Mustang GT RUNS ROUGH AFTER TUNE - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-15-2014, 04:10 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Mustang GT RUNS ROUGH AFTER TUNE

Hi Guys, I have an 05 GT and i bought an act itsx thru AM. I loaded the 91 Race tune and it wouldn't start. I called SCT and they had to force it back to ford factory stock tune. So i loaded that on the tuner re programmed that and it started. After that I loaded the 91 Race Tune and it was running extremely rich and the car sounded cammed, so i loaded street tune and it too was running rich and running bad and wouldn't even start at first.

So I put it back to the stock tune but its running lean now, Engine light came on. I was looking for some advice on what to do, Thanks

By the Way Mods are: Airaid CAI, BBK Twin 62mm TB, BBK Long Tube Headers, Flowmaster Axle-Back, X-Pipe & High Flow Cats
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2014, 04:30 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
silvr002001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Washington
Posts: 270
keep a line of communication open with American muscle about your problems. You bought a product brand new from them and tune is clearly not correct. They should take care of it for you.


Tvs 2300/ 452rwhp 416rwtq
silvr002001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 04:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
boink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pasadena
Region: Maryland
Posts: 159
If your tune includes the Airaid CAI, make sure you have removed the venturi tube that allows it run stock without a tune. I had the same issue with my Roush CAI after it was tuned...


Part #3 on this diagram...
http://www.americanmuscle.com/airaid...t-install.html
__________________
2007 Mustang GT/CS Convertible - AT - Redfire
Bama 91R-V2 Tune - Roush CAI - FRPP GTA Axlebacks - 3.31 Gears
boink is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2014, 04:50 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Region: Iowa
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by boink View Post
If your tune includes the Airaid CAI, make sure you have removed the venturi tube that allows it run stock without a tune. I had the same issue with my Roush CAI after it was tuned...


Part #3 on this diagram...
http://www.americanmuscle.com/airaid...t-install.html

Good advice! I bought a cold air intake that "required a tune" but it came with a tube inside the tube that limited the air flow to factory levels ( not sure how you get ANY benefit from that?)

So in short the tune told the car it should be getting more air but because the cold air intake had the "air restriction tube" in place it couldn't get the air it needed. Forcing it to run poorly.

If not this then somebody botched your tune and you should ask for new ones. Takes all of 10 minutes from start to finish.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Cbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:27 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
So I talked to sct and found out car already had a tune on it, most likely why it wouldnt start to begin with. But even tho they put the stock tune back to ford factory stock, why would it run bad after i load the custom tunes. Guess they are just bad tunes. Im going to call bama after i come back to town, leaving tomorrow. See what they have to say. Ill keep u guys posted, Thanks
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:38 PM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
But even before i got the tuner the car ran fine, smooth and fast. Could that really be the problem with the bone stock tune even tho it ran fine before?
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:45 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Scan for the trouble code. It may give you a clue as to what is going on.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:02 PM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
Scan for the trouble code. It may give you a clue as to what is going on.
So i scanned trouble code. Code is p2270, i googled it and says o2 sensor signal stuck lean bank 1 sensor 2 I figured it would start running lean being on stock tune with all the mods
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:12 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Try disconnecting the battery for 15 minutes to clear the codes and then let it sit there and idle for about 15 minutes to relearn the idle. Then drive it and see if that code comes back.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:18 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
Try disconnecting the battery for 15 minutes to clear the codes and then let it sit there and idle for about 15 minutes to relearn the idle. Then drive it and see if that code comes back.
Ok ill see if i can do that tomorrow before i leave. Thanks so much for your help
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:31 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
boink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pasadena
Region: Maryland
Posts: 159
I've gotten the lean bank code before. Cleaned my maf sensor and throttle body and it hasn't come back.


Sent from my microwave
__________________
2007 Mustang GT/CS Convertible - AT - Redfire
Bama 91R-V2 Tune - Roush CAI - FRPP GTA Axlebacks - 3.31 Gears
boink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:58 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Region: Iowa
Posts: 456
Tune the car back to stock and then unplug the battery for 15-30 minutes. Then start it up. That combination should not only reset the car to stock but also force it to forget and re-learn fuel trims.

If it's running fine again, which it most likely will, you can conclude the tunes were the issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Cbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 11:23 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Im out of town right now ill try to d/c battery and relearn idle when i get back. Should be back tomorrow. Thanks guys for your feedback
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:27 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Ok,reconnted the battery and is running stock tune. Drove it around and engine light came on again. Im going to see if bama can send me new tunes
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 01:26 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
The stock tune would not cause this.
An exhaust leak or an air intake leak can cause this code. It's probably most often caused by the removal of the catalytic converters, but I see that you have some high flow cats... Do you ever wonder what makes them "high flow"? It's because they have less of the ceramic material inside ot them for the exhaust gasses to flow through. Hence, they burn out and stop working much faster than the factory units. So don't rule that out.
Someone also mentioned a dirty MAF as another possible cause.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 05:16 PM   #16
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
That code means its running lean right? So with it on the stock tune and with all the mods on the car that seems possible. The car ran fine before i even got the tuner, now its doing all this. I thought it was throwing that code because its running lean.
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 11:37 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Maybe... Maybe not.
The computer may just think that it's running lean. As I mentioned before, any un-metered air from an intake leak can cause this. Also, an exhaust leak can be a possible cause. A bad catalytic converter will cause this code to occur.
Whatever the cause, it seems to only be affecting the passenger side (bank1) of your engine which is why I find it unlikely that the tune is the cause.
I'd inspect the passenger side exhaust for any signs of a leak.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 11:41 AM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
Maybe... Maybe not.
The computer may just think that it's running lean. As I mentioned before, any un-metered air from an intake leak can cause this. Also, an exhaust leak can be a possible cause. A bad catalytic converter will cause this code to occur.
Whatever the cause, it seems to only be affecting the passenger side (bank1) of your engine which is why I find it unlikely that the tune is the cause.
I'd inspect the passenger side exhaust for any signs of a leak.
But why would it be a an intake or exhaust leak now, even tho before i got the tuner the car ran fine and never threw any trouble codes. Thanks for the help
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 12:20 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Lol.
Who knows?
Computers and machines... They work perfectly right up to the moment when they stop working entirely.
It's possible that the downstream 02 sensors were tuned off in that tune that you bought the car with.
Do you live in an area that requires emissions testing?
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 01:12 PM   #20
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
Lol.
Who knows?
Computers and machines... They work perfectly right up to the moment when they stop working entirely.
It's possible that the downstream 02 sensors were tuned off in that tune that you bought the car with.
Do you live in an area that requires emissions testing?
Yes
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 01:14 PM   #21
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Im just going to have to call SCT or Bama, I've been busy and haven't gotten the chance
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 02:38 PM   #22
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 17
Hi guys, i called sct and put it back to the old tune its running great again. Thanks for all you guys feedback.
GT Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 05:19 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 112
That's why I never trust mail in tunes y9u have someone that is under educated and seriously just makes checks on a checklist and isn't correct or makes a mistake. Take it to a real shop that knows what's going on. 5 years ago I got a tune form bama and my 01 did the same thing had to take it to dallas mustang to get fixed since then I take both cars to dallas mustang and get it tuned runs perfect

Sent from my SM-N900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
dude0715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car runs rough Liebert91stang General Mustang Discussion 5 08-16-2013 04:00 PM
Disconnected Battery now runs rough bradh2414 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 08-01-2013 08:40 PM
02 GT runs rough with AC on Ckennedy121 1996-2004 Mustang GT 10 05-07-2013 09:10 AM
>>>>1965 mustang 289<< help!!! runs rough!!? bao Classic Mustangs 1 08-24-2009 03:22 AM
Rough Idle and Rough Start Cajun JungleBoy Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 04-23-2006 11:33 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



03:17 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.