Clutch - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-02-2011, 11:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Connecticut
Clutch

Just a typical noob question. How do you know when your clutch is going? It's my first manual car so I'm still new to it but it seems like it's bucking more than it used to. I never had a problem getting into first before but now I sometimes think it's in gear and then I speed up and it bucks...??? This has all started since I did the 93 race tune from bama. I just can't seem to consistently get a smooth start... Any help or tips on how I could get a smoother start into first would be most appreciated. The cars got 61000 miles on it with stock clutch btw....
I also don't want to go back to 87 tune because the extra power is just too fun! I think the quicker throttle response is screwing me up. I've also noticed that I have a hard time feeling the clutch engage. It catches really high too...
Any advice would be great! Thanks!

---------- Post added at 10:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:20 PM ----------

P.S. by "going" I mean how do I know when my clutch is wearing out. Lol
eouellette18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2011, 02:42 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: South Dakota
The bucking could be from the increased throttle response from the tune or the mods you did with your tune. Rapidly pressing and releasing the throttle to compensate for a new touchy throttle would cause that.
If your clutch is slipping, you'll notice the rpms shooting up but the car not moving as quickly as you would expect from the revs (more noise, less acceleration). You'll notice it most if you put your foot down hard, are going up hill, are in a higher gear, or a combination of those. Plus, you will definitely smell it when you get out of the car