Progress on long tube headers install and step by step insall - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-01-2014, 09:53 PM   #36
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
My bad. I WONT have the chery bombs
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2014, 06:50 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
So today's update :

Got my sterring colum all back in and my motor mount in right. And removed the passenger motor mount.

Today I came across a problem with the driver side motor mount. The header is in the way when trying to screw the bolt back on. I fixed this by lifting the engine back up. And starting the bolt and slowly lowering the engine back down while I kept spinning the bolt. But my advice to anyone else doin this is to take a river mallet and finding right were header is ganan meet the bolt and give it a nice dent to give yourself soon room
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:27 AM   #38
Registered Member
Regular
 
stampde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manalapan
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,880
Just curious did the instructions recommend removing the engine mounts ?
I remember my friend put Kooks in his 07 , and he had very little problems , think he installed them on his back in the garage in around 4 or 5 hours
unlike my last header install in my old 03 Mach1 , witch took 3 , 6 or 7 hour days , never forget that nightmare ,
__________________
2011 GT Auto
stampde is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2014, 10:06 AM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
Torchredfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: California
Posts: 779
Only took me and my buddy 4hrs and with JBA LTs if you remove the mounts you get more clearances for the headers to go up under.
Torchredfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 02:33 PM   #40
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampde View Post
Just curious did the instructions recommend removing the engine mounts ?

I remember my friend put Kooks in his 07 , and he had very little problems , think he installed them on his back in the garage in around 4 or 5 hours

unlike my last header install in my old 03 Mach1 , witch took 3 , 6 or 7 hour days , never forget that nightmare ,

Yes they say it's a must

---------- Post added at 01:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:31 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchredfrankie View Post
Only took me and my buddy 4hrs and with JBA LTs if you remove the mounts you get more clearances for the headers to go up under.

The only reson I'm taking so long is cuz It's getting to dark to work at like 530 were I'm at and I work graveyard shifts as a firefighter
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 05:46 PM   #41
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
So today I only worked I it for like 30 mins

Just heads up for future installers the passenger side motor mount is a complete ***** to remove
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 07:10 PM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post
So today I only worked I it for like 30 mins

Just heads up for future installers the passenger side motor mount is a complete ***** to remove
Mine was easy and fully accessible!
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:37 PM   #43
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08mustanggt View Post
Mine was easy and fully accessible!

I have somewhat big hands and the passenger motor mount was a lot harder then the driver side. But the header bolts are a lot Easyer to get to
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:38 PM   #44
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post

I have somewhat big hands and the passenger motor mount was a lot harder then the driver side. But the header bolts are a lot Easyer to get to
I have fairly large hands also and mine were easy on both sides. Maybe because I took my valve cover off before i did them!
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 11:51 PM   #45
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Ok guys I'm getting up early tommorw and I'm finally ganna finish
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:58 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
I need help guys!!!! My car turns over but won't stay started. The only thing I can think of is I messed up on extending the 02 sensors
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:27 PM   #47
Registered Member
Regular
 
Torchredfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: California
Posts: 779
Hmm are they both hooked up right?
Torchredfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:35 PM   #48
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchredfrankie View Post
Hmm are they both hooked up right?

The 02 sensors have 2 white wires and that was my only idea. I went and changed them around and still nothing
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:37 PM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Possibly a tune??

---------- Post added at 07:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:37 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post
The 02 sensors have 2 white wires and that was my only idea. I went and changed them around and still nothing

Does it start and keep running if you rev it? Or does it run for a bit and just shut off?
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:44 PM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redsvtcobra View Post
Possibly a tune??

---------- Post added at 07:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:37 PM ----------

i haven't even loaded my tune yet. Could that be it? And what happens is it starts and shuts off right away


Does it start and keep running if you rev it? Or does it run for a bit and just shut off?


---------- Post added at 05:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:44 PM ----------

I haven't loaded the tune yet could that be it? And it's starts and instantly shuts off
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:46 PM   #51
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post


---------- Post added at 05:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:44 PM ----------

I haven't loaded the tune yet could that be it? And it's starts and instantly shuts off

If you rev it up does it stay running? If it does it could be a tune, or the idle is really low and it bogs down. If it's not that I would call some experts. I have a company you could call that specializes in mustangs. They did all the work on my car.
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 07:05 PM   #52
Registered Member
Regular
 
Torchredfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: California
Posts: 779
I used my JBAs with no tune had no problem double check for exhaust leaks from the head. And get ngk O2s for the front 2, the 2 rear don't matter.
Torchredfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 07:10 PM   #53
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchredfrankie View Post
I used my JBAs with no tune had no problem double check for exhaust leaks from the head. And get ngk O2s for the front 2, the 2 rear don't matter.

That would work! Most people who get headers get a dyno tune because of the difference in air flow. They will tune you're fuel/air ratio
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 07:55 PM   #54
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Ok guys it stays started if I rev it. Good thing right?
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 07:58 PM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post
Ok guys it stays started if I rev it. Good thing right?

It's good/bad. It helps narrow down what could be wrong! You know it'll start and stay running if you rev it. So your idle could be to low, your fuel/air ratio could be off (pretty common after getting new headers) or some other problem. But start simple and assume your idle went down. Will it stay running if you hold the rpm at about 1000? If not I would say it's your fuel/air. The best thing to do is take it to a shop and have them tune it. It can get pricy but it'll be with it if they make it run right
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 07:59 PM   #56
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redsvtcobra View Post
It's good/bad. It helps narrow down what could be wrong! You know it'll start and stay running if you rev it. So your idle could be to low, your fuel/air ratio could be off (pretty common after getting new headers) or some other problem. But start simple and assume your idle went down. Will it stay running if you hold the rpm at about 1000? If not I would say it's your fuel/air. The best thing to do is take it to a shop and have them tune it. It can get pricy but it'll be with it if they make it run right

I'm ganna load my bama tune and go from there I'll have another up date in about 10 mins
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:00 PM   #57
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Sounds good!
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:10 PM   #58
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redsvtcobra View Post
Sounds good!

Ok bama tune loaded and same things happining. It starts and the idle drops and it shuts off again . It sounds like I have cams almost. But it is open headers right now. How can I adjust idle
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:16 PM   #59
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post
Ok bama tune loaded and same things happining. It starts and the idle drops and it shuts off again . It sounds like I have cams almost. But it is open headers right now. How can I adjust idle

Bolt the exhaust back up and try it from there. It should help some. And that's something I've never really messed with. If you hold the rpms at 1000 does it stay running? If it does try to hold them around 800. If it holds at 800 rpms then I would say adjust your idle to 800. If it shuts off when you hold it at 800 then it has to be something else

---------- Post added at 09:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:14 PM ----------

Shoot me a text! And send a video if you can. 9127041567
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:19 PM   #60
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redsvtcobra View Post
Bolt the exhaust back up and try it from there. It should help some. And that's something I've never really messed with. If you hold the rpms at 1000 does it stay running? If it does try to hold them around 800. If it holds at 800 rpms then I would say adjust your idle to 800. If it shuts off when you hold it at 800 then it has to be something else

---------- Post added at 09:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:14 PM ----------

Shoot me a text! And send a video if you can. 9127041567

Adjusted idle to 900. I'll send u a video right now
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:20 PM   #61
Registered Member
Regular
 
Redsvtcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 230
Alright. Does it idle now? Without cutting off?
Redsvtcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:26 PM   #62
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Yes but it sound wired

---------- Post added at 07:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:24 PM ----------

Fells like engine is shaking and sounds like a very aggressive cam. Maby I'm just panicking
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:46 PM   #63
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
http://youtu.be/PdffvisC89Y pacesetter open longtube headers!!!!!
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:17 AM   #64
Registered Member
Regular
 
foxbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 269
Maybe you disconnected some vacuum lines or wires when you removed and lifted the motor mounts during your header install
foxbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:26 AM   #65
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbox View Post
Maybe you disconnected some vacuum lines or wires when you removed and lifted the motor mounts during your header install

Maby I could see that

---------- Post added at 11:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:22 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbox View Post
Maybe you disconnected some vacuum lines or wires when you removed and lifted the motor mounts during your header install

What ones? And we're would I check
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:32 AM   #66
Registered Member
Regular
 
foxbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 269
Any and all vacuum lines that are connected to the intake manifold, have a another person listen for any vacuum leaks while you rev the engine.
foxbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:33 AM   #67
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbox View Post
Any and all vacuum lines that are connected to the intake manifold, have a another person listen for any vacuum leaks while you rev the engine.
My oil catch can is still of on the driver side...
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:39 AM   #68
Registered Member
Regular
 
foxbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post

My oil catch can is still of on the driver side...
Hook it all up!!! Lol
foxbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:39 AM   #69
Registered Member
Regular
 
Luna1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Region: Utah
Posts: 805
That might be a good idea
Luna1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:47 AM   #70
Registered Member
Regular
 
foxbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luna1994 View Post
That might be a good idea
yeah thats considered a vacuum leak if that not hooked up, this is why your motor sounds cammed
foxbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:53 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.