Supercharger question - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-15-2016, 06:15 PM   #1

Region: Florida
Supercharger question

Greetings! I’m new to the forum, and would love to get some opinions on something that I’m considering for my 2010 Mustang GT.

First, let me start by saying that I’m not an expert (at all) on Mustangs, or cars in general. I’m approaching you guys as someone completely new to performance cars. I bought a used Mustang in June of last year – it was somebody’s baby. Right now, it’s got about 84,000 miles on it. The previous owner put an Airaid cold air intake system into it, but as far as I can tell, everything else is stock. I bought it based on how it drove when I tested it. Immediately after purchasing it, I took it to a mechanic to verify that it has no issues (it didn’t.) So far, it’s been awesome.

I’m considering purchasing a supercharger for it – specifically, a Vortech centrifugal charger. I would be purchasing the complete kit. One of these is what I’m thinking: 2005-2010 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L 3V Supercharging Systems | Vortech Superchargers

I have done tons of research and asked countless people about doing it. I have poured through the forums on various websites and have received mixed advice from friends who are more knowledgeable than me, and I am torn. My budget is about $8,000, which would cover the labor and the kit itself. I do not, however, have money to rebuild the engine if it blows, and this is my daily driver. I would have to buy a beater and would be unable to completely rebuild the engine in this Mustang if forced induction results in me ruining the engine – this baby would be an expensive yard decoration for an indeterminate amount of time should that occur. I absolutely do not want that to happen.