Miscellaneous turbo kit questions - Page 3 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-20-2014, 02:51 AM   #71
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Where can i get a coupler?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2014, 04:17 AM   #72
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
http://Siliconeintakes.com/

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:18 AM   #73
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Great products and priced rìght

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2014, 04:19 AM   #74
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
So what exactly do I need here?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 05:21 AM   #75
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
http://www.siliconeintakes.com/produ...bb439e9a3227b2

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app

---------- Post added at 07:21 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:20 AM ----------

They also have it in red or blue

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 02:07 AM   #76
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
So I shouldn't need another coupler from what i hear. But i wont worry with that until i get the turbo in and all that. Honestly I'm more worried about this tranny deal, I'm going with a 6060 swap but it's just a matter of saving up.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:13 AM   #77
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post
So I shouldn't need another coupler from what i hear. But i wont worry with that until i get the turbo in and all that. Honestly I'm more worried about this tranny deal, I'm going with a 6060 swap but it's just a matter of saving up.
How much horse are you going to run on the stock tranny?
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 11:01 PM   #78
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I'm not using the stock tranny. I'm doing a 6060 swap. And I'm hoping to get right at 600 to the tires.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:31 AM   #79
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post
I'm not using the stock tranny. I'm doing a 6060 swap. And I'm hoping to get right at 600 to the tires.
You shouldn't need a tr6060 for 600 horsepower. I've talked to a couple reputable places here and they said that using their 3560, they havent broken them (on 600-700 horse). I guess it all depends on how you're using it and if you're doing hard launches on a slick/radial while hooking up.
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 07:14 PM   #80
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
+1 ive seen it in person

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:44 AM   #81
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I'm on a 305 Mickey Thompson and I'm launching.. I've had a ton of issues out if my 3650. I've fixed it twice and replaced it once, and now I've had problems out of this one. You couldn't pay me to keep the 3650 in this car.. Had too many problems.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:21 AM   #82
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Sounds like you got a bad batch of trans... You either rebuild it or get a new trans like a tr6060/t56 transmissions

---------- Post added at 09:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:19 AM ----------

What were your issues with your 3560

---------- Post added at 09:21 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:20 AM ----------

3650
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:34 AM   #83
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Second gear and third gear! It's just sloppy
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:41 AM   #84
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Oh ok are you using stock shifter?
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:45 AM   #85
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
No. Have a Barton.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:03 PM   #86
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Havent seen that problem with a aftermarket shifter… but you can rebuild the trans or buy a t56 or tr6060

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:37 AM   #87
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Yeah I'm looking at a 6060. But he'll probably want the price of gold for it.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 04:17 AM   #88
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
How much is he asking

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 03:10 PM   #89
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I don't know just yet. I'm getting the pictures first before I ask him.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 09:35 PM   #90
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alonzo.dargan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 273
Oh ok

Sent from my SHV-E120S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Alonzo.dargan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:50 PM   #91
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Considering I already have 7 thousand dollars in parts and still like a lot more, I'm looking to take the "easier route" and save myself some money on the motor build. I'm thinking about keeping the stock heads the way they are but just upgrading the valve train, as well as keeping the stock cams. I know I'll have to run more boost to get the same amount of power, but will this effect longevity? More turbo lag? Problems down the road?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:57 PM   #92
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post
Considering I already have 7 thousand dollars in parts and still like a lot more, I'm looking to take the "easier route" and save myself some money on the motor build. I'm thinking about keeping the stock heads the way they are but just upgrading the valve train, as well as keeping the stock cams. I know I'll have to run more boost to get the same amount of power, but will this effect longevity? More turbo lag? Problems down the road?
The stock heads are perfectly fine for your application and in all honesty, dont even need to be upgraded on these cars. As far as valve train, that doesnt even need to be upgraded for the application so thats some more saved money. Also, stock cams are completely acceptable and are only replaced by custom turbo cams for the turboed cars. No longevity will be affected. Also, turbo lag wouldnt be affected.
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 10:03 PM   #93
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08mustanggt View Post
The stock heads are perfectly fine for your application and in all honesty, dont even need to be upgraded on these cars. As far as valve train, that doesnt even need to be upgraded for the application so thats some more saved money. Also, stock cams are completely acceptable and are only replaced by custom turbo cams for the turboed cars. No longevity will be affected. Also, turbo lag wouldnt be affected.
Thanks a lot! But, considering I've had multiple issues with the stock valve train in my cam-only car, I think I'll at least do that much. Better safe than sorry!
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 10:09 PM   #94
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post

Thanks a lot! But, considering I've had multiple issues with the stock valve train in my cam-only car, I think I'll at least do that much. Better safe than sorry!
If you dont mind spending the money, I say go for it! Always safe than sorry! Im going to be running an interesting combo this summer with a turbo with 21 lbs of boost, frpp hot rod cams and a 3.55 gear!
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 10:12 PM   #95
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I thought about switching the gear ratio out, but considering the stock gear is nice and tall, I'll want tall for a turbo car. It'll have some track time, but mostly for the street and roll racing.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:35 AM   #96
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post
I thought about switching the gear ratio out, but considering the stock gear is nice and tall, I'll want tall for a turbo car. It'll have some track time, but mostly for the street and roll racing.
I had 3.55 stock with the car haha
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 04:09 AM   #97
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Miscellaneous turbo kit questions

I know this is probably beat to death? But how exactly does a two step work? I know it cuts spark and not fuel.. I know you set it to a certain rpm and activate it, push the clutch in and stomp the gas, and it stops at whatever rpm you want it to, then I release the clutch and launch. But how do you engage it? Does it come with a switch and a little light?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 08:54 AM   #98
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post
I know this is probably beat to death? But how exactly does a two step work? I know it cuts spark and not fuel.. I know you set it to a certain rpm and activate it, push the clutch in and stomp the gas, and it stops at whatever rpm you want it to, then I release the clutch and launch. But how do you engage it? Does it come with a switch and a little light?
There two ways to engage it dependant on how you set it up. You can hop it up to a button like a shift know button and then press it in and gas it, or, you you rev it up to yhe set revs, let the revs drops 1000 rpm and then gas it and it will engage. For example, if it is set at 3000 rpm, rev to 3000, let it gal to 2000 and then gas it!
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 08:05 PM   #99
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I think I would rather set it to a button like an on and off button. So that I could hit the button, and it light up, then push the clutch and gas in, and let the clutch engage the 2 step (when I dump the clutch it will launch) and I would have to hit the button again for the two step to activate. Seems a lot easier that way
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:20 PM   #100
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1395285489.576735.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	587.0 KB
ID:	151205Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1395285506.740145.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	425.2 KB
ID:	151206
Here are a couple photos of the gauges from Speedhut! They look awesome. They light up red at nite and white in day time. I have also just ordered a MSD launch master 2 step that I will be putting on the car ASAP!
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 10:33 PM   #101
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
I have run into quite an amount of trouble trying to hook up my 2 step. Hooked everything up except for 2 wires, and I only use one of them for either a switch or the clutch trigger switch. But I cannot find a place to feed it through the firewall! It's a manual so I can't see the hole below the clutch. Any help?
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:33 AM   #102
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post
I have run into quite an amount of trouble trying to hook up my 2 step. Hooked everything up except for 2 wires, and I only use one of them for either a switch or the clutch trigger switch. But I cannot find a place to feed it through the firewall! It's a manual so I can't see the hole below the clutch. Any help?
There's a little rubber grommet by the heater hoses!
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:34 AM   #103
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08mustanggt View Post
There's a little rubber grommet by the heater hoses!
It seems to be too high up for me to find it under the dash.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:35 AM   #104
Registered Member
Regular
 
08mustanggt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: milton
Region: Canada
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham1992 View Post

It seems to be too high up for me to find it under the dash.
There's also a place to run it on the inside of the wheel well on the driver side i believe
08mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:41 AM   #105
Registered Member
Regular
 
Graham1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tompkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08mustanggt View Post
There's also a place to run it on the inside of the wheel well on the driver side i believe
That is the one I'm shooting for. But I didnt have enough time to jack up to car so I'll do it monday night. Another question. I hooked everything up except for the wire to the clutch trigger switch. And i cranked the car to move it forward and I noticed a really bad misfire.. I'm hoping that it was just one of the connectors wasn't plugged in all the way but i didn't know if this was any problem or worry with the 2 step.
Graham1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:58 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.