Brake lights - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-15-2012, 07:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Brake lights

I'm restoring my mustang and the tail lights won't go out? Does anyone have a idea why? There the only lights that are plugged in on the car and the ignition is off

---------- Post added at 12:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:02 AM ----------

And it's only in when I plug my steering column
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:57 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
mike Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 75
Must be a bare wire shorting somewhere. Explain about plugging the steering column.

---------- Post added at 03:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:56 AM ----------

Brake lights or tail lights? Brake light switch is on the steering column.
mike Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
Commercial Member
Regular
 
matcox83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Shelby Twp
Region: Michigan
Posts: 509
I'll look at my wiring diagram tonight but I think the brake light circuits go thru the turn signal switch. That explains it only happening when column is plugged in. B+ is coming from the switch but has to go thru turn switch to reach a ground. The brake switch is not the problem it only supplies power. You are likely getting an unwanted ground, probably from the turn switch or the wiring in the column.
matcox83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2012, 01:32 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
I looked at the wiring on the steering column and didnt see any bare wires
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
Commercial Member
Regular
 
matcox83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Shelby Twp
Region: Michigan
Posts: 509
Do they come on if the brake switch is disconnected and the column is connected? Do you have a 2 wire connector at the column? I am not sure how similar it is to '66. Do you have a wiring diagram and can you use a multi Meyer? If you have the diagram trace the circuit from the switch through the column. I think the most likely culprit is the turn switch but don't spend your money until you check it.

---------- Post added at 09:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 PM ----------

Multi meter not Meyer, that's a hot dog!
matcox83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 02:56 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Brake switch?

---------- Post added at 07:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 AM ----------

I have a after market brake set up I'm using a adjustable proportioning valve from wilwood but it's not hooked up either tho well on of the wires is not attached. But the lights went out but still draining my battery

---------- Post added at 07:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:55 AM ----------

And the lights only turn on when the column is plugged in
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 07:03 AM   #7
Registered Member
Commercial Member
Regular
 
matcox83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Shelby Twp
Region: Michigan
Posts: 509
Yep, I understand. The brake light circuit goes thru the turn signal switch so the blinkers can override the brake lights and blink with the brake lights on. I assume you are saying your pro portioning valve has a brake light switch built in? Not familiar with that. Have seen switches in the master cylinder. Did you try disconnecting the brake switch on the pedal with the column connected? You did not say if you have a wiring diagram and a multimeter. You will only be guessing without them
matcox83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 07:08 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
I have both not really sure how to use the muti meter
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:56 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.