Thinking of purchasing a used 05-07 Mustang - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-10-2014, 11:56 PM   #1

Region: Florida
Thinking of purchasing a used 05-07 Mustang

So yeah I'm thinking of getting one, my car was recently repossessed after some economical woes, I simply couldn't pay anymore, however things are looking up and a large sum of money is coming my way just in time to alleviate any problems that a lack of car would cause by being my new car money.

I couldn't help but notice how affordable 05-07 Mustangs are, however there are a few things I need to hear from drivers more experienced then myself.

To start off I'm very worried about handling issues, I've been driving for only two years but for my first car I drove 2 and a half hours back on a 70 MPH highway in a heavy rainstorm to get it home and I've made many long distance drives.

I've never had an accident of any sort and I consider myself a calm, responsible, and level headed driver. That said the only two cars I've ever driven are a 2004 Honda Accord (My fathers) and a 2006 Honda Civic Coupe. Obviously these two cars are much simpler to drive and don't require much thought or caution. A V6 Mustang on the other hand worries me.

What problems should I expect to face? Often in the rain with my Honda I would drive roughly the same speed I did in sunny weather provided that my visibility wasn't obscured by heavier rain. I hear that an inexperienced driver can easily lose control on wet roads with a Mustang though.

At times I've also turned corners at 20 or 30 mph in order to say, make my right of way known to some less considerate drivers. I also tend to be aggressive and quickly pass slow drivers that are driving below the speed limit.