Why wont the carburetor on my mustang kick down? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-24-2009, 01:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Why wont the carburetor on my mustang kick down?

im new to working on cars so i have very little idea how to fix this... i have a 1965 mustang with the 289 and a four barrell holley on it.
the car was sitting for a long time so me and my dad have cleaned out all the fuel lines, replaced the fuel tank, and got some new fluids running through her.
we started her up and the engine turned over just fine and was running strong...the only problem is that she runs too strong and wont come back down.
if i stand next to the carbuerator and work the throttle by hand, its fine, but the arm doesnt seem to come back far enough to do it automatically.

im wondering if its just a simple spring problem (though the springs on there feel tight to me) or if its something with the carbuerators vacuum lines or what...

like i said im new to the game and my dad is stumped... please help me out...i wanna hit the road!!! haha
banjamino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2009, 02:28 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

A Mustang that year has throttle linkage, not a cable. Make sure it , along with the carburetor is clean and operates freely. I suggest getting a manual for the car so you can do all the "little jobs" it will require.
hristun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 03:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

it could be vac. related, also check your automatic choke and see if the linkage is free moving and the high speed idle is not hung up.
duran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2009, 04:03 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular