Master cylinder bore size? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-26-2013, 05:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Master cylinder bore size?

Im having problems with my brakes and my master cylinder. I have wilwood disk brakes on the front already and was looking at wilwood master cylinders and the have different bore size. I watched the video from summit racing about the different sizes and what they mean I just don't know which one i need. So my set up is power brakes wilwood 4 piston disk with a 8in out of a 67 with a I6 so my options are 7/8" 1" and 1.12" so which one be the best for my set up and why?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2013, 10:14 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Anyone?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 12:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Well for anyone that needs the info heres what i found. If you have a"hard" pedal but soft brakes you have the wrong master cylinder bore size. I called wilwood and they said for my set up (67 8in rear end and wilwood 4piston big disk brakes power brakes ) depending on how much vacuum my brakes use i either need a 1" bore if my brakes use 20-24 lbs of vacuum and if the use more then i need the 1 1/8 " bore master cylinder



So now my question is how do i measure how much vacuum my booster uses?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2013, 05:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
BA68 mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 331
Plug in a vacuum gauge into the vacuum line that goes to your booster. I think you can rent one from autozone or advanced auto
BA68 mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Well i work at autozone and we didnt have a vacuum gauge so ill order it online i guess
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Classic Mustangs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:46 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.