Camshaft Phaser ??? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-12-2014, 01:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Arizona
Camshaft Phaser ???

Hi all,
New to the 05-09 Forum. Been on the 87-95 5.0 for a while though.
I'm new to the Modular 4.6 Engine & all I've ever worked on is push rod motors.
Anyways, I recently bought an 08 GT. A few days ago I started hearing some tapping like it was low on oil....but oil was full. So I figured it might be a lifter or something so I took the car to my local Ford Dealer & had it checked out. They said the Cam Phasers were bad & that's whats causing the noise. They say it wont hurt anything...it's just noisy. According to them it's a common problem on these motors & it's not covered under Ford's Power Train Warranty because it wont hurt anything.
Has anyone had this issue ??? Anyone know anything about it ?
The noise will drive me crazy if I can't get rid of it. From what I've read on it ....
Most the time the noise came back again after a while when people replaced the phasers.
Has anyone tried the Cam Phaser Lockouts ? Do they work ?
Hellish Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-12-2014, 04:16 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Ohio
I wonder if that is the noise I am hearing. Is it most noticeable at idle? Thats when I notice mine.
Mark221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 09:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Get some lockouts and your done

Sent from my SM-N900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
dude0715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-12-2014, 11:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular