I have a misfire.. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-03-2013, 12:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I have a misfire..

So I've been having alot of trouble here lately about a "misfire" on cylinder 5. It misses frequently and violently while idling but will stop at 2 grand.. Like completely stop and won't miss again. Wth? I put new plugs and it stopped for a week then started missing again. I tried a new coil pack on cylinder 5 and that didnt help so it's not that. I've resorted to thinking that the injector is stuck open but it leans out at 2 grand.. Injector cleaner doesn't help. Any suggestions? Tomorrow I'm taking the injectors out and sending them off to get new filters and seals.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2013, 02:15 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Have you ever put fuel additives in your before the misfires occured?
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:24 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stang.racr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 915
Does it have. Tuner or throwing any codes?
__________________
having a fine car that is slow is like having a hot girlfriend that won't put out!
Stang.racr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2013, 03:58 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
It through a misfire on 5 and I always run fuel treatment every few tanks and yes it has a Dyno tune
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:56 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
You are fouling out your plugs with the fuel additives causing you to misfire... I had the same problem, tried everything. Then my friend told to stop with the fuel additives and replace my plugs and it fixed my problem. Hope this helps.
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
You are fouling out your plugs with the fuel additives causing you to misfire... I had the same problem, tried everything. Then my friend told to stop with the fuel additives and replace my plugs and it fixed my problem. Hope this helps.
What do you mean fuel additives? Like injector cleaner and so on?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Yea all those. What kind of plugs are you running?
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:15 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Yea all those. What kind of plugs are you running?
Auto lite hto. One step colder heat range
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Yea i run the same plugs. That fixed my issue.
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:21 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Yea i run the same plugs. That fixed my issue.
Just get another set? And stop running additives?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:31 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Yea and it fixed my issue... hope it works for you
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:24 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Yea and it fixed my issue... hope it works for you
I hope it does too lol thanks alot man.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:28 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
No prob
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 01:08 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Did that work for you?
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 03:35 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Did that work for you?
I haven't had the chance to put the plugs in. I just been driving around running the injector cleaner out. Should be looking at it more Monday or so. Do you think maybe the plugs are gapped? I had the injectors cleaned and they were fine.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 05:50 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
If you bought the autolites again they are pregapped to .35 but i always check to see if it was correct. If you already ran out all the old fuel, you can install your new plugs
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:04 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
If you bought the autolites again they are pregapped to .35 but i always check to see if it was correct. If you already ran out all the old fuel, you can install your new plugs
So here's the deal.. It's not the injectors or the coils. So spark plug is all that's left unless its wiring or a whole in a vacuum hose. So your saying a new set of these plugs WILL PROBABLY do it?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:27 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Yea a new set of plugs will fix your issue
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:41 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Yea a new set of plugs will fix your issue
I really really hope your right.. I'm gonna switch a few plugs around to see if it starts missing with just one or two plugs
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:51 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
All the plugs that are in your car more than likely foul....i tried switch my plugs around and found out they were all fouled out....i bought a whole new set of 8 plugs and my issue of misfiring was gone
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:42 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
All the plugs that are in your car more than likely foul....i tried switch my plugs around and found out they were all fouled out....i bought a whole new set of 8 plugs and my issue of misfiring was gone
That was how long ago?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 04:14 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
6 months ago
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 04:46 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
6 months ago
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:25 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
6 months ago
Okay just making sure. Mine is only missing to 2000 RPM... Sound about right still?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:38 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Yea mine would misfire at 3500
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:47 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Yea mine would misfire at 3500
Shew alright man lol thanks alot. Ill post again if I have any questions and when I get them installed.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 06:03 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Ok man...it should fix your issue
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 04:07 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo.dargan1 View Post
Ok man...it should fix your issue
Hell yeah! I switched the plugs around and it stayed with the plug. So I plugged it up to a code reader and it said my o2 sensor was "stuck open" so I changed the o2 and the plug and it's running perfect! Thanks man for all your help.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 07:34 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Nice glad you were able to fix it.
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 11:28 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 50
have you tried tuning it?
ErikMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 12:47 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikMustang View Post
have you tried tuning it?
It's all done lol I fixed it
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 09:37 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Maraqt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Westchester
Region: New York
Posts: 61
I had the same problem! Wish I had seen this earlier before spending so much time playing around with her
Maraqt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:21 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.