Z71 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > General Car Discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-07-2013, 01:35 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Z71

So, do I need a flush?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4170626766.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	549.3 KB
ID:	101146   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1222486659.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	526.6 KB
ID:	101147  

XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
nhcowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSlashDashX View Post
So, do I need a flush?
NOT A URINAL DUDE! Lol.
__________________

2011 Black Mustang GT Premium
Corsa XO & Sport AB/Airaid/Bama 93R
Best 1/4 mile to date 60' 2.009
12.538 ET @112.33
100+ Deg 85 Hum RPR 3PM 1/2 tank street tires
nhcowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ghostedmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntsville
Region: Alabama
Posts: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to Ghostedmind
Jeeze, luckily mine doesn't look that bad, but I'd say probably so.... are you running on the hot side of the gauge?
__________________
Redfire '04 V6 - K&N CAI, Divorced duals, Bama Tune, EGR Delete, Gauge cluster LED overhaul.

LCMC Member
Ghostedmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2013, 02:06 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Sadly gauge doesn't work. And I've only had this truck for a little while.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:37 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ghostedmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntsville
Region: Alabama
Posts: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to Ghostedmind
Ah, in that case its better safe than sorry lol

---------- Post added at 02:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:36 PM ----------

and, it may just be me, or the picture, but it looks like the deposits in the coolant system have picked up a bit of rust somewhere....
__________________
Redfire '04 V6 - K&N CAI, Divorced duals, Bama Tune, EGR Delete, Gauge cluster LED overhaul.

LCMC Member
Ghostedmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:13 PM   #6
Loc: Austin,TX
Regular
Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,980
I'd get a replacement radiator.
DDTCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
How much for a new one?

---------- Post added at 02:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:48 PM ----------

One more thing. I'll wipe down the cap and retake photos.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:50 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ghostedmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntsville
Region: Alabama
Posts: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to Ghostedmind
go to Autozone.com, Autopartswarehouse.com, advance auto etc you can get a pretty good idea there, and there are other places you can find them cheaper
__________________
Redfire '04 V6 - K&N CAI, Divorced duals, Bama Tune, EGR Delete, Gauge cluster LED overhaul.

LCMC Member
Ghostedmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:03 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Termi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 109
Replacement radiator is what id do too, cuz that looks pretty bad
Termi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:43 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Is it a lot of work? Would I need a shop to do it?
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:59 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ghostedmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntsville
Region: Alabama
Posts: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to Ghostedmind
definately not, most radiators are really easy to change, the one on my '96 altima was 2 bolts and 4 hoses (top water hose, bottom water hose and 2 trans/oil hoses which ever it was) or something like that

---------- Post added at 04:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:58 PM ----------

what year Z71 is it?
__________________
Redfire '04 V6 - K&N CAI, Divorced duals, Bama Tune, EGR Delete, Gauge cluster LED overhaul.

LCMC Member
Ghostedmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 05:09 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whtghost1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bakersfield
Region: California
Posts: 68
Why your at it pull the thermostat completely out ad reinstall the housing without it run a water hose though the top hose and let the bottom drain out to back flush the block out till you get most of the trash out. Before putting a new radiator on it
Whtghost1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 05:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ghostedmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntsville
Region: Alabama
Posts: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to Ghostedmind
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whtghost1979 View Post
Why your at it pull the thermostat completely out ad reinstall the housing without it run a water hose though the top hose and let the bottom drain out to back flush the block out till you get most of the trash out. Before putting a new radiator on it
+1
__________________
Redfire '04 V6 - K&N CAI, Divorced duals, Bama Tune, EGR Delete, Gauge cluster LED overhaul.

LCMC Member
Ghostedmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:21 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
It's 1998 K1500 with the z71 package. 5.7L Vortec.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:48 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
Nah it's all good, put that cap back on.
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:54 PM   #16
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compstall View Post
Nah it's all good, put that cap back on.
Lol!

OP,
Somebody has been running strait water in that truck. I wouldn't swap that radiator just yet. Get yourself an autometer temperature gauge. Flush that **** out but I gotta warn ya. Once you disturb all that crud, your problems are just beginning.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 05:04 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

Lol!

OP,
Somebody has been running strait water in that truck. I wouldn't swap that radiator just yet. Get yourself an autometer temperature gauge. Flush that **** out but I gotta warn ya. Once you disturb all that crud, your problems are just beginning.
Yeah, radiator leak. Might as well get a new one?
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:12 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
I'd jack the radiator cap up and drive a Ford under it.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:53 AM   #19
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSlashDashX View Post

Yeah, radiator leak. Might as well get a new one?
Flush that engine out real good before you swap radiators. You don't want any crud that might be in the block to stop up a new radiator.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:54 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

Flush that engine out real good before you swap radiators. You don't want any crud that might be in the block to stop up a new radiator.
Are new Radiators pricey? Could I do it myself?
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:55 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSlashDashX

Are new Radiators pricey? Could I do it myself?
They are pricey new, easy swap tho. A radiator shop can dip it in an acid tank and make it look like new.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 01:38 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Anything else I might need to change out radiator? New hoses?
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 01:48 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSlashDashX
Anything else I might need to change out radiator? New hoses?
I'd spend the $100-$150 at the radiator shop. They can make the one you have good as new. From the looks of it, your whole system needs help, not just the radiator. I'd be willing to bet a new one starts at $300+, and you'll still have that stuff in your heater core & block.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 02:22 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post

I'd spend the $100-$150 at the radiator shop. They can make the one you have good as new. From the looks of it, your whole system needs help, not just the radiator. I'd be willing to bet a new one starts at $300+, and you'll still have that stuff in your heater core & block.
Alright. Thanks. I'll see what I can do. First I have to find a radiator shop.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:00 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
$177 at Autozone. Hoses and all, you can do it at home for under $250.
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:13 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
I've noticed after driving around and then park it, nothing but water comes out underneath for about a minute. Then it stops. Pretty much nothing left in the radiator except water and some radiator stop leak. >.>
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:23 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSlashDashX
I've noticed after driving around and then park it, nothing but water comes out underneath for about a minute. Then it stops. Pretty much nothing left in the radiator except water and some radiator stop leak. >.>
Keep it full or you will have big problems. Heads on chevys crack between the cylinders pretty easy when over heated.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:28 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compstall
$177 at Autozone. Hoses and all, you can do it at home for under $250.
If It's not done right the first time, he'll be asking how to change his motor. His problems go a lot deeper than the radiator.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:17 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Oh yeah, big problem. Would this cause the truck not to start? Takes me a few seconds to start the truck. Like it doesn't want to turn over and when it does, I have to give it some gas.

I'll let it idle for a couple minutes and when I give it gas, it seems like it is having a hard time. Could it be the Fuel Filter?
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:34 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
It more than likly needs a tune up and all new filters, judging from the previous owners care of the radiator. To check for a cracked head or blown head gasket, look for water in the oil (will be milky looking) or coming out the exaust.

---------- Post added at 09:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:32 AM ----------

Does the truck use water/antifreze.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:35 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post
It more than likly needs a tune up and all new filters, judging from the previous owners care of the radiator. To check for a cracked head or blown head gasket, look for water in the oil (will be milky looking) or coming out the exaust.
Hardly own the truck. Previous owner was a teenager. Any who, changed oil less than 1500 miles ago. No milky looking. And only thing comes out the exhaust is Water.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:44 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Is there antifreze in it now, or water?
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 10:16 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post
Is there antifreze in it now, or water?
Water, and stop leak. That's it.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 11:55 AM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSlashDashX

Water, and stop leak. That's it.
If It's using water, add antifreze the next time and see if the water coming out the exaust is green. If so, your have a blown head gasket or cracked head. Hopefully It's just condensation.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 12:35 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
XSlashDashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Silsbee
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post

If It's using water, add antifreze the next time and see if the water coming out the exaust is green. If so, your have a blown head gasket or cracked head. Hopefully It's just condensation.
Should be just condensation. I'll give it a go though. Also gonna stop by a radiator shop and get a quote.
XSlashDashX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > General Car Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:22 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.