Exhaust Cracking?Popping Sound??? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-08-2013, 12:21 PM   #1

Region: New Jersey
Exhaust Cracking?Popping Sound???

Hi guys,

First, I am fairly new to my car. It is my first big boy purchase and I couldn't be happier. I have been driving it like an old lady lately though and decided I'd finally get on it a little bit to see what it has.

The car starts fine, idles fine, cruises fine, revs fine, and all around it seems to be healthy. My problem is that earlier when I decided to "see what it had" I would mash the gas pedal and for a moment (a second or two it seemed) the car would snap, crackle, and pop... like a V8 though, not a Rice Crispee. This noise did not sound loud like a backfire, and after that two to three second period the car would haul *** and move and sound like it is supposed to. Do you have any idea what the problem could be? If at all?

The car does have SLP exhaust, a Roush M90, and it's tuned... so I figured it would maybe run a tad rich but I am not sure which is why I'm on here. Just curious as I don't want to damage my car. Thanks.
Advertisement

Old 11-08-2013, 12:27 PM   #2

Also, I know I've seen threads like this before, but most are either vague or not very specific on the matter.
Old 11-08-2013, 12:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSleeper View Post
Also, I know I've seen threads like this before, but most are either vague or not very specific on the matter.
Its just back pressure from the exhaust! If you want to get rid of it, you need cats, resonators or a different, free flowing exhaust!
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-08-2013, 01:24 PM   #4