like to use...free. I find 7 Ultimate to be great but unecessary. I would probably reccomend you settle for a lite Pro or Home Premium version.

SCT should have returned your phone call. Do you have a speech impediment, talk fast, slow, or low? Just curious. What car are you driving? I suppose a S197? If not, slap that CAI and go on until you find a solution.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 11:12 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
SaleenFiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Louisiana
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,318
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
What?
SaleenFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 09:38 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

NOTHING loose behind my wheel friend. Nor a speech impediment, SCT just has crappy customer service. Thanks for your wonderful help though, VERY well thought out, and MUCH appreciated.
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 11:22 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
SaleenFiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Louisiana
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,318
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadStang View Post
NOTHING loose behind my wheel friend. Nor a speech impediment, SCT just has crappy customer service. Thanks for your wonderful help though, VERY well thought out, and MUCH appreciated.
The internet doesn't help with sarcasm. I wasn't bashing you in the least bit, although you would have never known unless you could here my tone. I was actually taking a stab at SCT. I have had my own problems within their service.
SaleenFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:55 AM   #27
Registered User
Newbie
 
Goofas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Region: Texas
Posts: 17
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

I hear ya. SCT is terrible. I bought a tuner from AM with a Steeda CAI. The tuner stopped working during the middle of a flash and corrupted my ECU. The car had to be towed to Ford and reflashed. SCT's response was send the tuner back to them and pay $150 since it was 3 1/2 months old. AM had no sympathy as well. $600 down the drain for 3 1/2 months of use. Since then I have gone to a "tunless" CAI and a couple of other "tuneless" mods. I really wanted a Diablo tuner from Bamachips but it looks like they are out of business. I just can't believe the crappy customer service from these people. These mods are not cheap.
Goofas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 01:45 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
SaleenFiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Louisiana
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,318
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofas View Post
I hear ya. SCT is terrible. I bought a tuner from AM with a Steeda CAI. The tuner stopped working during the middle of a flash and corrupted my ECU. The car had to be towed to Ford and reflashed. SCT's response was send the tuner back to them and pay $150 since it was 3 1/2 months old. AM had no sympathy as well. $600 down the drain for 3 1/2 months of use. Since then I have gone to a "tunless" CAI and a couple of other "tuneless" mods. I really wanted a Diablo tuner from Bamachips but it looks like they are out of business. I just can't believe the crappy customer service from these people. These mods are not cheap.
I can sell you a diablo - used with a scratched face, but it works and is unmarried
SaleenFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 03:59 PM   #29
Registered User
Newbie
 
Goofas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Region: Texas
Posts: 17
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Price?
Goofas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:34 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
SaleenFiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Louisiana
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,318
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Shoot. I have no idea, I've had it for a while.
SaleenFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 10:32 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 22
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Hey RadStand I am going to use my virginity post on this one but I might be able to help you out. Does SCT have a program you start before you hook up the device? If so close the program down, right click on the icon (or make one on your desktop) and "Run as Administrator" (might have to hold shift when you right click to see the options). I have had several device problems and basic F ups with Vista for everything from games to watch interfaces. Usually that helps when you run the program as an administrator and for some reason it gives you full access to all the program and device functions. Let me know if this helps, it will be interesting to see if it works.
Starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 05:24 AM   #32
Registered User
Newbie
 
Goofas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Region: Texas
Posts: 17
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

SCT's poor customer service and the tuner dying have nothing to do with Vista. Most Vista issues are due to old hardware and not the OS.
__________________
2K9 GT with FRPP shortys, BBK CAI, BBK twin 62mm throttle body, Flowmaster American Thunder
Goofas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:54 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
RadStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Thanks Starfire, I actually tried that. NO better. I am gonna return the unit from where I bought it and try to get another one. Don't know what else to do as my vacation time is up and I am on west coast and they are on east coast I don't have the time to sit on hold in the early morning hours and they are closed by the time I get home in the evening. Geeze, NOTHING is easy, lol.
RadStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:01 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
SaleenFiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Louisiana
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,318
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

Actually I disagree, what bozo decided to mock up a new OS when XP SP2 was one of the greatest of the OS operating the world at the time. Vista should have never been born. XP to 7 should have been the path. Vista lacked compatibility with numerous programs and applications that plagued the industry upon it's release. If anything Vista should have been release later and closer to the finished design of 7.

Vista as an OS is to blame for 95% of the issues. It was like trying to use MAC in the 90s. Nothing worked with it.
SaleenFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:29 PM   #35
Registered User
Newbie
 
Goofas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Region: Texas
Posts: 17
Re: BUMMED with SCT tuner

I built 6 or 7 computers and used Vista 64 bit with 8gb of ram on each one and never had an an issue. I even used and old Canon scanner, SB LIVE! card, Hercules webcam, on and on and on. I guess I am just that awesome. Back to Mustangs shall we?
__________________
2K9 GT with FRPP shortys, BBK CAI, BBK twin 62mm throttle body, Flowmaster American Thunder
Goofas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sct tuner dd96stang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 6 04-09-2010 01:53 PM
sct tuner gains edross 1996-2004 Mustang GT 13 09-16-2009 09:53 PM
sct 2 tuner phastal 2005-2010 Mustang GT 19 06-05-2008 02:21 PM
SCT Tuner sonicpony03 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 03-08-2008 04:53 AM
WTB SCT TUNER!!!!! Cajun JungleBoy Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 0 04-23-2006 12:58 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:26 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.