Poly bushings binding or pinion angle problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-25-2016, 09:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida
Poly bushings binding or pinion angle problem

Hello everyone

I'm having some problems on acceleration which I've narrowed down to either a bad pinion angle or poly bushing binding. I replaced my upper and lower control arms as well as the differential bushing, but here's the whole story.

So recently my 2008 GT started having a really bad wheel hop problem. It was bad enough to where the car was effectively undriveable. I am a newbie when it comes to suspension but I first replaced my upper control arm to Whitelines adjustable upper arm (most people would have probably started with the easier to replace lowers) and that solved the problem temporary.

Now, I never noted down the original pinion angle when I had the stock upper control arm on, and I didn't make much effort to adjust the Whiteline upper properly either. Honestly with the crush tube, as some of you may know, there's not too much room for adjustability anyways, plus I figured that the two piece driveshaft would account for any angle difference. Keep in mind I'm also at a stock ride hight here.
Well I was wrong, and I noticed a huge loss of power on acceleration. I also noticed a loud whining sound. I knew the arm was extended fully at the time, and unfortunately Whiteline's arm is only adjustable when it's off the car. So I had to drop the fuel tank and all of that jazz again and this time I put the arm at it's shortest length, which is only at a one inch difference from it's longest length. The car drove better than before with no huge loss of power or whining sound, so that one inch made a whole lot of difference.