5.0 in a classic? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-12-2013, 12:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
5.0 in a classic?

Im talking a new 5.0 has anyone here done it? Im really thinking about it. Im planing on putting a v8 in it so mine as well go all out. Im not going to do this tomorrow i need to time to save but i want a plan. So I'm looking for advice or comments. Will a new 5.0 fit in a stock engine bay for a 68? I know ill need a lot of stuff to do this and don't anyone say trade your car in.
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2013, 01:00 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
irishn8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Washington
Posts: 721
I believe american muscle did it.
irishn8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:01 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
im sure it would..i've seen a new 5.0 in a fox and that engine bay is way smaller
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2013, 01:02 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
irishn8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Washington
Posts: 721
http://www.americanmuscle.com/coyote-engine-swap.html

irishn8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:44 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
I was actually looking at am for the harness i was thinking about getting a motor from a wrecked mustang
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:51 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisb.young66 View Post
Im talking a new 5.0 has anyone here done it? Im really thinking about it. Im planing on putting a v8 in it so mine as well go all out. Im not going to do this tomorrow i need to time to save but i want a plan. So I'm looking for advice or comments. Will a new 5.0 fit in a stock engine bay for a 68? I know ill need a lot of stuff to do this and don't anyone say trade your car in.
I think the shock towers would be the biggest potential problem. I've thought about finding a 67 shell and stripping my 07 and putting it all in the 67. Have you seen the 550 (I think) on "Gearz" that they put on a 67 Cougar. They had to cut out the shock towers and modify the structure. The 5.0 would be badass for your 68. Painless probably has a harness for it that would a little more generic and not model specific.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:54 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Hmmm i guess i need some one to measure the width of a new 5.0
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:43 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
irishn8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Washington
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggiesrok View Post

I think the shock towers would be the biggest potential problem. I've thought about finding a 67 shell and stripping my 07 and putting it all in the 67. Have you seen the 550 (I think) on "Gearz" that they put on a 67 Cougar. They had to cut out the shock towers and modify the structure. The 5.0 would be badass for your 68. Painless probably has a harness for it that would a little more generic and not model specific.
U might think about just swapping the body, might be easier that way.
irishn8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:59 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
alrefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,713
Just buy a TCI front suspension kit

It replaces your strut towers with a steel bar, or something like that. Giving you alot more room.
It also allows you to use motor mounts for pretty much any modular or old-school motor
alrefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:00 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Iv put to much in my suspension already just to cut it out
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 09:11 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
alrefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisb.young66 View Post
Iv put to much in my suspension already just to cut it out
:/
Well you need to do something about those strut towers
alrefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:18 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
ER12883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Colorado
Region: Colorado
Posts: 679
There was an article I read a while back about doing this, I will try to dig it up. I THINK they at least had to notch the shock towers. It wasn't just physical clearance, but also having room to change plugs that was an issue.
ER12883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:28 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
ER12883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Colorado
Region: Colorado
Posts: 679
Not the article I was thinking of, but some good info in here:

http://www.hotrod.com/techarticles/1...p/viewall.html

http://www.themustangshop.com/modswap.cfm
ER12883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:26 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Hmmm those article were interesting
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:46 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.