My 2006 Stang is throwing a 0340 code - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-23-2016, 05:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
My 2006 Stang is throwing a 0340 code

I changed my plugs on my 28,000 mile vert a couple weeks ago, it then sat because of bad weather. After I got it out it through a 0340 code, I think that's it, well it said it was some cam sensor, I've not had any problems before the plugs. I cleared the code and drove it daily, nothing. Then it sat for a few days and threw the code again, I cleared it, but I'm puzzled, it runs great, I have a Bama Tune, under drive pullies and fresh air, any ideas ????
I'm new to these computer controlled cars and am learning as I go, my last car was a 427 Chevelle, so I'm kinda lost !

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2016, 06:52 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular
 
Recon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hopkinsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 6,507
My 2006 Stang is throwing a 0340 code

Plugs properly gapped and torqued during install? Figured get that out of the way before digging deeper.


Respect the Classics.
__________________
Mustangalley.com
Mustang of the day,
July 12, 2015
Recon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 07:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Geiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cumberland Md
Region: Maryland
Posts: 294
Bad cam phaser?
__________________
2008 GT/CS , 17k original miles, bagged with airlift v2, cammed, and some bolt ons.
Geiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2016, 07:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
I didn't gap the plugs, thought that was done at the factory. Is there a special tool for that ? I'm new to these cars, what should I torque them at, I did tight and then a quarter turn......


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 12:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:33 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geiger View Post
Bad cam phaser?


There was no problems till I did the plugs.......
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 07:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Recon View Post
Plugs properly gapped and torqued during install? Figured get that out of the way before digging deeper.


Respect the Classics.


It only seems to throw the code after sitting for a couple days......
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 09:01 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyOnTheBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Clearwater Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 266
I had the same code for a while and My car behaved the same way. I replaced both cam position sensors but I kept getting the code. It would only come on once or twice a month so I just ignored it and kept clearing the code. Then roughly six months after getting the first code my alternator went bad and I replaced it. Oddly enough I haven't gotten the code since replacing the alternator.
PonyOnTheBeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 09:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonyOnTheBeach View Post
I had the same code for a while and My car behaved the same way. I replaced both cam position sensors but I kept getting the code. It would only come on once or twice a month so I just ignored it and kept clearing the code. Then roughly six months after getting the first code my alternator went bad and I replaced it. Oddly enough I haven't gotten the code since replacing the alternator.
Hmm, interesting, I'll keep that in mind, thanks.....

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 11:45 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bolivia
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 52
My wife's 05 did same thing it's the diode in the alternator . Get a good new or rebiuilt one and you will be fine. The
1970Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 11:49 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bolivia
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 52
The camshaft position sensor is like $45.00 from ford. Don't get an after market we did for the first 2 and it really was running worst and missing after we changed them. Yay to find out it was the alternator.
1970Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 06:25 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
RCrumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 51
What plugs did you install, hopefully Champion Double Platinum #7989, anything cooler and they'll throw a code on your mods. Certainly need to gap the plugs, if not again thrown codes. To gap you need a feeler gage, watch on Youtube how to do it. It's simple but important. Start here before digging deeper. Good luck.
RCrumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 10:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
SangheiliSpecOp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Saint Cloud
Region: Florida
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1970Ronnie View Post
My wife's 05 did same thing it's the diode in the alternator . Get a good new or rebiuilt one and you will be fine. The
This. It's a known problem, The 05 to 09 S197 Mustang GTs have a very sensitive computer and sensors. When a diode in the alternators go bad, it sends out too much A/C current which starts to mess with all of the electronic systems. The camshaft position sensors throwing a code are usually the first sign of a failing alternator, as the sensors themselves will rarely if ever go bad.

My old alternator on my 2008 GT got bad enough to where it made the whole driver side bank of cylinders misfire and I couldn't drive the car at all until I got a new alternator. Now my current alternator is giving me BOTH camshaft position sensor codes and my throttle response is jerky/hesitant at times. Ugh... good alternators are so expensive. You have to be careful what you buy because if you get a rebuilt alternator, it may CHARGE your system, but can still have a bad diode and will still throw your electronics off.
__________________
2008 Windveil Blue Manual GT. BAMA 91 Performance Tune. LED Starter Button, Retro Shift Knob, SLP Loudmouth Exhaust, Ebay CAI LOL, MMD Quarter Window Louvers, Roush Rear Spoiler, Raxiom Gen5 Taillights, LED Third Brake light, MMD Hood Louvers, MRT Rear window louvers, Exedy Stage 2 Clutch, Exedy Lightweight Flywheel, SR Performance Stainless Steel Braided Clutch Line, Dot 5.1 brake fluid ftw, JLT Oil Separator, SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, SR Performance Rear Shock Tower Brace, Triton V3 Switchback turnsignals... etc etc
SangheiliSpecOp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 08:24 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCrumb View Post
What plugs did you install, hopefully Champion Double Platinum #7989, anything cooler and they'll throw a code on your mods. Certainly need to gap the plugs, if not again thrown codes. To gap you need a feeler gage, watch on Youtube how to do it. It's simple but important. Start here before digging deeper. Good luck.
I put in autocraft HT0's, its what American muscle said was an step up.
I'm putting the old plugs back, only had 28,000, I cleaned them and I'll put anti - seize on em and see if the code comes back.
Thanks to everyone !


Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 08:07 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
RCrumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 51
HTO's are the wrong plug for our car's GT 4.6L, their one temp cooler and eventually and in short order throw codes. I learned the hard way to. Cheers
RCrumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 12:39 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCrumb View Post
HTO's are the wrong plug for our car's GT 4.6L, their one temp cooler and eventually and in short order throw codes. I learned the hard way to. Cheers
Well, American Muscle F-up then, I wonder if thell give me a refund, ya right.


Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 01:08 PM   #15
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by angrymike1 View Post
Well, American Muscle F-up then, I wonder if thell give me a refund, ya right.


Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
I'm almost certain they will. Message amalexlazarus on here and see if he can help.

Sent from my VS985 4G using Mustang Evolution mobile app
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 02:02 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
rmb427r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 392
Interesting thread. Mike, post up and let us know the outcome.

Good luck


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
Ron..

2008 Roush 427R
2014 V6 Prem
rmb427r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 10:23 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmb427r View Post
Interesting thread. Mike, post up and let us know the outcome.

Good luck


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Well, put old plugs back in, ran for a bit then threw the dang code again, I feel something at idle, its a shuddering. Never had any problems before changing plugs, any ideas guys ?
It's the 340 code...... Help an old man

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 10:25 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SangheiliSpecOp View Post
This. It's a known problem, The 05 to 09 S197 Mustang GTs have a very sensitive computer and sensors. When a diode in the alternators go bad, it sends out too much A/C current which starts to mess with all of the electronic systems. The camshaft position sensors throwing a code are usually the first sign of a failing alternator, as the sensors themselves will rarely if ever go bad.

My old alternator on my 2008 GT got bad enough to where it made the whole driver side bank of cylinders misfire and I couldn't drive the car at all until I got a new alternator. Now my current alternator is giving me BOTH camshaft position sensor codes and my throttle response is jerky/hesitant at times. Ugh... good alternators are so expensive. You have to be careful what you buy because if you get a rebuilt alternator, it may CHARGE your system, but can still have a bad diode and will still throw your electronics off.
It kinda feels like a miss...


Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 10:43 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
This morning I noticed my fresh air tube was very loose around throttle body, tightened it up and came to work, no codes ! Yea !
BUT, I still feel a a studder at red lights, any ideas ?
I don't know how the fresh air tube came loose, it something I guess I'll have to watch.....
Thanks guys (and girls)!!!!!

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 07:59 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Well, it threw the 340 code again, guess I'll get a cheap camshaft position sensor, see if it work, and if it does, buy 2 from Ford.
I'm lucky, I have a friend that works at a Ford dealer, I get stuff for $5.00 over cost......

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 01:11 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Put on the new Alternator, so far no codes. I really hope this does the trick, thanks to everyone that pitched in their thoughts.....


Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 07:13 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Now what the F !
I have an off idle stutter, I put in some Tecron, injector cleaner, it seems to have helped some, but I still feel it, any idea s ?!!!
😭😞😠

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 01:20 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
angrymike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastlake
Region: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by angrymike1 View Post
Now what the F !
I have an off idle stutter, I put in some Tecron, injector cleaner, it seems to have helped some, but I still feel it, any idea s ?!!!
😭😞😠

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Well well, plt the new plugs in, HTO, s, runs like a champ !
Thanks guys....

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
angrymike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throwing a lean code Vinnie02 1996-2004 Mustang GT 18 06-24-2015 11:01 AM
2002 mustang gt help throwing a code !!! smsstang 1996-2004 Mustang GT 21 02-10-2015 02:53 PM
My mustang is throwing a code wtffff dozer 13 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 6 07-04-2014 01:42 PM
Need Help: Car throwing EEC-IV Code 224 PureVenom General Mustang Discussion 3 01-04-2009 06:27 PM
Throwing fuel on the immigration fire... Seph The Bar 29 05-02-2006 04:59 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



12:03 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.