Head unit not working..... - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-21-2011, 08:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Head unit not working.....

I bought a new clarion head unit for my gt wired it up had it working then the front speakers stopped working took out the head unit and found that a wire had come loose from the amp turn on lead, I hook everything back up and nothing.... I called the clutch field help line and they told me blown fuse I have looked in the fuse box is fuse #25 but, it's not blown any suggestions???
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2011, 09:00 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
bradh2414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvicar04
I bought a new clarion head unit for my gt wired it up had it working then the front speakers stopped working took out the head unit and found that a wire had come loose from the amp turn on lead, I hook everything back up and nothing.... I called the clutch field help line and they told me blown fuse I have looked in the fuse box is fuse #25 but, it's not blown any suggestions???
Make sure it's grounded. I forgot that and nothing worked till we fixed it
bradh2414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jamesgt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,361
Did u check all ur fuses?
Jamesgt08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2011, 09:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jamesgt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,361
Yea definently have it grounded in the right place.
Jamesgt08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Yes I grounded it correctly and I checked every fuse... I am away visiting my friend now but when I get home I am goin to put the factory unit in to make sure it still works. I ran a voltage meter on all the wires and the accessory wire is getting power but not the consistent power. The consistent power is reading zero while the other is reading 12.3
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
bradh2414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvicar04
Yes I grounded it correctly and I checked every fuse... I am away visiting my friend now but when I get home I am goin to put the factory unit in to make sure it still works. I ran a voltage meter on all the wires and the accessory wire is getting power but not the consistent power. The consistent power is reading zero while the other is reading 12.3
Every fuse? Damn that musts taken a while. Did you check the wires from the car to make sure you didn't pull a different one out?
bradh2414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Yeah the adaptor kit that came with the head unit made everything really simple I am wondering if the adaptor went bad..
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
bradh2414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvicar04
Yeah the adaptor kit that came with the head unit made everything really simple I am wondering if the adaptor went bad..
What's the adaptor look like? Does it look like something that would break that easily?
bradh2414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Ehh it's a nice quality I guess but at this point I'm swinging in the dark I've tried everything
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:48 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
bradh2414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 727
You could bring it back and swap just to make sure it's not the radio
bradh2414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 10:00 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Yea I'll prob do that after messing around for hours checking the wiring lol
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 10:30 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
bradh2414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 727
Get it working?
bradh2414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 10:55 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Nah I am not home yet I redid the wiring again an it's perfect this time. And still nothing. I went to pep boys just to see If they had a different adaptor and of course they didn't have any. But I'll update you when I get home, thanks
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 01:21 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
So I put the factory unit back in and nothing still. All of the fuses are fine. I switched them all with new ones, does anyone known if there is an online fuse possibly in the wiring harness
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 01:33 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
bradh2414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvicar04
So I put the factory unit back in and nothing still. All of the fuses are fine. I switched them all with new ones, does anyone known if there is an online fuse possibly in the wiring harness
It's sounds like a wiring issue within the car itself not the radios
bradh2414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 01:42 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
Yea....
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 01:37 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
FIXED IT I went out and bought new fuses even though I check all of them, replaced them and It works
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 08:29 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
All finished and working properly
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-86593126.png
Views:	139
Size:	781.2 KB
ID:	29557  
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 08:41 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
KATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cutler Bay
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,593
Send a message via Yahoo to KATO
Re: Head unit not working.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvicar04 View Post
FIXED IT I went out and bought new fuses even though I check all of them, replaced them and It works
Soo, you really haven't found out exactly what it was or which it was that happened??
__________________
07 GT. SCT: CUSTOM TUNE by "MUSTANG SPECIALTIES". LMR: GEN2 2010 STYLE HEADLIGHTS, RAXIOM: 2010 SMOKED COYOTE TAIL LIGHTS, WHEELS: STAGGERED WHL 22X8.5F-22X10R.
KATO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 08:48 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
mcvicar04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 400
I did lol it was me being stupid, I had a blown fuse I put a new one in and it was fixed.
mcvicar04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 10:08 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
KATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cutler Bay
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,593
Send a message via Yahoo to KATO
Re: Head unit not working.....

Good, glad it was figured out, so next time you know what and where.
__________________
07 GT. SCT: CUSTOM TUNE by "MUSTANG SPECIALTIES". LMR: GEN2 2010 STYLE HEADLIGHTS, RAXIOM: 2010 SMOKED COYOTE TAIL LIGHTS, WHEELS: STAGGERED WHL 22X8.5F-22X10R.
KATO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A\C working then not working Bohogin Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 07-14-2011 02:44 PM
Spark plug blown out of head. 1bad2v 1996-2004 Mustang GT 17 07-03-2011 09:29 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:53 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.