Temperature Gauge Not working in 67` project ( Need Help Wit Wiring It) - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-16-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Temperature Gauge Not working in 67` project ( Need Help Wit Wiring It)

I have a 1967 Mustang with a 289 and I have the gauge for the water temp and the sensor is there behind the distributor. So, I am just wondering what color the wire is that is supposed to go to the water temp gauge and where it is supposed to be assuming it is there. Any pictures or diagrams would help too. My internet search hasnt helped me much unfortunately. Thanks in advance.
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2013, 10:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
samuelsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gulfport
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 1,234
__________________

new engine,1.7 rocker arms,Pipes exhaust, shorty cats , shorty headers,under drive and overdrive pulleys,4.2 upper plenum, throttle body spacer, cold air intake, stage one clutch, shorty shifter, and tune. 8.8 in storage
samuelsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 11:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuelsmith
Thank you very much. I appreciate it.
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2013, 09:41 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
ER12883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Colorado
Region: Colorado
Posts: 679
Man, I miss his web show.
ER12883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 02:31 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
So, if nothing happens when the wire is grounded that means the gauge is bad? Also, the ignition will turn the car off but will not start the car. What does that mean?
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 03:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
samuelsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gulfport
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshy View Post
Thank you very much. I appreciate it.
Your welcome, glad I could assist. His show is informative, sorry I did not learn any more.
__________________

new engine,1.7 rocker arms,Pipes exhaust, shorty cats , shorty headers,under drive and overdrive pulleys,4.2 upper plenum, throttle body spacer, cold air intake, stage one clutch, shorty shifter, and tune. 8.8 in storage
samuelsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 11:01 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshy View Post
So, if nothing happens when the wire is grounded that means the gauge is bad? Also, the ignition will turn the car off but will not start the car. What does that mean?


Assuming the wire is not broken, it usually means the gauge is bad. Those old wires get brittle and break easily.

Ignition could be several things. First would be check the ignition relay on the firewall by the battery, it's fairly cheap and does go bad. Could be the wire from ignition switch to the relay or the ignition switch itself. Voltmeter will be your friend for this one.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 12:13 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggiesrok

Assuming the wire is not broken, it usually means the gauge is bad. Those old wires get brittle and break easily.

Ignition could be several things. First would be check the ignition relay on the firewall by the battery, it's fairly cheap and does go bad. Could be the wire from ignition switch to the relay or the ignition switch itself. Voltmeter will be your friend for this one.
Okay, well ill look it over really good tomorrow. My voltmeter is crappy. Haha. I appreciate it. I will report back with my findings.

Oh, also I was kind of curious what fuses should I use. The ones that the fuse box calls for seem to be difficult to find.
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 01:37 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aggiesrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshy View Post
Okay, well ill look it over really good tomorrow. My voltmeter is crappy. Haha. I appreciate it. I will report back with my findings.

Oh, also I was kind of curious what fuses should I use. The ones that the fuse box calls for seem to be difficult to find.


Some of the fuses are hard to find in the size required. I used some that were close in amp when needed.
You really just need voltage on your meter. Check for 12v on the starter cable side if the relay when turning the ignition switch (you'll need a buddy).
If you get 12v and it doesn't turn over, then it's your starter or starter cable. If no bolts then you have bad relay or wire or key switch. Just keep ruling stuff out.
__________________
chevy runs deep, Don't step in chevy!

289 - Holley 4150 570cfm; Performer intake; mild cam; MSD HEI; 302 heads; Roller Tips; Hedman Tri-Y headers; H-pipe w/Flowmaster 40's; 9 in posi 3.50; 205/50-17F; 225/50-17R.
Aggiesrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:13 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggiesrok

Some of the fuses are hard to find in the size required. I used some that were close in amp when needed.
You really just need voltage on your meter. Check for 12v on the starter cable side if the relay when turning the ignition switch (you'll need a buddy).
If you get 12v and it doesn't turn over, then it's your starter or starter cable. If no bolts then you have bad relay or wire or key switch. Just keep ruling stuff out.
Cool. I will keep that in mind while I'm looking it over. Thanks again!
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:20 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.