Carb issue - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-17-2013, 08:50 PM   #36
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Yeah basically i have a different carb but i have one where the fuel line goes into the fuel pump and the one going unto the carb and no problem! Thats what were are here for
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 09:05 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisb.young66 View Post
Yeah basically i have a different carb but i have one where the fuel line goes into the fuel pump and the one going unto the carb and no problem! Thats what were are here for
Alright, I'll pop in two filters to be safe thanks. I'll post another update tomorrow after I take out the tank and clean it up, take out all the crap that was in there
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:30 PM   #38
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Awesome. I do like the clear. Not sure of its effectiveness but you can at least see the fuel going in. It does help to know if junk is goin through your fuel system.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 09:37 PM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
Awesome. I do like the clear. Not sure of its effectiveness but you can at least see the fuel going in. It does help to know if junk is goin through your fuel system.
I'll ask at autozone tomorrow, if its open. And I'll let you know. I would also like to see what's going to my engine. It would also help to know when you need to replace it
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:55 PM   #40
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
I agree. Sounds like you know where you are goin now. I'm no ace mechanic but have some experience. If there is anything else just holler. I'd say that new filter u put in is ready to be replaced if it had that crud passed through it.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:25 AM   #41
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
There is also a filter cover over the sending unit which may have deteriorated. If blowing out the lines doesn't work pull the sender. I just replacing the tank on my sons 67 and it had all kinds if black crap in it. It's easy to get out.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:11 AM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
I agree. Sounds like you know where you are goin now. I'm no ace mechanic but have some experience. If there is anything else just holler. I'd say that new filter u put in is ready to be replaced if it had that crud passed through it.
Thanks, I'll be sure to ask. This is the oldest car I've had and by far the simplest to work on

---------- Post added at 02:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:09 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggiesrok View Post
There is also a filter cover over the sending unit which may have deteriorated. If blowing out the lines doesn't work pull the sender. I just replacing the tank on my sons 67 and it had all kinds if black crap in it. It's easy to get out.
Yeah I took a look at the sending unit, it was a little old, but fuel still passed through. The hose was a little worn out though so I replaced that. I too a look at some senders and they were about 150 a pop. I think changing that out that will be my second to last resort. Lol last being the carburetor, but I'm sure it works just fine
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:32 AM   #43
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post

Thanks, I'll be sure to ask. This is the oldest car I've had and by far the simplest to work on

---------- Post added at 02:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:09 AM ----------



Yeah I took a look at the sending unit, it was a little old, but fuel still passed through. The hose was a little worn out though so I replaced that. I too a look at some senders and they were about 150 a pop. I think changing that out that will be my second to last resort. Lol last being the carburetor, but I'm sure it works just fine
I just ordered a new tank and install kit for $160. It came with the 16 gal. tank, sending unit, small fuel hose and large hose connecting the tank to the filler tube.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:54 AM   #44
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
I might have been mistaken with the fuel pump I need for my s-10 and it is $84 for just the unit. Might as well get the whole tank. Is it possible to mount the bigger 22 gallon tanks from the '68s?

---------- Post added at 10:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

Where'd you buy the tank? That's a damn good deal
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:57 AM   #45
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post
I might have been mistaken with the fuel pump I need for my s-10 and it is $84 for just the unit. Might as well get the whole tank. Is it possible to mount the bigger 22 gallon tanks from the '68s?

---------- Post added at 10:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

Where'd you buy the tank? That's a damn good deal
John's Mustang - John's Mustang

I had to pay sales tax, you may not have to depending on where you are. The only extra that I needed was the two small fuel line hose clamps. It even came with the bolts to insall. They sell the tanks for $99 and the full kit for about $160.

I'm not sure about the 22 gallon tank. It's probably just taller and won't be flat in the trunk, which may not be a big deal. As long as it doesn't interfere with the spare tire anchor bracket.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:54 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Wow, I checked the site out and it's a pretty good price. I mean at autozone the sending unit alone is $84. But I think I'll clean out my gas tank fits and see if the sending unit is working. But thanks for the site. I've only used CJ pony parts.
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 02:01 PM   #47
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post
Wow, I checked the site out and it's a pretty good price. I mean at autozone the sending unit alone is $84. But I think I'll clean out my gas tank fits and see if the sending unit is working. But thanks for the site. I've only used CJ pony parts.
I also use Texas Mustang Parts   //   Waco, Texas Dallas Mustang Parts & Accessories Superstore - 1.800.Mustang and Virginia Classic Mustang - Mustang Parts Some places have parts that others don't.

Have you blown out the gas line from the tank to the pump?
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:38 PM   #48
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
You can try npd iv seen the 22 gal thanks for ours cars somewhere i hust cant remember now
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:25 PM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that all 64-69's tanks for each other I think.

Wow. I took out my tank and took out the gas I there. I underestimated the amount of gas in there, turns out I had about 3 gallons of it. First 2 gallons the gas was yellow with a bit of debris in it. Once I got to the very bottom I started seeing all this crud in there and I took out the tank to get the rest of it out and that crap was sickkkk. I'm pretty sure there's something rattling in my tank
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1277850171.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	552.1 KB
ID:	91693   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3681195597.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	347.6 KB
ID:	91694  

sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:24 PM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
So the further in going into this issue, the higher the price tag goes up lol. I think I'm going to replace the whole fuel tank. I took out the tank, drained it, took out the sending unit and that thing was rusted. Somehow moisture got into the tank. I took a look inside and there's dirt stains all over the inside I guess $160 for a new tank and sending unit isn't bad. I blew air through the fuel line after the sending unit and on the other side the fuel came out greenish and with a rock haha so now I gotta wait for a new tank to try it out. I also need a new battery and I got that clear filter I was talking about I'm going to mount it before the fuel pump
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3186436243.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	406.4 KB
ID:	91732   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4003667440.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	410.8 KB
ID:	91733  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2559344638.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	425.3 KB
ID:	91734   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2409944140.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	366.5 KB
ID:	91735  

sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:32 PM   #51
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
That tends to happen with cars yeah itll only be 20 $ to fix it next thing you know is youre spending 500$
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:43 PM   #52
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Your making progress the sending unit is missing the whole filter screen.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:51 PM   #53
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Yeah, I thought I was gonna spend max $40 lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggiesrok View Post
Your making progress the sending unit is missing the whole filter screen.
I think that's what's rattling in my tank then. The tank is absolutely filthy. Do you guys recommend cleaning it an putting a new sending unit in it, or getting the whole new tank with the sending unit
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:18 PM   #54
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Found a tank and sending unit for sale on CJ pony parts. $145 regular price an it's on sale for $114. I might get it.
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:41 PM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Hmm thats a though one i didnt replace my tank or the sending unit and my tank was pretty dirty i just put it back in and i dont have a problem with it
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:46 PM   #56
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisb.young66 View Post
Hmm thats a though one i didnt replace my tank or the sending unit and my tank was pretty dirty i just put it back in and i dont have a problem with it
I'm definitely going to replace my sending unit. But was your tank dirty on the inside as well? I'm thinking of reusing and saving me some cash but I don't know if it will affect the car later on
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:01 PM   #57
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
My tank was pretty dirty but i think as long as there isnt a big chunks or holes itll be fine. How much is a sending unit?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:07 PM   #58
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
How did you clean yours out? All I see is grime and varnish inside, not too bad and it does have some sort of leak though, cant I just get that welded or something? Wont washing it also bring rust issues in the future?

the units are about 25 35 dollars at CJ's not too bad.
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:32 PM   #59
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
That tank doesn't seem to be in too bad a shape. As long as there are no holes in it, you can use it. Just clean it out good. Glad to see everybody helpin u out man. I love this forum for this very reason. You can get a tank sealant but honestly, if u clean it out the best you can it should be fine. If once you get it clean, take a flash light and look down in it. See what's there if there is no rot, you are in great shape.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:37 PM   #60
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Love the clear filter. Lol. If install that puppy up close to the carb so you can see what is goin through and see if you are gettin gas.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:01 PM   #61
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
If you can spring the $$ for a new tank, it's done and no future worries. It's a helluva of a difference when see a brand new one.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:41 PM   #62
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
+1 if you can get a new tank get one itll save you some head aches down the road
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:14 PM   #63
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
I'm gonna ask my pops for a loan for a new tank then lol. Yeah I'm popping the new filter in before the carb and have another normal one before the fuel pump as someone suggested. This forum is awesome. You get new knowledge and leave your knowledge. I love it I guess I'm just going to replace the tank. So far I replaced all the hoses, got 2 new filters, rebuilt the carb, blew air through the lines and got whatever was stuck in there out. So now I will have a new fuel tank, sending unit, hoses, filters, and rebuilt carb. If it still doesn't go it will have to be the fuel pump. Talk about my $40 repair lol
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:29 PM   #64
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Ha i know i never thought id would have spent as much as me and my parents have spent on my restoration
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:31 PM   #65
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Lol. Well, after all that, u will be gettin gas. If it dnt run, it won't be because gas ain't flowin.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:54 PM   #66
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
I'm 99.9% sure the car was not getting gas. My mechanic took a look at it and told me it wasn't getting gas as well. So it better be the gas, if not I'm gonna flip out haha
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:01 PM   #67
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Lol. It will be. Have you checked to see if its gettin fire already? Now is a good time to do that as well.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:03 PM   #68
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
Lol. It will be. Have you checked to see if its gettin fire already? Now is a good time to do that as well.
How do I check that? Let me just say this
-no gas tank
-no battery
Lol
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:06 PM   #69
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Lol! Put the battery back in! It'll crank and u can check. Be one less thing to worry about later.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:10 PM   #70
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
I'm pretty sure it will, but I'll check anyways. Reason I took the battery out is cause it's bad. I've been taking the battery out of my other stang whenever I was working on my 66 lol it's a pain in the butt to switch out batteries. I might pick one up on Saturday if I don't have any bills I forgot to pay haha
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:15 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.