1989 f150 help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > General Car Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-18-2013, 12:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Idaho
1989 f150 help

Got the truck a few years ago and it has developed a problem. Since I am not a mechanic I was wondering what its problem is. In the cooler weather like under 50 degrees the truck runs great. But when it is warmer it putters when going down the road. It starts fine and idles good. It just putters under light acceleration and staying at the speed limit. When I floor it, it goes fine. What could be wrong with it and is it an easy fix? Please help
Advertisement

Old 08-18-2013, 04:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
Fuel filter? Plugs? If I had an 89 that would of been the first things I'd of changed to make sure it ran fine... That and air filter...now if you did that already then it might take a little more
gqsmash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by superboondee View Post
Got the truck a few years ago and it has developed a problem. Since I am not a mechanic I was wondering what its problem is. In the cooler weather like under 50 degrees the truck runs great. But when it is warmer it putters when going down the road. It starts fine and idles good. It just putters under light acceleration and staying at the speed limit. When I floor it, it goes fine. What could be wrong with it and is it an easy fix? Please help
If it is not the fuel filter or plugs then I would try Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans - Powered by vBulletin they are a great bunch of folks there that can help ya out. I would als check if the intake plemum is leaking by spreaying a little starter fluid around it to see if it idles better when warm.