HID questions - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > General Car Discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-06-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
NightMare5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 31
HID questions

Okay so I got a set of HID for my 2009 ford focus size h13 came with a relay harness, 2 ballast, and 2 6000k bulbs. Today I went a tested every thing to make sure it worked before install.... "Check everything looks good and is working"........ Now time for install, in this process the only thing I changed was the length of the ground wires by maybe 4inches or so. Went and plugged the battery back in and the lights turned on right away...... ???? That's odd as I reach to my back pocket... Yep there in there. The key that's is, but why are the lights on went and checked the switch inside the car and it is in the off position. Now that I am extremely puzzled can someone give me some insight on what the heck is going on? When plugged into the OEM harness the hid stay on no matter what position the switch is in.
NightMare5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2012, 06:55 PM   #2
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Did you have to connect a wire to the battery? If so maybe that is the wrong wire? Can you post up a pic of the wiring diagram?
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
NightMare5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 31
Yep here ya go. Also it is a bi-Xenon..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3199892449.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	75039  
NightMare5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2012, 07:10 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
lBRAlD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 280
If you have everything wired as shows should be good... The relay could be bad and if fused together would cause lights to stay on. I am assuming it came with the fuse for battery connection, correct?
lBRAlD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:15 PM   #5
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by lBRAlD
If you have everything wired as shows should be good... The relay could be bad and if fused together would cause lights to stay on. I am assuming it came with the fuse for battery connection, correct?
+1
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:18 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
NightMare5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 31
Yep It did come with a fuse
NightMare5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
lBRAlD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 280
It would almost certainly have to be the relay. You could unplug the headlight plug to the relay and if the lights still come on you will know the relay is closed. It should be open until it gets remote power from head light plug.
lBRAlD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:16 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
NightMare5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 31
I was afraid of that is there any way to fix this ?
NightMare5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:40 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
lBRAlD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 280
Do you know the voltage coming off head light connection? You should be able to cut that relay out and put an ice cube relay in its place. Look and see if you can find out the amps your ballast draws, if it was low enough you could do away with relay altogether or you would have to run a toggle switch.
lBRAlD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
NightMare5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 31
Not sure but the company is sending me a new harness 👍
NightMare5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:03 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
lBRAlD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 280
Cool
lBRAlD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:00 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
NightMare5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 31
Yep thanks for the help IBRAID
NightMare5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:35 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
lBRAlD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 280
No problem
lBRAlD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > General Car Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:25 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.