Just bought a '98 Automatic Mustang GT... - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-28-2009, 11:34 AM   #1

Region: Wisconsin
Just bought a '98 Automatic Mustang GT...

Hi, this is my first time posting on this site. From older threads ive read, it seems that a lot of people ask the question about what performance parts to put into your car and what does/doesnt work. im sorry that my question is repetitive, but id rather get input from peolpe who know about the parts instead of me trying to do it myself. i just got this mustang and love it but was really hoping for a manual. But i have about 5.5-6k and am looking into changing my: exhaust, air intake, ride height (lower), underhood styling, body kits, and fuel injection. i realize that is a long list, but any input you can give is greatly appreciated!!

f.y.i. I do know greatly about sound systems, and installing them if anyone has questions.

-1998 Mustang GT Coupe
-Cold Air Intake
Della446 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-28-2009, 10:04 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Re: Just bought a '98 Automatic Mustang GT...

Well, nice to see a fellow wisconsinite on the forum. Not too many of us from the northwoods.

First I would stop and decide on where you want to go with the car. The 4.6L 2v is a great platform to mod, even the pre 99+ v8's. You could make a mildly modded daily driver or a heavily modded 1320 monster. A port swap like what modular2valve did will get you up to a 99+ GT's numbers.

If you're looking for serious performance, I would go straight for a power adder with your budget, i.e. supercharger, turbo, built engine, nitrous.
You can pick up a supercharger for 3500-5000. Then with the spare cash, buy some supporting mods for the supercharger.