Update on my '78 Mustang II - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-01-2013, 02:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Utah
Send a message via Yahoo to renouji Send a message via Skype™ to renouji
Update on my '78 Mustang II

I got her licensed vintage on August 28th. Replaced some fuses and fixed a broken wire going to my brake light switch fixing my brake lights and my dash not lighting up (that one was the fuses) Drove her around for about 30 miles realizing my tach had stopped working and my speedometer is not only jumping around sporadically but when its not doing that its as much as 10 mph below my actual speed. Found the oil leak I was told about, turns out it was the right hand valve cover seal ... the idiot had used silicon to keep the gasket in! Now I am no mechanic by any means and even I know that is bad. Removed the valve cover and scrapped off all the silicon from the cover and header and replaced it.

On Thursday on my way to work, a 6 mile drive I lost power in the engine about 2 miles from my work while driving up a hill, got to the top and the power loss was still there and pulled over, checked the engine and realized I had no fuel running and oil all over my engine and underneath my hood again on the right side, after pushing the car onto my father-in-laws trailer we stopped at O'Reilly's and picked up a fuel pump and oil pressure sending unit for the light and brought it home and replaced the valve cover seal again.