64, Mustang Fuel / Carb Problem? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-11-2010, 07:45 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

64, Mustang Fuel / Carb Problem?

I have a 1964 , Mustang with a 260 V8, with a 2100, 2 barrel carb. Just ran into an issue where the carb does not seem to be getting fuel. I have checked and the fuel pump is working. I took the fuel line off the carb and it has pleanty of gas pumping, it just is not entering the carb. What is the cause of this and what is the fix?

The carb was completely rebuilt about 2 years ago.

I am not a mechanic; I am a parts changer and weekend warrior when it comes to working on cars.

Any detailed help would be much appreciated.
dubv12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2010, 08:42 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Bartz is right, your needle valve is stuck. It's happened to me more than once with rubber tipped needles. I've replaced them with metal tipped needles or, in the case of my SU's, Groose valves using balls instead of needles.

You need to pop the top off. No problems there, just unscrew the top screws and the lid will come right off. You can replace it easily without affecting your carb adjustments. Check that your float works and the needle valve moves freely.
adir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

The needle is stuck in the seat. The needle is operated by the float. Remove the top of the carb, and replace the needle and seat. Also make sure the feed is clear between the seat and the supply line. Either a very small wire or air pressure for this.
hamdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2010, 09:32 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular