1969 Coupe Restoration - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-17-2007, 08:35 PM   #1

Region: Pennsylvania
1969 Coupe Restoration

Hello all,

I am new to everything mustang. Long story short... I purchased a 1969 Coupe Project Car a few years ago with the intentions to restore it. It turns out that it needed a lot more work (and the money to fund that work).

This brings us to the present. I decided that now that I'm 20 with a decent job bringing in some money, that now is the perfect time to begin planning for this project. I am not too familiar with any kind of restoration, but I have plenty of time to read.... and read some more.

One of the first things I did when I purchased the car was having a mechanic take a look underneath the car to determine what needed to be done. Apparently, both floor pans need to be replaced and there are a few holes in the frame. The estimate I was given was around $3000 for him to repair it.

Here I am going through forum post after forum post trying to decide if this is a job I can accomplish (having never welded before in my life).

I figure that I can either mess it up, and learn a lot from it. Or I may actually do it right and gain some experience. I have lots of time for this.

Basically my question to you mustang guru's is whether or not this is a reasonable idea. Also, is the cost of "doing it yourself" in this instance beneficial... or do I run the risk of paying a lot more than 3000 dollars trying to fix a mistake. I only mention the body work because I figured that this was a good place to start, as you'll see in the pics... this is going to be a looong project.

Attached are a few pics of my dream car

FluffyWuffums is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-26-2007, 08:51 PM   #2

Region: Nevada
Re: 1969 Coupe Restoration