First Car for a 17 year old girl? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > General Car Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-22-2009, 03:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

First Car for a 17 year old girl?

I am sixteen years old, but I am turning seventeen in April. I don&#039;t have my license yet, but I am planning on getting it at the beginning of this summer. I know this is a kind of stupid thing to look for in a car, but I really really want a yellow one >_< haha.

There is a yellow ford mustang for sale in my neighbor hood, used. It is 2003, 4.6L and V8. I don&#039;t really know what that all means, but maybe someone could tell me? I&#039;ve read that a lot of people don&#039;t recommend eight cylinder for beginning drivers. I don&#039;t really understand the whole danger of having a lot of power in a car, unless you are planning to go fast? I am a really cautious driver, and generally like to go like ten below the speed limit >_<. The car also has about 68,000 (or maybe it was 6800 I don&#039;t remember) miles on it. It was also pretty cheap.

Is this an okay car for me?
gillecriosd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-22-2009, 04:14 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

4.6L refers to the displacement of the motor. it refers to the size in liters of the engine, and V8 means that the engine has eight compression cylinders arranged in a "V" pattern with 4 cylinders on each top of the "V". the more cylinders a car has the smoother it will run generally and the engine wont have to work as hard to achieve power. having a lot of power in a car means that is easy to accelerate too quickly or drive too quickly and is why most people do not recommend them for beginning drivers. and i would have to agree. for your first car get an old v6 powered car or a newer 4 cylinder car.