Gauges Not Working?? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-29-2010, 06:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Gauges Not Working??

I took my gauge cluster out with intention of replacing the bulbs with blue LED's. I took the faceplate off of the cluster and scraped the green film off the back, which required removing the needles.

I read the write-up here on how to recalibrate the needles and did that:
http://newyorkmustangs.com/forums/ho...ges-t7574.html

Now the problem is that after reinstalling everything, the speedo, fuel, and temp gauge seems to be ****ed(not working).. However, the other three gauges(tach, voltage, oil) work fine. Anyone know what's up with that?

Or should I just go ahead and buy a new cluster. If that's the case, I'm going for the SIMCO Classic gauge cluster.

P.S. I feel stupid lol
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2010, 06:41 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Are you sure you didn't push the needles too far down when reinstalling? They can be pushed too far causing them to not be able to move. Check that and your connections...
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 06:46 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Checked all connections. The needles still jump to TDC when voltage is applied to the prongs from the 9-volt batteries. I'm thinking I may have pushed too hard when putting the needles back on
If worse comes to worst, I can use the digital read on the odometer as my speedo til the new cluster arrives
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2010, 08:22 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Gauges Not Working??

once you take the needles off you cant just stick them back on, thats not how it works sadly.

What you have to do is fill the car up 100% with gas, put the needle just a touch past Full (you know where it is when its full stick it there)

For speedo you can turn on the diagnostic thing on the dash (hold down the trip button before starting the car for X seconds it will fip the needles over and go into display mode then start the car. Press the trip button until speed is displayed. Drive the car and stick the needle on at the right mpg

Do the same for rpm

that should fix all of them. Then stick the clear cover back on and reinstall all the stuff, get a friend to go with you to ensure you dont hit another car lol, be careful of course. Test vs the digital readout at different rpm/mphs should be good.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 12:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

When I hold down the trip reset button and turn the car on, the speed and fuel gauge don't move at all. So I think it's something internal like the actuator motor is messed up
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 02:37 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

bump.

Any other ideas?
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:03 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Gauges Not Working??

if the needles are pushed down to hard or not hard enough they wont move, make sure they are up off the gauge face a little bit and still firm on the needle.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:45 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV View Post
if the needles are pushed down to hard or not hard enough they wont move, make sure they are up off the gauge face a little bit and still firm on the needle.
They are at the right distance from the face. Like I said, when I apply voltage all the needles jump to the middle, but when the cluster is in the car and I turn the key, the fuel and temp gauges jump up, but the speedo doesn't move at all. And when I "test" it from the trip button, those needles don't move at all.

Maybe I should just buy a new cluster?
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:14 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Fuses?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 08:31 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Gauges Not Working??

my needles stopped moving due to they were not on enough but that doesnt sound like your issue. Ive seen some get stuck on the gauge face make sure you can easily move it by hand. As said above check fuses
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:37 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Check Fuse 15 (10A) and Fuse 8 (10A). The speedo might not work because it's motion is based on the car's velocity and not just an "on/off" switch. In fact check ALL fuses.

Also make sure that the battery voltage is good. I actually thought that write up needed a higher voltage to work, but 9 volts look correct. Make sure you follow that tutorial exactly. Make sure all the pin leads are not bent, ruined or dirty as the contacts could be the problem.

If when you apply voltage, and the needle jumps, then the motors are fine and things are working properly for the cluster. No needle jump means no electricity which means it's an electrical problem.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:26 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

I'll have to check it tomorrow in the daylight. And I couldn't find any good fuse or wiring diagrams. it's the same for all 99-04 GT's right? And is there an easier way for you to give me a little more insight besides here? I just don't want to spam the forums with this.
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:38 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Gauges Not Working??

They should be the same for those years. This was straight from the Haynes manual so it may be slightly inaccurate.

This is probably currently the best medium for discussion for me. I wouldn't worry about spamming, that's what these boards are for and this is a legitimate topic so "spam" away.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:50 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Does this look right?


__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:03 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Looks close enough.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:36 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

If it helps at all I can snap a couple shots of MY fuse box and get a vid of what's going on with the cluster if it's still acting up after I check it tomorrow.
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:52 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Nate as long as all your fuses are working you should be good. Than check if your gauges are not sticking to it. Like you said they were moving.
tjzola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:54 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
02Nate281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Region: Alabama
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to 02Nate281 Send a message via MSN to 02Nate281 Send a message via Yahoo to 02Nate281 Send a message via Skype™ to 02Nate281
Re: Gauges Not Working??

Fuses are working fine.
And here's something new. The fuel and temp gauges jump to the middle when the key is turned but the speedometer still does nothing.
__________________
"There is no love without sacrifice"
02Nate281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello, this is actually working?? Rick0636 1996-2004 Mustang GT 19 04-22-2016 06:55 AM
Can you see it working? GhostStang 2005-2010 Mustang GT 13 07-13-2009 11:38 AM
Thanks Working Again Brent ME Site Help & Announcements 7 03-31-2009 09:45 AM
working out... Tbird232ci The Bar 18 02-10-2005 03:54 PM
Got it working! Ken The Bar 3 08-14-2004 10:09 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:22 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.