05 4.6 GT trouble!! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-09-2013, 06:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
05 4.6 GT trouble!!

My dad's car is having some issues. What the car has done to it is a complete Kooks exhaust (long tube headers back), BBK throttle body, BBK CAI and a custom tune. For some reason the car throws random codes at any speed in any gear at any time. Theses are the codes that he keeps having pop up:

P0171, P0174 (system to lean bank 1/2)
P0420 P0430 (Catt system efficiency below threshold bank 1/2)
P1000 (OBD system readiness test not complete)

He went back to the guy that tuned the car and they had to send out the Diablo Sport tuner, to Johnny Lightening Racing to get re calibrated. Does anyone have any ideas of what could be going on here? The guy that tuned the car keeps putting it back on the dyno and all the numbers come up good. All if any info would be great. Thanks!!
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2013, 07:33 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMSPNKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Virginia
Posts: 53
Lmao did he get catted x pipe? If not thats why
GMSPNKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Yes it's catted
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2013, 08:40 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black on Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Perry, GA
Region: Georgia
Posts: 7,204
Posted in the Wrong section
Black on Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:41 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Moved
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 09:44 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Torchredfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: California
Posts: 779
Move
Torchredfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:59 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Davo_281GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bogalusa
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 326
Should've bought a BAMA Tuner.
__________________
"A mans reach should exceed his grasp."
Davo_281GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:09 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davo_281GT View Post
Should've bought a BAMA Tuner.
That would.have been his problem
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:26 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
That would.have been his problem
Why are these tuners not good? Was looking at them for my car..
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:27 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staytru06 View Post

Why are these tuners not good? Was looking at them for my car..
They are good. For basic boltons/ safe tune
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:29 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
That would.have been his problem
BAMA is not a good tuner? What do you recommend? (I'm sure everyone says good/bad things bout certain ones)

---------- Post added at 11:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:28 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
They are good. For basic boltons/ safe tune
Sorry for repeating my self stupid cell phone app. Thanks for the info tho.
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:31 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,258
Im not a fan of them. But for your basic boltons they are good. Im just not a fan of email tunes at all. Unless you datalog. Then at that time you could have just got a dyno tune.
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:33 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Makes sense guess ill have to keep that in mind when I'm ready to get one.
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:49 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Terminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 983
Well I'm bama tuned an tune after tune I get similar codes as you with my exhaust banks I just to live with it
Terminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:18 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
dylanmullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hereford
Region: Texas
Posts: 85
If its tuned right it dont matter what tuner you have those codes will go away. The p1000 is just a check of all systems. Once the tuning problem is fixed you can go drive it at 60mph for a few miles and the code will clear itself. A p1000 wont set cel
dylanmullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:36 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanmullins View Post
If its tuned right it dont matter what tuner you have those codes will go away. The p1000 is just a check of all systems. Once the tuning problem is fixed you can go drive it at 60mph for a few miles and the code will clear itself. A p1000 wont set cel
Well that's not true because the check engine light will come on and my dad will hook up the scanner and that's the only code that comes up sometimes..

---------- Post added at 07:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminator View Post
Well I'm bama tuned an tune after tune I get similar codes as you with my exhaust banks I just to live with it
Any explanation on why your getting the codes tho ?
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:43 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
dylanmullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hereford
Region: Texas
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staytru06 View Post

Well that's not true because the check engine light will come on and my dad will hook up the scanner and that's the only code that comes up sometimes..

---------- Post added at 07:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:35 PM ----------



Any explanation on why your getting the codes tho ?
Yeaaaaahh I know that's not right. For a fact. I've worked for Ford as a tech for almost 4 years now. A p1000 will not set a light. If the other problem isn't fixed the p1000 will not clear. (The only way to clear a p1000 is to go drive it)
dylanmullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:48 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanmullins View Post
Yeaaaaahh I know that's not right. For a fact. I've worked for Ford as a tech for almost 4 years now. A p1000 will not set a light. If the other problem isn't fixed the p1000 will not clear. (The only way to clear a p1000 is to go drive it)
Okay fair enough then lol do you know then why the other codes would be coming up then? I just asked my dad and he doesn't recall the rear o2's being turned off as ppl have stated.
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:59 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
dylanmullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hereford
Region: Texas
Posts: 85
Its gotta be a tuning issue.
dylanmullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 08:36 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
White03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hereford
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanmullins View Post
Yeaaaaahh I know that's not right. For a fact. I've worked for Ford as a tech for almost 4 years now. A p1000 will not set a light. If the other problem isn't fixed the p1000 will not clear. (The only way to clear a p1000 is to go drive it)
+1
White03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:10 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanmullins View Post
Its gotta be a tuning issue.
Yeah that's what he thinks as well but the guy has put it on the dyno a couple of times, done different tunes and like I said my dad even sent his tuner out to get re programmed. I told him try a different guy to tune the car see what happens.
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:46 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
dr.gsxr1000nos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 134
I would check over your wiring on the O2 sensor wires and make sure something isn't grounding out due to a broken/smashed/twisted/worn through wire. I had a 06 GT that a guy put a x pipe on and then had issues very similar to yours. I ended up finding he messed up his o2 sensor wiring and it was grounding out on and off. And no joke, this car was throwing the same codes if I remember correctly....
Before you guys start bashing me, have him take a look at the wiring.
Takes 5 minutes.
dr.gsxr1000nos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:57 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.gsxr1000nos View Post
I would check over your wiring on the O2 sensor wires and make sure something isn't grounding out due to a broken/smashed/twisted/worn through wire. I had a 06 GT that a guy put a x pipe on and then had issues very similar to yours. I ended up finding he messed up his o2 sensor wiring and it was grounding out on and off. And no joke, this car was throwing the same codes if I remember correctly.... Before you guys start bashing me, have him take a look at the wiring. Takes 5 minutes.
No bashing from me I'm a rookie with mustangs but I will deff have him check them out just to make sure. Thanks
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:48 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
stemar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: York PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.gsxr1000nos View Post
I would check over your wiring on the O2 sensor wires and make sure something isn't grounding out due to a broken/smashed/twisted/worn through wire. I had a 06 GT that a guy put a x pipe on and then had issues very similar to yours. I ended up finding he messed up his o2 sensor wiring and it was grounding out on and off. And no joke, this car was throwing the same codes if I remember correctly....
Before you guys start bashing me, have him take a look at the wiring.
Takes 5 minutes.
+1 check the wiring and plug also o2 sensors do go bad are you sure thats not the problem
__________________

Pypes shorties, BBK catted X, Flowmaster Pro's, K&N CAI, FRPP- P springs, Steeda UCA, J&M Panhard bar, Hurst Comp plus, FR500 Wheels W/NITTO's , SCT SF3 W/BAMA 93 Race tune, Pioneer TS-D6802R speakers, chin spoiler, Eleanor style grill, GT500 rear spoiler
stemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 09:16 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Staytru06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Carmel, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 102
So I had my father check the o2's and to the eye they seem fine no broken wire and any sign of fault, although I'm not sure you would be able to tell if it was broken by just looking at it. He's going to call the guy the dynoed the car on Monday and see what he says about turning off the rear o2's.
Staytru06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 08:12 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Blown05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Woodstock
Region: Georgia
Posts: 57
had same thing happen guy i was talking to had heads cams intake manifold shortys the shop he brought it to said they could not use the diablo tuner he had to buy a brand new sct tuner.. never heard then real reason
Blown05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 06:26 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 23
Quick question for you guys, how do you know your o2 sensors are bad? Is there a specific way of testing them? Here is why I'm asking : I have the P0171 and P0174 codes,I changed my mass air flow sensors twice,codes went away and came back after a week or so,it turned out my intake manifold was cracked which created the vacuum leak,I just had it changed.
Today the light came on again!!! Now it's just P0174 only. What's the problem now???? It's done this before were it gives me one code sometimes both. My plugs are new,fuel filter new,intake manifold air tight,a mechanic friend of mine says it might be an o2 sensor??? All help greatly appreciated!!!!!
Bluerings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 09:51 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
dylanmullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hereford
Region: Texas
Posts: 85
That could be a lot of stuff. Could be injector, o2, maf, hell it could just be that you air box isnt clipped on right. Hard to tell you where the problem is. And if you have a scanner or not

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
dylanmullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 10:49 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 23
I have a cold air intake and i'm not sure if the guy who owned it before me used a tuner, i do not think so since the intake is a K&N,from what i have seen it does not require a tune? correct?
Bluerings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:18 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lakeland
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,699
Send a message via AIM to Borii
Highflow cat can set off 02 codes as well. It is allowing more flow than the car is told to expect. Get defoulers and the issue will most likely be fixed.
__________________
SOLD - 06 GT 371WHP/332WTQ


Sold - 1998 Camaro SS
Sold - 2001 Audi S4
Borii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:46 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.